How to Become a Paralegal in North Carolina (2026)
North Carolina employs about 13,650 paralegals earning a median $57,500 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). No statewide license is required; most paralegals train through a certificate program and earn an industry certification before employers will hire them.
Compare Paralegal Schools in North Carolina
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Central Carolina Community College | 60.6 | Contact school for pricing | $42,844 | Not reported | Yes* | 34 mi |
| 2 | Wake Technical Community College | 55.3 | Contact school for pricing | $49,034 | Not reported | Yes* | 61 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Forsyth Technical Community College | 52.9 | Contact school for pricing | $48,625 | 31% | Yes* | 51 mi |
| 4 | Central Piedmont Community College | 52.6 | Contact school for pricing | $48,441 | Not reported | Yes* | 63 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Davidson-Davie Community College | 51.6 | Contact school for pricing | $44,533 | 44% | Yes* | 37 mi |
| 6 | Mitchell Community College | 50.2 | Contact school for pricing | $43,465 | 23% | Yes* | 68 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Durham Technical Community College | 49.8 | Contact school for pricing | $57,868 | 40% | Yes* | 61 mi |
| 8 | Fayetteville Technical Community College | 45.5 | Contact school for pricing | $48,138 | 22% | Yes* | 54 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | South Piedmont Community College | 45.0 | Contact school for pricing | $46,657 | 37% | Yes* | 41 mi |
| 10 | York Technical College | 40.4 | Contact school for pricing | $47,738 | Not reported | — | 79 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
North Carolina employs approximately 13,650 paralegals according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $57,500 1. Nationally, paralegal employment is projected to grow 0.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 39,300 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Paralegal in North Carolina, including certification options, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Licensing authority: NC State Bar - Paralegal Certification
- Median wage (North Carolina): $57,500 per year 1
- Exam requirement: State exam required
Quick Answers About How to Become a Paralegal in North Carolina
How to become a Paralegal in North Carolina? North Carolina requires credentials such as Certified Paralegal. The licensing authority is the NC State Bar - Paralegal Certification 3. You also need to complete an approved training program or apprenticeship.
How long does it take? paralegal training length in North Carolina varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
Do I need a license in North Carolina? Yes. North Carolina has licensing or registration requirements for paralegals. The NC State Bar - Paralegal Certification oversees licensing 3. See the licensing section below for details.
What do paralegals earn in North Carolina? The median annual wage for paralegals in North Carolina is $57,500 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $38,570 and experienced professionals can earn $84,410 or more 1.
How to Become a Paralegal in North Carolina
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most North Carolina training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved paralegal program in North Carolina that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Earn an industry certification. While North Carolina does not require a statewide license, earn CP (Certified Paralegal) to meet employer expectations and improve hiring prospects.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Paralegal License Requirements in North Carolina
The NC State Bar - Paralegal Certification oversees paralegal licensing in North Carolina 3.
License Types
| License | Requirements |
|---|---|
| Certified Paralegal | See the state licensing board for current requirements. |
Additional Requirements
- Background check: Specific type of conviction prohibited
- Exam: State exam required
License information sourced from CareerOneStop 4.
Paralegal Wages by Metro Area in North Carolina
Paralegals and Legal Assistants Wages by Metro Area in North Carolina
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), paralegals and legal assistants wages in North Carolina vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia | 4,140 | $59,870 | $66,200 | $43,160 | $99,530 |
| Raleigh-Cary | 2,540 | $61,880 | $63,060 | $38,690 | $85,560 |
| Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk | 1,670 | $59,790 | $60,600 | $47,460 | $77,720 |
| Durham-Chapel Hill | 890 | $52,500 | $61,690 | $46,280 | $89,720 |
| Greensboro-High Point | 860 | $58,650 | $58,740 | $38,180 | $77,250 |
| Winston-Salem | 830 | $50,680 | $55,240 | $38,840 | $75,040 |
| Asheville | 590 | $57,500 | $60,290 | $46,190 | $77,670 |
| Wilmington | 580 | $56,060 | $56,840 | $40,090 | $75,600 |
| Fayetteville | 420 | $60,370 | $57,500 | $37,970 | $74,400 |
| Jacksonville | 210 | $51,630 | $55,360 | $36,460 | $78,850 |
| Greenville | 200 | $47,530 | $49,340 | $35,960 | $63,790 |
| Hickory-Lenoir-Morganton | 200 | $48,530 | $51,240 | $32,070 | $73,490 |
| Pinehurst-Southern Pines | 120 | $49,430 | $55,140 | $37,170 | $70,520 |
| Rocky Mount | 120 | $49,140 | $52,580 | $34,270 | $68,630 |
| Burlington | 110 | $51,620 | $55,260 | $37,440 | $71,240 |
| Goldsboro | 80 | $49,890 | $51,240 | $33,280 | $62,710 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for paralegals in North Carolina? North Carolina currently employs approximately 13,650 paralegals 1. Nationally, paralegal employment is projected to grow 0.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a paralegal in North Carolina with an out-of-state license? Contact the NC State Bar - Paralegal Certification for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in North Carolina? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in North Carolina.
How much do paralegals earn in North Carolina compared to the national average? The median annual wage for paralegals in North Carolina is $57,500, which is $3,510 below the national median of $61,010 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In North Carolina
Top local programs
- Best Paralegal Programs in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Albemarle, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Apex, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Archdale, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Archer Lodge, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Asheboro, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Asheville, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Belmont, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Boone, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Brevard, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Burlington, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Butner, North Carolina (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in North Carolina
- Best HVAC Schools in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in North Carolina
- Best Plumbing Schools in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in North Carolina
Explore More Trades in North Carolina
- Electrician in North Carolina
- Plumber in North Carolina
- HVAC Technician in North Carolina
- Welder in North Carolina
- Carpenter in North Carolina
- Solar Installation Technician in North Carolina
- Auto Mechanic in North Carolina
- CNC Machinist in North Carolina
- Certified Nursing Assistant in North Carolina
- Medical Assistant in North Carolina
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
NC State Bar - Paralegal Certification - Licensing Information: https://www.nccertifiedparalegal.gov/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
CareerOneStop - Licensed Occupations: https://www.careeronestop.org/Toolkit/Training/find-licenses.aspx ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |