How to Become an Optician in Michigan (2026)
Michigan employs about 3,080 opticians earning a median $41,180 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as an Optician here means completing an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Michigan): $41,180/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Michigan: 3,080 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.48x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 2.9% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Optician Schools in Michigan
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Roane State Community College | 59.9 | Contact school for pricing | $45,998 | Not reported | Yes* | 508 mi |
| 2 | Indian Hills Community College | 56.1 | Contact school for pricing | $50,322 | Not reported | Yes* | 425 mi |
| 3 | Erie Community College | 52.1 | Contact school for pricing | $48,895 | Not reported | Yes* | 292 mi |
| 4 | Monroe Community College | 50.8 | Contact school for pricing | $47,430 | 25% | Yes* | 354 mi |
| 5 | Cincinnati State Technical and Community College | 50.7 | Contact school for pricing | $59,235 | 18% | Yes* | 282 mi |
| 6 | Elgin Community College | 50.2 | Contact school for pricing | $54,220 | 41% | — | 205 mi |
| 7 | Universal Technical Institute-Canton | 50.1 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 89 mi |
| 8 | Ivy Tech Community College | 49.2 | $5,154 - $15,370 | $53,369 | 38% | Yes* | 250 mi |
| 9 | Southwest Virginia Community College | 48.9 | Contact school for pricing | $43,371 | Not reported | Yes* | 451 mi |
| 10 | Cuyahoga Community College District | 47.6 | Contact school for pricing | $49,698 | 30% | Yes* | 192 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Michigan employs approximately 3,080 opticians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $41,180 1. The state’s concentration of optician jobs is 1.48x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, optician employment is projected to grow 2.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 6,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Optician in Michigan, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: opticianry program or state-recognized apprentice path (find programs)
- Typical timeline: an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade
- Exam: ABO-NCLE and/or the state dispensing-optician exam
- Median wage (Michigan): $41,180 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become an Optician in Michigan
How to become an Optician in Michigan? Complete an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade. Apply through the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade. Confirm current hour totals with the program and the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Michigan? Yes. Michigan typically registers this role through the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do opticians earn in Michigan? The median annual wage for opticians in Michigan is $41,180 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $34,610 and experienced professionals can earn $52,090 or more 1.
How to Become an Optician in Michigan
- Meet entry rules. Confirm age and education with the program and employer. Do not treat minimum age as years of work.
- Complete an opticianry program or recognized apprentice path. Some states use a two-year program; others use a board-registered apprentice path. That is not a DAS construction apprenticeship.
- Pass ABO-NCLE or the state exam. Confirm which exam the program and employer requires.
- Apply for the dispensing-optician license. Apply to the program and employer in states that license opticians. Do not treat optometrist rows as the optician path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Optician License Requirements in Michigan
Dispensing opticians are licensed in some states. The path is an opticianry program or board apprentice route, then the state exam. Optometrist licenses are a different occupation.
Typical path
Complete an opticianry program or board apprentice path.
Pass the required exam.
Apply to the program and employer where the state licenses opticians.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Optician Wages by Metro Area in Michigan
Opticians, Dispensing Wages by Metro Area in Michigan
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), opticians, dispensing wages in Michigan vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Detroit-Warren-Dearborn | 1,470 | $43,830 | $44,380 | $35,610 | $53,670 |
| Grand Rapids-Wyoming-Kentwood | 370 | $41,820 | $44,680 | $35,210 | $58,510 |
| Lansing-East Lansing | 150 | $41,390 | $43,490 | $34,050 | $52,650 |
| Flint | 130 | $39,230 | $41,130 | $32,850 | $47,470 |
| Kalamazoo-Portage | 120 | $37,780 | $43,310 | $33,400 | $53,880 |
| Ann Arbor | 90 | $45,090 | $47,540 | $35,980 | $60,200 |
| South Bend-Mishawaka | 80 | $38,000 | $41,440 | $32,440 | $49,700 |
| Traverse City | 80 | $42,050 | $44,700 | $34,960 | $57,660 |
| Niles | 50 | $38,590 | $41,120 | $33,640 | $47,470 |
| Saginaw | 50 | $38,660 | $39,550 | $31,720 | $48,670 |
| Michigan City-La Porte | 40 | $38,070 | $39,600 | $30,720 | $54,820 |
| Muskegon-Norton Shores | 30 | $37,870 | $40,060 | $31,950 | $47,930 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for opticians in Michigan? Michigan currently employs approximately 3,080 opticians 1. Nationally, optician employment is projected to grow 2.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as an optician in Michigan with an out-of-state license? Contact the program and employer for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Michigan? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Michigan.
How much do opticians earn in Michigan compared to the national average? The median annual wage for opticians in Michigan is $41,180, which is $5,380 below the national median of $46,560 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Michigan
Top local programs
- Best Optician Programs in Adrian, Michigan (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Allen Park, Michigan (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Alma, Michigan (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Alpena, Michigan (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Ann Arbor, Michigan (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Auburn Hills, Michigan (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Battle Creek, Michigan (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Bay City, Michigan (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Benton Harbor, Michigan (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Berkley, Michigan (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Beverly Hills, Michigan (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Big Rapids, Michigan (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Michigan (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Michigan
- Best HVAC Schools in Michigan (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Michigan
- Best Plumbing Schools in Michigan (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Michigan
Explore More Trades in Michigan
- Electrician in Michigan
- Plumber in Michigan
- HVAC Technician in Michigan
- Welder in Michigan
- Carpenter in Michigan
- Solar Installation Technician in Michigan
- Auto Mechanic in Michigan
- CNC Machinist in Michigan
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Michigan
- Medical Assistant in Michigan
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |