How to Become an Optician in Minnesota (2026)

Minnesota employs about 1,490 opticians earning a median $48,020 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as an Optician here means completing an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (Minnesota): $48,020/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in Minnesota: 1,490 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 1.07x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 2.9% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Optician Schools in Minnesota

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
161.3Contact school for pricing$50,35332%Yes*698 mi
256.1Contact school for pricing$50,322Not reportedYes*302 mi
352.1Contact school for pricing$48,895Not reportedYes*742 mi
450.7Contact school for pricing$59,23518%Yes*624 mi
550.2Contact school for pricing$54,22041%344 mi
650.1Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported541 mi
749.2$5,154 - $15,370$53,36938%Yes*533 mi
848.3Contact school for pricing$51,139Not reportedYes*305 mi
947.6Contact school for pricing$49,69830%Yes*647 mi
1047.4$4,788 - $14,400$52,82138%340 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Minnesota employs approximately 1,490 opticians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $48,020 1. Nationally, optician employment is projected to grow 2.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 6,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Optician in Minnesota, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: opticianry program or state-recognized apprentice path (find programs)
  • Typical timeline: an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade
  • Exam: ABO-NCLE and/or the state dispensing-optician exam
  • Median wage (Minnesota): $48,020 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become an Optician in Minnesota

How to become an Optician in Minnesota? Complete an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade. Apply through the program and employer.

How long does it take? Most people finish an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade. Confirm current hour totals with the program and the program and employer.

Do I need a license in Minnesota? Yes. Minnesota typically registers this role through the program and employer. See the licensing section below.

What do opticians earn in Minnesota? The median annual wage for opticians in Minnesota is $48,020 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $36,920 and experienced professionals can earn $67,490 or more 1.

How to Become an Optician in Minnesota

  1. Meet entry rules. Confirm age and education with the program and employer. Do not treat minimum age as years of work.
  2. Complete an opticianry program or recognized apprentice path. Some states use a two-year program; others use a board-registered apprentice path. That is not a DAS construction apprenticeship.
  3. Pass ABO-NCLE or the state exam. Confirm which exam the program and employer requires.
  4. Apply for the dispensing-optician license. Apply to the program and employer in states that license opticians. Do not treat optometrist rows as the optician path.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Optician License Requirements in Minnesota

Dispensing opticians are licensed in some states. The path is an opticianry program or board apprentice route, then the state exam. Optometrist licenses are a different occupation.

Typical path

  1. Complete an opticianry program or board apprentice path.

  2. Pass the required exam.

  3. Apply to the program and employer where the state licenses opticians.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.

Optician Wages by Metro Area in Minnesota

Opticians, Dispensing Wages by Metro Area in Minnesota

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), opticians, dispensing wages in Minnesota vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington930$48,840$51,810$38,640$67,490
Sioux Falls170$44,190$43,880$35,100$51,470
Rochester80$47,460$51,350$33,470$74,800
Fargo80$45,040$46,250$37,220$64,660
Duluth60$46,240$46,120$36,200$57,660
La Crosse-Onalaska60$44,620$45,660$37,090$60,580
St. Cloud50$45,210$47,700$36,920$75,300
Grand Forks40$45,280$44,310$37,290$51,900

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for opticians in Minnesota? Minnesota currently employs approximately 1,490 opticians 1. Nationally, optician employment is projected to grow 2.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as an optician in Minnesota with an out-of-state license? Contact the program and employer for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.

What training programs are available in Minnesota? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Minnesota.

How much do opticians earn in Minnesota compared to the national average? The median annual wage for opticians in Minnesota is $48,020, which is $1,460 above the national median of $46,560 according to BLS data 1.

In Minnesota

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Minnesota

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)