How to Become a Paralegal in Minnesota (2026)
Minnesota employs about 7,400 paralegals earning a median $75,570 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). No statewide license is required; most paralegals train through a certificate program and earn an industry certification before employers will hire them.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Minnesota): $75,570/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Minnesota: 7,400 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.99x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 0.2% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Paralegal Schools in Minnesota
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Alexandria Technical & Community College | 74.5 | Contact school for pricing | $59,377 | Not reported | Yes* | 100 mi |
| 2 | Dakota County Technical College | 72.2 | $6,679 - $18,552 | $59,518 | 52% | Yes* | 46 mi |
| 3 | Ridgewater College | 68.7 | Contact school for pricing | $49,859 | 48% | Yes* | 80 mi |
| 4 | St Cloud Technical and Community College | 63.7 | Contact school for pricing | $58,691 | 44% | Yes* | 39 mi |
| 5 | South Central College | 60.0 | Contact school for pricing | $52,003 | 34% | Yes* | 86 mi |
| 6 | Rasmussen University-Minnesota | 59.9 | Contact school for pricing | $59,996 | 53% | Yes* | 40 mi |
| 7 | Anoka Technical College | 51.7 | Contact school for pricing | $55,035 | Not reported | Yes* | 9 mi |
| 8 | Inver Hills Community College | 50.1 | $6,146 - $17,103 | $54,434 | 22% | Yes* | 40 mi |
| 9 | North Hennepin Community College | 49.7 | Contact school for pricing | $60,483 | 19% | Yes* | 17 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Minnesota employs approximately 7,400 paralegals according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $75,570 1. Nationally, paralegal employment is projected to grow 0.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 39,300 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Paralegal in Minnesota, including certification options, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Minnesota): $75,570 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Paralegal in Minnesota
How to become a Paralegal in Minnesota? Minnesota does not require a state license for paralegals, but employers typically expect industry certifications such as CP (Certified Paralegal) and AAfPE Certificate. Complete a training program to prepare.
How long does it take? paralegal training length in Minnesota varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
Do I need a license in Minnesota? No state license is required, but certifications such as CP (Certified Paralegal) and AAfPE Certificate are expected by most employers.
What do paralegals earn in Minnesota? The median annual wage for paralegals in Minnesota is $75,570 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $47,730 and experienced professionals can earn $102,920 or more 1.
How to Become a Paralegal in Minnesota
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Minnesota training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved paralegal program in Minnesota that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Earn an industry certification. While Minnesota does not require a statewide license, earn CP (Certified Paralegal) to meet employer expectations and improve hiring prospects.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Paralegal Certification Options in Minnesota
Minnesota does not require a state license to work as a paralegal. However, industry certifications can strengthen your resume and may be required by employers.
Common certifications for paralegals include:
- CP (Certified Paralegal)
- AAfPE Certificate
For more information, visit the NALA - Paralegal Association 3. Contact training programs in Minnesota for details on certification preparation courses.
Paralegal Wages by Metro Area in Minnesota
Paralegals and Legal Assistants Wages by Metro Area in Minnesota
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), paralegals and legal assistants wages in Minnesota vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington | 5,990 | $76,220 | $76,230 | $49,230 | $105,220 |
| Fargo | 310 | $57,550 | $58,610 | $45,300 | $79,980 |
| Sioux Falls | 260 | $60,060 | $64,370 | $48,890 | $87,460 |
| St. Cloud | 210 | $59,890 | $64,670 | $41,960 | $87,480 |
| Rochester | 200 | $61,230 | $65,040 | $45,520 | $96,640 |
| Duluth | 180 | $57,790 | $60,560 | $45,610 | $80,660 |
| Grand Forks | 110 | $49,290 | $52,860 | $40,010 | $74,880 |
| Mankato | 100 | $59,490 | $64,100 | $46,550 | $82,330 |
| La Crosse-Onalaska | 100 | $49,720 | $57,270 | $44,230 | $77,930 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for paralegals in Minnesota? Minnesota currently employs approximately 7,400 paralegals 1. Nationally, paralegal employment is projected to grow 0.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Minnesota? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Minnesota.
How much do paralegals earn in Minnesota compared to the national average? The median annual wage for paralegals in Minnesota is $75,570, which is $14,560 above the national median of $61,010 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Minnesota
Top local programs
- Best Paralegal Programs in Minnesota (2026)
- Best Paralegal Programs in Rochester MN, Minnesota (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Albert Lea, Minnesota (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Alexandria, Minnesota (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Andover, Minnesota (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Anoka, Minnesota (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Apple Valley, Minnesota (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Arden Hills, Minnesota (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Austin, Minnesota (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Bemidji, Minnesota (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Big Lake, Minnesota (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Blaine, Minnesota (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Minnesota (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Minnesota
- Best HVAC Schools in Minnesota (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Minnesota
- Best Plumbing Schools in Minnesota (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Minnesota
Explore More Trades in Minnesota
- Electrician in Minnesota
- Plumber in Minnesota
- HVAC Technician in Minnesota
- Welder in Minnesota
- Carpenter in Minnesota
- Solar Installation Technician in Minnesota
- Auto Mechanic in Minnesota
- CNC Machinist in Minnesota
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Minnesota
- Medical Assistant in Minnesota
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
NALA - Paralegal Association: https://www.nala.org/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |