How to Become a Paralegal in North Dakota (2026)

North Dakota employs about 730 paralegals earning a median $59,430 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). No statewide license is required; most paralegals train through a certificate program and earn an industry certification before employers will hire them.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (North Dakota): $59,430/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in North Dakota: 730 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 0.67x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 0.2% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Paralegal Schools in North Dakota

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
176.6Contact school for pricing$65,276Not reportedYes*60 mi
274.5Contact school for pricing$59,377Not reportedYes*236 mi
370.8Contact school for pricing$59,996Not reportedYes*147 mi
468.7Contact school for pricing$49,85948%Yes*275 mi
564.5$5,908 - $17,194$54,58147%Yes*192 mi
663.7Contact school for pricing$58,69144%Yes*297 mi
759.9Contact school for pricing$59,99653%Yes*296 mi
851.7Contact school for pricing$55,035Not reportedYes*341 mi
945.6$4,632 - $14,309$34,92328%Yes*61 mi
1033.2$2,250 - $10,164$31,07316%254 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

North Dakota employs approximately 730 paralegals according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $59,430 1. Nationally, paralegal employment is projected to grow 0.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 39,300 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Paralegal in North Dakota, including certification options, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school or community college
  • Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
  • Median wage (North Dakota): $59,430 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Paralegal in North Dakota

How to become a Paralegal in North Dakota? North Dakota does not require a state license for paralegals, but employers typically expect industry certifications such as CP (Certified Paralegal) and AAfPE Certificate. Complete a training program to prepare.

How long does it take? paralegal training length in North Dakota varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.

Do I need a license in North Dakota? No state license is required, but certifications such as CP (Certified Paralegal) and AAfPE Certificate are expected by most employers.

What do paralegals earn in North Dakota? The median annual wage for paralegals in North Dakota is $59,430 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $45,300 and experienced professionals can earn $78,430 or more 1.

How to Become a Paralegal in North Dakota

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most North Dakota training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved paralegal program in North Dakota that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Earn an industry certification. While North Dakota does not require a statewide license, earn CP (Certified Paralegal) to meet employer expectations and improve hiring prospects.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Paralegal Certification Options in North Dakota

North Dakota does not require a state license to work as a paralegal. However, industry certifications can strengthen your resume and may be required by employers.

Common certifications for paralegals include:

  • CP (Certified Paralegal)
  • AAfPE Certificate

For more information, visit the NALA - Paralegal Association 3. Contact training programs in North Dakota for details on certification preparation courses.

Paralegal Wages by Metro Area in North Dakota

Paralegals and Legal Assistants Wages by Metro Area in North Dakota

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), paralegals and legal assistants wages in North Dakota vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Fargo310$57,550$58,610$45,300$79,980
Bismarck160$60,110$60,360$49,750$77,770
Grand Forks110$49,290$52,860$40,010$74,880
Minot70$59,430$57,080$37,490$77,930

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for paralegals in North Dakota? North Dakota currently employs approximately 730 paralegals 1. Nationally, paralegal employment is projected to grow 0.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in North Dakota? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in North Dakota.

How much do paralegals earn in North Dakota compared to the national average? The median annual wage for paralegals in North Dakota is $59,430, which is $1,580 below the national median of $61,010 according to BLS data 1.

In North Dakota

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in North Dakota

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. NALA - Paralegal Association: https://www.nala.org/ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)