How to Become an Optician in Florida (2026)
Florida employs about 5,080 opticians earning a median $58,850 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as an Optician here means completing an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Florida): $58,850/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Florida: 5,080 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.08x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 2.9% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Optician Schools in Florida
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Indian River State College | 68.6 | Contact school for pricing | $47,615 | 44% | Yes* | 80 mi |
| 2 | Miami Dade College | 62.2 | Contact school for pricing | $49,323 | 45% | Yes* | 167 mi |
| 3 | Southwestern Community College | 62.2 | Contact school for pricing | $45,381 | 53% | Yes* | 526 mi |
| 4 | Pensacola State College | 61.5 | Contact school for pricing | $45,937 | Not reported | Yes* | 385 mi |
| 5 | Hillsborough Community College | 61.2 | Contact school for pricing | $49,784 | 34% | Yes* | 54 mi |
| 6 | Daytona State College | 59.8 | Contact school for pricing | $49,001 | 42% | Yes* | 96 mi |
| 7 | East Mississippi Community College | 57.7 | Contact school for pricing | $42,022 | 44% | Yes* | 536 mi |
| 8 | Broward College | 53.1 | $2,830 - $21,947 | $49,843 | 38% | Yes* | 149 mi |
| 9 | Wiregrass Georgia Technical College | 50.7 | $3,480 - $11,034 | $40,586 | 47% | Yes* | 235 mi |
| 10 | Ogeechee Technical College | 50.1 | Contact school for pricing | $40,635 | Not reported | Yes* | 314 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Florida employs approximately 5,080 opticians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $58,850 1. Nationally, optician employment is projected to grow 2.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 6,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Optician in Florida, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: opticianry program or state-recognized apprentice path (find programs)
- Typical timeline: an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade
- Exam: ABO-NCLE and/or the state dispensing-optician exam
- Median wage (Florida): $58,850 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become an Optician in Florida
How to become an Optician in Florida? Complete an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade. Apply through the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade. Confirm current hour totals with the program and the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Florida? Yes. Florida typically registers this role through the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do opticians earn in Florida? The median annual wage for opticians in Florida is $58,850 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $36,510 and experienced professionals can earn $75,480 or more 1.
How to Become an Optician in Florida
- Meet entry rules. Confirm age and education with the program and employer. Do not treat minimum age as years of work.
- Complete an opticianry program or recognized apprentice path. Some states use a two-year program; others use a board-registered apprentice path. That is not a DAS construction apprenticeship.
- Pass ABO-NCLE or the state exam. Confirm which exam the program and employer requires.
- Apply for the dispensing-optician license. Apply to the program and employer in states that license opticians. Do not treat optometrist rows as the optician path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Optician License Requirements in Florida
Dispensing opticians are licensed in some states. The path is an opticianry program or board apprentice route, then the state exam. Optometrist licenses are a different occupation.
Typical path
Complete an opticianry program or board apprentice path.
Pass the required exam.
Apply to the program and employer where the state licenses opticians.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Optician Wages by Metro Area in Florida
Opticians, Dispensing Wages by Metro Area in Florida
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), opticians, dispensing wages in Florida vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach | 1,250 | $61,880 | $57,580 | $35,110 | $75,710 |
| Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater | 870 | $56,030 | $55,930 | $36,740 | $74,120 |
| Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford | 680 | $59,120 | $56,300 | $37,060 | $75,510 |
| Jacksonville | 380 | $57,000 | $56,370 | $36,930 | $77,440 |
| Cape Coral-Fort Myers | 240 | $59,800 | $57,650 | $37,010 | $78,060 |
| North Port-Bradenton-Sarasota | 230 | $58,220 | $57,410 | $38,390 | $75,980 |
| Lakeland-Winter Haven | 150 | $57,100 | $54,190 | $35,880 | $73,960 |
| Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville | 140 | $62,030 | $59,870 | $38,180 | $75,280 |
| Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent | 140 | $47,550 | $51,560 | $36,050 | $74,620 |
| Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormond Beach | 130 | $57,870 | $55,100 | $36,510 | $73,200 |
| Port St. Lucie | 110 | $61,150 | $58,510 | $37,370 | $75,690 |
| Ocala | 90 | $59,470 | $57,160 | $36,780 | $75,010 |
| Naples-Marco Island | 80 | $62,940 | $63,100 | $44,210 | $78,830 |
| Crestview-Fort Walton Beach-Destin | 70 | $57,780 | $57,100 | $37,780 | $77,120 |
| Panama City-Panama City Beach | 70 | $51,060 | $52,920 | $33,230 | $73,440 |
| Punta Gorda | 60 | $60,360 | $56,670 | $37,310 | $74,310 |
| Tallahassee | 60 | $58,700 | $55,990 | $36,750 | $75,370 |
| Gainesville | 50 | $60,680 | $57,330 | $36,590 | $71,660 |
| Sebastian-Vero Beach-West Vero Corridor | 40 | $60,490 | $58,020 | $37,460 | $75,910 |
| Wildwood-The Villages | 30 | $57,670 | $55,550 | $35,870 | $74,170 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for opticians in Florida? Florida currently employs approximately 5,080 opticians 1. Nationally, optician employment is projected to grow 2.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as an optician in Florida with an out-of-state license? Contact the program and employer for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Florida? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Florida.
How much do opticians earn in Florida compared to the national average? The median annual wage for opticians in Florida is $58,850, which is $12,290 above the national median of $46,560 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Florida
Top local programs
- Best Optician Programs in Alachua, Florida (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Altamonte Springs, Florida (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Anna Maria, Florida (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Apalachicola, Florida (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Apopka, Florida (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Arcadia, Florida (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Archer, Florida (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Astatula, Florida (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Atlantic Beach, Florida (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Atlantis, Florida (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Auburndale, Florida (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Aventura, Florida (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Florida
- Best HVAC Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Florida
- Best Plumbing Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Florida
Explore More Trades in Florida
- Electrician in Florida
- Plumber in Florida
- HVAC Technician in Florida
- Welder in Florida
- Carpenter in Florida
- Solar Installation Technician in Florida
- Auto Mechanic in Florida
- CNC Machinist in Florida
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Florida
- Medical Assistant in Florida
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |