How to Become an Optician in Georgia (2026)
Georgia employs about 2,290 opticians earning a median $48,010 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as an Optician here means completing an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Compare Optician Schools in Georgia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Southwestern Community College | 62.2 | Contact school for pricing | $45,381 | 53% | Yes* | 172 mi |
| 2 | Pensacola State College | 61.5 | Contact school for pricing | $45,937 | Not reported | Yes* | 256 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Hillsborough Community College | 61.2 | Contact school for pricing | $49,784 | 34% | Yes* | 356 mi |
| 4 | Central Carolina Community College | 60.6 | Contact school for pricing | $42,844 | Not reported | Yes* | 325 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Roane State Community College | 59.9 | Contact school for pricing | $45,998 | Not reported | Yes* | 208 mi |
| 6 | Daytona State College | 59.8 | Contact school for pricing | $49,001 | 42% | Yes* | 309 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | East Mississippi Community College | 57.7 | Contact school for pricing | $42,022 | 44% | Yes* | 264 mi |
| 8 | Wiregrass Georgia Technical College | 50.7 | $3,480 - $11,034 | $40,586 | 47% | Yes* | 145 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Ogeechee Technical College | 50.1 | Contact school for pricing | $40,635 | Not reported | Yes* | 128 mi |
| 10 | Southwest Virginia Community College | 48.9 | Contact school for pricing | $43,371 | Not reported | Yes* | 313 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Georgia employs approximately 2,290 opticians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $48,010 1. Nationally, optician employment is projected to grow 2.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 6,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Optician in Georgia, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: opticianry program or state-recognized apprentice path (find programs)
- Typical timeline: an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade
- Exam: ABO-NCLE and/or the state dispensing-optician exam
- Median wage (Georgia): $48,010 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become an Optician in Georgia
How to become an Optician in Georgia? Complete an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade. Apply through the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade. Confirm current hour totals with the program and the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Georgia? Yes. Georgia typically registers this role through the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do opticians earn in Georgia? The median annual wage for opticians in Georgia is $48,010 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $36,800 and experienced professionals can earn $74,120 or more 1.
How to Become an Optician in Georgia
- Meet entry rules. Confirm age and education with the program and employer. Do not treat minimum age as years of work.
- Complete an opticianry program or recognized apprentice path. Some states use a two-year program; others use a board-registered apprentice path. That is not a DAS construction apprenticeship.
- Pass ABO-NCLE or the state exam. Confirm which exam the program and employer requires.
- Apply for the dispensing-optician license. Apply to the program and employer in states that license opticians. Do not treat optometrist rows as the optician path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Optician License Requirements in Georgia
Dispensing opticians are licensed in some states. The path is an opticianry program or board apprentice route, then the state exam. Optometrist licenses are a different occupation.
Typical path
Complete an opticianry program or board apprentice path.
Pass the required exam.
Apply to the program and employer where the state licenses opticians.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Optician Wages by Metro Area in Georgia
Opticians, Dispensing Wages by Metro Area in Georgia
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), opticians, dispensing wages in Georgia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell | 1,380 | $51,890 | $56,350 | $38,160 | $75,300 |
| Augusta-Richmond County | 150 | $44,700 | $49,520 | $35,330 | $70,960 |
| Chattanooga | 130 | $47,140 | $49,920 | $36,180 | $68,520 |
| Savannah | 100 | $46,440 | $51,210 | $37,300 | $71,580 |
| Athens-Clarke County | 70 | $46,250 | $50,500 | $36,070 | $75,300 |
| Columbus | 70 | $39,450 | $45,640 | $31,710 | $63,650 |
| Gainesville | 50 | $45,310 | $50,050 | $36,950 | $65,950 |
| Albany | 40 | $39,670 | $43,460 | $32,090 | $57,040 |
| Warner Robins | 40 | $44,870 | $46,190 | $36,380 | $63,090 |
| Macon-Bibb County | 30 | $44,810 | $48,180 | $35,310 | $63,660 |
| Valdosta | 30 | $44,220 | $47,440 | $30,840 | $64,590 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for opticians in Georgia? Georgia currently employs approximately 2,290 opticians 1. Nationally, optician employment is projected to grow 2.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as an optician in Georgia with an out-of-state license? Contact the program and employer for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Georgia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Georgia.
How much do opticians earn in Georgia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for opticians in Georgia is $48,010, which is $1,450 above the national median of $46,560 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Georgia
Top local programs
- Best Optician Programs in Acworth, Georgia (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Albany, Georgia (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Alpharetta, Georgia (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Americus, Georgia (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Athens, Georgia (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Atlanta, Georgia (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Augusta, Georgia (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Bainbridge, Georgia (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Braselton, Georgia (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Brookhaven, Georgia (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Brunswick, Georgia (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Buford, Georgia (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Georgia (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Georgia
- Best HVAC Schools in Georgia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Georgia
- Best Plumbing Schools in Georgia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Georgia
Explore More Trades in Georgia
- Electrician in Georgia
- Plumber in Georgia
- HVAC Technician in Georgia
- Welder in Georgia
- Carpenter in Georgia
- Solar Installation Technician in Georgia
- Auto Mechanic in Georgia
- CNC Machinist in Georgia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Georgia
- Medical Assistant in Georgia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |