How to Become an Optician in Kentucky (2026)
Kentucky employs about 950 opticians earning a median $44,290 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as an Optician here means completing an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Compare Optician Schools in Kentucky
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Southwestern Community College | 62.2 | Contact school for pricing | $45,381 | 53% | Yes* | 203 mi |
| 2 | Roane State Community College | 59.9 | Contact school for pricing | $45,998 | Not reported | Yes* | 135 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Cincinnati State Technical and Community College | 50.7 | Contact school for pricing | $59,235 | 18% | Yes* | 106 mi |
| 4 | Elgin Community College | 50.2 | Contact school for pricing | $54,220 | 41% | — | 335 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Universal Technical Institute-Canton | 50.1 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 329 mi |
| 6 | Durham Technical Community College | 49.8 | Contact school for pricing | $57,868 | 40% | Yes* | 377 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Ivy Tech Community College | 49.2 | $5,154 - $15,370 | $53,369 | 38% | Yes* | 149 mi |
| 8 | Southwest Virginia Community College | 48.9 | Contact school for pricing | $43,371 | Not reported | Yes* | 201 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Cuyahoga Community College District | 47.6 | Contact school for pricing | $49,698 | 30% | Yes* | 324 mi |
| 10 | College of Lake County | 47.4 | $4,788 - $14,400 | $52,821 | 38% | — | 349 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Kentucky employs approximately 950 opticians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $44,290 1. Nationally, optician employment is projected to grow 2.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 6,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Optician in Kentucky, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: opticianry program or state-recognized apprentice path (find programs)
- Typical timeline: an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade
- Exam: ABO-NCLE and/or the state dispensing-optician exam
- Median wage (Kentucky): $44,290 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become an Optician in Kentucky
How to become an Optician in Kentucky? Complete an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade. Apply through the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade. Confirm current hour totals with the program and the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Kentucky? Yes. Kentucky typically registers this role through the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do opticians earn in Kentucky? The median annual wage for opticians in Kentucky is $44,290 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $30,190 and experienced professionals can earn $65,130 or more 1.
How to Become an Optician in Kentucky
- Meet entry rules. Confirm age and education with the program and employer. Do not treat minimum age as years of work.
- Complete an opticianry program or recognized apprentice path. Some states use a two-year program; others use a board-registered apprentice path. That is not a DAS construction apprenticeship.
- Pass ABO-NCLE or the state exam. Confirm which exam the program and employer requires.
- Apply for the dispensing-optician license. Apply to the program and employer in states that license opticians. Do not treat optometrist rows as the optician path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Optician License Requirements in Kentucky
Dispensing opticians are licensed in some states. The path is an opticianry program or board apprentice route, then the state exam. Optometrist licenses are a different occupation.
Typical path
Complete an opticianry program or board apprentice path.
Pass the required exam.
Apply to the program and employer where the state licenses opticians.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Optician Wages by Metro Area in Kentucky
Opticians, Dispensing Wages by Metro Area in Kentucky
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), opticians, dispensing wages in Kentucky vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cincinnati | 570 | $50,730 | $52,160 | $37,290 | $65,340 |
| Louisville/Jefferson County | 340 | $40,560 | $44,370 | $29,050 | $62,970 |
| Lexington-Fayette | 120 | $47,310 | $50,550 | $37,280 | $65,630 |
| Huntington-Ashland | 80 | $38,650 | $42,490 | $31,560 | $61,010 |
| Bowling Green | 60 | $37,000 | $41,680 | $31,030 | $58,750 |
| Clarksville | 60 | $47,660 | $50,300 | $31,030 | $68,740 |
| Elizabethtown | 30 | $45,070 | $47,310 | $31,980 | $63,450 |
| Paducah | 30 | $39,210 | $44,650 | $30,520 | $62,890 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for opticians in Kentucky? Kentucky currently employs approximately 950 opticians 1. Nationally, optician employment is projected to grow 2.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as an optician in Kentucky with an out-of-state license? Contact the program and employer for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Kentucky? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Kentucky.
How much do opticians earn in Kentucky compared to the national average? The median annual wage for opticians in Kentucky is $44,290, which is $2,270 below the national median of $46,560 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Kentucky
Top local programs
- Best Optician Programs in Ashland, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Bardstown, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Berea, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Bowling Green, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Campbellsville, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Covington, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Danville, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Elizabethtown, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Erlanger, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Florence, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Fort Thomas, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Frankfort, Kentucky (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Kentucky
- Best HVAC Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Kentucky
- Best Plumbing Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Kentucky
Explore More Trades in Kentucky
- Electrician in Kentucky
- Plumber in Kentucky
- HVAC Technician in Kentucky
- Welder in Kentucky
- Carpenter in Kentucky
- Solar Installation Technician in Kentucky
- Auto Mechanic in Kentucky
- CNC Machinist in Kentucky
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Kentucky
- Medical Assistant in Kentucky
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |