How to Become a Paralegal in Arkansas (2026)
Arkansas employs about 1,610 paralegals earning a median $47,420 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). No statewide license is required; most paralegals train through a certificate program and earn an industry certification before employers will hire them.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Arkansas): $47,420/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Arkansas: 1,610 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.49x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 0.2% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Paralegal Schools in Arkansas
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Indian Capital Technology Center-Muskogee | 68.1 | Contact school for pricing | $36,725 | 98% | — | 175 mi |
| 2 | University of Arkansas-Fort Smith | 63.8 | Contact school for pricing | $49,998 | 37% | Yes* | 117 mi |
| 3 | NorthWest Arkansas Community College | 52.6 | Contact school for pricing | $48,056 | 29% | Yes* | 139 mi |
| 4 | Northwest Mississippi Community College | 47.6 | Contact school for pricing | $42,368 | Not reported | Yes* | 138 mi |
| 5 | Coahoma Community College | 44.1 | Contact school for pricing | $31,140 | 39% | Yes* | 114 mi |
| 6 | Bossier Parish Community College | 42.3 | Contact school for pricing | $43,033 | 14% | Yes* | 183 mi |
| 7 | University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College | 41.7 | Contact school for pricing | $41,807 | 34% | Yes* | 13 mi |
| 8 | Remington College-Shreveport Campus | 36.6 | Contact school for pricing | $33,677 | 30% | — | 197 mi |
| 9 | Southwest Tennessee Community College | 35.0 | Contact school for pricing | $44,124 | Not reported | Yes* | 142 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Arkansas employs approximately 1,610 paralegals according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $47,420 1. Nationally, paralegal employment is projected to grow 0.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 39,300 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Paralegal in Arkansas, including certification options, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Arkansas): $47,420 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Paralegal in Arkansas
How to become a Paralegal in Arkansas? Arkansas does not require a state license for paralegals, but employers typically expect industry certifications such as CP (Certified Paralegal) and AAfPE Certificate. Complete a training program to prepare.
How long does it take? paralegal training length in Arkansas varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
Do I need a license in Arkansas? No state license is required, but certifications such as CP (Certified Paralegal) and AAfPE Certificate are expected by most employers.
What do paralegals earn in Arkansas? The median annual wage for paralegals in Arkansas is $47,420 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $36,290 and experienced professionals can earn $81,700 or more 1.
How to Become a Paralegal in Arkansas
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Arkansas training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved paralegal program in Arkansas that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Earn an industry certification. While Arkansas does not require a statewide license, earn CP (Certified Paralegal) to meet employer expectations and improve hiring prospects.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Paralegal Certification Options in Arkansas
Arkansas does not require a state license to work as a paralegal. However, industry certifications can strengthen your resume and may be required by employers.
Common certifications for paralegals include:
- CP (Certified Paralegal)
- AAfPE Certificate
For more information, visit the NALA - Paralegal Association 3. Contact training programs in Arkansas for details on certification preparation courses.
Paralegal Wages by Metro Area in Arkansas
Paralegals and Legal Assistants Wages by Metro Area in Arkansas
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), paralegals and legal assistants wages in Arkansas vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Memphis | 1,120 | $56,850 | $60,700 | $42,950 | $84,480 |
| Little Rock-North Little Rock-Conway | 680 | $47,690 | $63,680 | $37,740 | $81,330 |
| Fayetteville-Springdale-Rogers | 380 | $49,330 | $57,810 | $37,400 | $81,130 |
| Fort Smith | 120 | $46,620 | $56,890 | $36,930 | $74,990 |
| Jonesboro | 70 | $45,520 | $57,310 | $36,310 | $73,670 |
| Texarkana | 60 | $52,590 | $55,800 | $34,490 | $80,750 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for paralegals in Arkansas? Arkansas currently employs approximately 1,610 paralegals 1. Nationally, paralegal employment is projected to grow 0.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Arkansas? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Arkansas.
How much do paralegals earn in Arkansas compared to the national average? The median annual wage for paralegals in Arkansas is $47,420, which is $13,590 below the national median of $61,010 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Arkansas
Top local programs
- Best Paralegal Programs in Arkansas (2026)
- Best Paralegal Programs in Fayetteville AR, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Arkadelphia, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Batesville, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Bella Vista, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Benton, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Bentonville, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Blytheville, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Bryant, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Cabot, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Camden, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Centerton, Arkansas (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Arkansas (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Arkansas
- Best HVAC Schools in Arkansas (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Arkansas
- Best Plumbing Schools in Arkansas (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Arkansas
Explore More Trades in Arkansas
- Electrician in Arkansas
- Plumber in Arkansas
- HVAC Technician in Arkansas
- Welder in Arkansas
- Carpenter in Arkansas
- Solar Installation Technician in Arkansas
- Auto Mechanic in Arkansas
- CNC Machinist in Arkansas
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Arkansas
- Medical Assistant in Arkansas
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
NALA - Paralegal Association: https://www.nala.org/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |