How to Become an Optician in New Mexico (2026)
New Mexico employs about 340 opticians earning a median $39,090 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as an Optician here means completing an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (New Mexico): $39,090/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in New Mexico: 340 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.83x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 2.9% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Optician Schools in New Mexico
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pasadena City College | 71.5 | Contact school for pricing | $48,980 | Not reported | Yes* | 715 mi |
| 2 | Irvine Valley College | 65.0 | $1,156 - $13,001 | $55,055 | 57% | — | 699 mi |
| 3 | Front Range Community College | 61.3 | Contact school for pricing | $50,353 | 32% | Yes* | 392 mi |
| 4 | Northwest Vista College | 61.0 | $3,412 - $11,932 | $46,909 | 32% | Yes* | 522 mi |
| 5 | Rio Salado College | 60.8 | Contact school for pricing | $58,656 | 6% | Yes* | 371 mi |
| 6 | American Career College-Ontario | 52.5 | Contact school for pricing | $43,139 | Not reported | Yes* | 689 mi |
| 7 | Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute | 52.4 | Contact school for pricing | $34,652 | Not reported | Yes* | 88 mi |
| 8 | Iowa Western Community College | 48.3 | Contact school for pricing | $51,139 | Not reported | Yes* | 722 mi |
| 9 | Universal Technical Institute of Texas Inc. | 47.7 | Contact school for pricing | $57,080 | Not reported | — | 664 mi |
| 10 | College of Southern Nevada | 46.6 | Contact school for pricing | $51,080 | 19% | Yes* | 560 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
New Mexico employs approximately 340 opticians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $39,090 1. Nationally, optician employment is projected to grow 2.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 6,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become an Optician in New Mexico, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: opticianry program or state-recognized apprentice path (find programs)
- Typical timeline: an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade
- Exam: ABO-NCLE and/or the state dispensing-optician exam
- Median wage (New Mexico): $39,090 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become an Optician in New Mexico
How to become an Optician in New Mexico? Complete an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade. Apply through the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish an opticianry program or apprenticeship where the state uses one, then a dispensing-optician license in states that license the trade. Confirm current hour totals with the program and the program and employer.
Do I need a license in New Mexico? Yes. New Mexico typically registers this role through the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do opticians earn in New Mexico? The median annual wage for opticians in New Mexico is $39,090 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $31,010 and experienced professionals can earn $72,920 or more 1.
How to Become an Optician in New Mexico
- Meet entry rules. Confirm age and education with the program and employer. Do not treat minimum age as years of work.
- Complete an opticianry program or recognized apprentice path. Some states use a two-year program; others use a board-registered apprentice path. That is not a DAS construction apprenticeship.
- Pass ABO-NCLE or the state exam. Confirm which exam the program and employer requires.
- Apply for the dispensing-optician license. Apply to the program and employer in states that license opticians. Do not treat optometrist rows as the optician path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Optician License Requirements in New Mexico
Dispensing opticians are licensed in some states. The path is an opticianry program or board apprentice route, then the state exam. Optometrist licenses are a different occupation.
Typical path
Complete an opticianry program or board apprentice path.
Pass the required exam.
Apply to the program and employer where the state licenses opticians.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Optician Wages by Metro Area in New Mexico
Opticians, Dispensing Wages by Metro Area in New Mexico
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), opticians, dispensing wages in New Mexico vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Albuquerque | 170 | $39,230 | $45,460 | $31,010 | $76,750 |
| Santa Fe | 50 | $40,200 | $45,850 | $36,040 | $58,650 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for opticians in New Mexico? New Mexico currently employs approximately 340 opticians 1. Nationally, optician employment is projected to grow 2.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as an optician in New Mexico with an out-of-state license? Contact the program and employer for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in New Mexico? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in New Mexico.
How much do opticians earn in New Mexico compared to the national average? The median annual wage for opticians in New Mexico is $39,090, which is $7,470 below the national median of $46,560 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In New Mexico
Top local programs
- Best Optician Programs in Alamogordo, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Albuquerque, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Artesia, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Carlsbad, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Clovis, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Deming, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Espanola, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Farmington, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Gallup, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Grants, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Hobbs, New Mexico (2026)
- Best Optician Programs in Las Cruces, New Mexico (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in New Mexico (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in New Mexico
- Best HVAC Schools in New Mexico (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in New Mexico
- Best Plumbing Schools in New Mexico (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in New Mexico
Explore More Trades in New Mexico
- Electrician in New Mexico
- Plumber in New Mexico
- HVAC Technician in New Mexico
- Welder in New Mexico
- Carpenter in New Mexico
- Solar Installation Technician in New Mexico
- Auto Mechanic in New Mexico
- CNC Machinist in New Mexico
- Certified Nursing Assistant in New Mexico
- Medical Assistant in New Mexico
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |