How to Become a Paralegal in Louisiana (2026)
Louisiana employs about 4,890 paralegals earning a median $60,250 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). No statewide license is required; most paralegals train through a certificate program and earn an industry certification before employers will hire them.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Louisiana): $60,250/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Louisiana: 4,890 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.00x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 0.2% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Paralegal Schools in Louisiana
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Copiah-Lincoln Community College | 63.6 | Contact school for pricing | $36,902 | 51% | Yes* | 94 mi |
| 2 | Hinds Community College | 53.6 | Contact school for pricing | $40,042 | Not reported | Yes* | 118 mi |
| 3 | Nunez Community College | 44.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,555 | 23% | Yes* | 128 mi |
| 4 | Baton Rouge Community College | 43.7 | Contact school for pricing | $45,313 | Not reported | Yes* | 52 mi |
| 5 | Lamar State College-Port Arthur | 42.9 | Contact school for pricing | $46,272 | Not reported | — | 150 mi |
| 6 | Bossier Parish Community College | 42.3 | Contact school for pricing | $43,033 | 14% | Yes* | 155 mi |
| 7 | Delgado Community College | 41.7 | Contact school for pricing | $48,141 | 23% | Yes* | 120 mi |
| 8 | Northshore Technical Community College | 41.6 | Contact school for pricing | $37,814 | Not reported | Yes* | 117 mi |
| 9 | Herzing University-New Orleans | 37.5 | $13,450 - $28,414 | $58,575 | 30% | Yes* | 116 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Louisiana employs approximately 4,890 paralegals according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $60,250 1. Nationally, paralegal employment is projected to grow 0.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 39,300 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Paralegal in Louisiana, including certification options, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Louisiana): $60,250 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Paralegal in Louisiana
How to become a Paralegal in Louisiana? Louisiana does not require a state license for paralegals, but employers typically expect industry certifications such as CP (Certified Paralegal) and AAfPE Certificate. Complete a training program to prepare.
How long does it take? paralegal training length in Louisiana varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
Do I need a license in Louisiana? No state license is required, but certifications such as CP (Certified Paralegal) and AAfPE Certificate are expected by most employers.
What do paralegals earn in Louisiana? The median annual wage for paralegals in Louisiana is $60,250 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $36,960 and experienced professionals can earn $78,230 or more 1.
How to Become a Paralegal in Louisiana
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Louisiana training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved paralegal program in Louisiana that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Earn an industry certification. While Louisiana does not require a statewide license, earn CP (Certified Paralegal) to meet employer expectations and improve hiring prospects.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Paralegal Certification Options in Louisiana
Louisiana does not require a state license to work as a paralegal. However, industry certifications can strengthen your resume and may be required by employers.
Common certifications for paralegals include:
- CP (Certified Paralegal)
- AAfPE Certificate
For more information, visit the NALA - Paralegal Association 3. Contact training programs in Louisiana for details on certification preparation courses.
Paralegal Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana
Paralegals and Legal Assistants Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), paralegals and legal assistants wages in Louisiana vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Orleans-Metairie | 2,120 | $64,780 | $64,370 | $41,040 | $79,880 |
| Baton Rouge | 960 | $59,030 | $58,610 | $43,400 | $76,860 |
| Lafayette | 470 | $52,130 | $55,400 | $36,460 | $74,720 |
| Shreveport-Bossier City | 240 | $58,900 | $56,440 | $36,710 | $74,900 |
| Lake Charles | 220 | $48,970 | $52,180 | $36,930 | $71,890 |
| Slidell-Mandeville-Covington | 200 | $58,070 | $56,070 | $36,470 | $76,500 |
| Monroe | 180 | $47,070 | $51,610 | $36,460 | $71,650 |
| Alexandria | 120 | $56,760 | $56,490 | $36,430 | $74,530 |
| Houma-Bayou Cane-Thibodaux | 80 | $46,560 | $52,500 | $32,010 | $75,140 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for paralegals in Louisiana? Louisiana currently employs approximately 4,890 paralegals 1. Nationally, paralegal employment is projected to grow 0.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Louisiana? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Louisiana.
How much do paralegals earn in Louisiana compared to the national average? The median annual wage for paralegals in Louisiana is $60,250, which is $760 below the national median of $61,010 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Louisiana
Top local programs
- Best Paralegal Programs in Baton Rouge Metro, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Paralegal Programs in Baton Rouge North, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Paralegal Programs in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Abbeville, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Alexandria, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Baker, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Bastrop, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Baton Rouge, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Bogalusa, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Bossier City, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Breaux Bridge, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Broussard, Louisiana (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Louisiana
- Best HVAC Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Louisiana
- Best Plumbing Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Louisiana
Explore More Trades in Louisiana
- Electrician in Louisiana
- Plumber in Louisiana
- HVAC Technician in Louisiana
- Welder in Louisiana
- Carpenter in Louisiana
- Solar Installation Technician in Louisiana
- Auto Mechanic in Louisiana
- CNC Machinist in Louisiana
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Louisiana
- Medical Assistant in Louisiana
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
NALA - Paralegal Association: https://www.nala.org/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |