How to Become a Paralegal in Ohio (2026)
Ohio employs about 9,270 paralegals earning a median $60,420 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). No statewide license is required; most paralegals train through a certificate program and earn an industry certification before employers will hire them.
Compare Paralegal Schools in Ohio
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Columbus State Community College | 56.1 | $5,488 in-state / $11,224 out-of-state | $52,681 | 28% | Yes* | 70 mi |
| 2 | Zane State College | 51.7 | $6,006 in-state / $11,766 out-of-state | $41,949 | 46% | Yes* | 69 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Owens Community College | 49.9 | $5,870 in-state / $10,502 out-of-state | $55,401 | 35% | Yes* | 76 mi |
| 4 | Cuyahoga Community College District | 47.6 | $3,249 in-state / $7,249 out-of-state | $49,698 | 31% | Yes* | 57 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Stark State College | 46.3 | $4,790 in-state / $7,886 out-of-state | $49,440 | 23% | Yes* | 53 mi |
| 6 | Stautzenberger College-Brecksville | 40.5 | $16,699 | $37,799 | 59% | Yes* | 50 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Herzing University-Akron | 34.4 | $13,450 | $58,575 | 19% | Yes* | 51 mi |
| 8 | Bryant & Stratton College-Parma | 18.5 | $19,580 | $43,374 | 19% | — | 49 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Lakewood University | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 64 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Ohio employs approximately 9,270 paralegals according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $60,420 1. Nationally, paralegal employment is projected to grow 0.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 39,300 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Paralegal in Ohio, including certification options, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Ohio): $60,420 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Paralegal in Ohio
How to become a Paralegal in Ohio? Ohio does not require a state license for paralegals, but employers typically expect industry certifications such as CP (Certified Paralegal) and AAfPE Certificate. Complete a training program to prepare.
How long does it take? paralegal training length in Ohio varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
Do I need a license in Ohio? No state license is required, but certifications such as CP (Certified Paralegal) and AAfPE Certificate are expected by most employers.
What do paralegals earn in Ohio? The median annual wage for paralegals in Ohio is $60,420 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $41,720 and experienced professionals can earn $94,660 or more 1.
How to Become a Paralegal in Ohio
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Ohio training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved paralegal program in Ohio that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Earn an industry certification. While Ohio does not require a statewide license, earn CP (Certified Paralegal) to meet employer expectations and improve hiring prospects.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Paralegal Certification Options in Ohio
Ohio does not require a state license to work as a paralegal. However, industry certifications can strengthen your resume and may be required by employers.
Common certifications for paralegals include:
- CP (Certified Paralegal)
- AAfPE Certificate
For more information, visit the NALA - Paralegal Association 3. Contact training programs in Ohio for details on certification preparation courses.
Paralegal Wages by Metro Area in Ohio
Paralegals and Legal Assistants Wages by Metro Area in Ohio
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), paralegals and legal assistants wages in Ohio vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cleveland | 2,960 | $60,960 | $63,580 | $43,410 | $94,540 |
| Columbus | 2,260 | $60,430 | $67,380 | $47,090 | $98,030 |
| Cincinnati | 1,700 | $64,330 | $68,640 | $47,680 | $94,970 |
| Dayton-Kettering-Beavercreek | 470 | $58,680 | $62,530 | $40,490 | $94,580 |
| Akron | 410 | $60,290 | $63,310 | $43,000 | $86,420 |
| Toledo | 340 | $59,960 | $63,190 | $34,290 | $94,660 |
| Huntington-Ashland | 240 | $51,880 | $58,620 | $34,170 | $107,310 |
| Canton-Massillon | 210 | $57,730 | $57,220 | $37,150 | $77,320 |
| Youngstown-Warren | 160 | $47,040 | $49,230 | $36,550 | $59,950 |
| Wheeling | 110 | $51,150 | $58,410 | $36,550 | $102,950 |
| Sandusky | 50 | $48,350 | $55,290 | $39,490 | $71,540 |
| Springfield | 40 | $47,680 | $52,270 | $36,660 | $74,210 |
| Lima | 30 | $48,140 | $51,630 | $38,160 | $68,190 |
| Mansfield | 30 | $47,150 | $54,110 | $36,260 | $72,910 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for paralegals in Ohio? Ohio currently employs approximately 9,270 paralegals 1. Nationally, paralegal employment is projected to grow 0.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Ohio? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Ohio.
How much do paralegals earn in Ohio compared to the national average? The median annual wage for paralegals in Ohio is $60,420, which is $590 below the national median of $61,010 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Ohio
Top local programs
- Best Paralegal Programs in Ohio (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Akron, Ohio (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Alliance, Ohio (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Amherst, Ohio (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Ashland, Ohio (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Ashtabula, Ohio (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Athens, Ohio (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Aurora, Ohio (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Avon Lake, Ohio (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Avon, Ohio (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Barberton, Ohio (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Bay Village, Ohio (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Ohio (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Ohio
- Best HVAC Schools in Ohio (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Ohio
- Best Plumbing Schools in Ohio (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Ohio
Explore More Trades in Ohio
- Electrician in Ohio
- Plumber in Ohio
- HVAC Technician in Ohio
- Welder in Ohio
- Carpenter in Ohio
- Solar Installation Technician in Ohio
- Auto Mechanic in Ohio
- CNC Machinist in Ohio
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Ohio
- Medical Assistant in Ohio
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
NALA - Paralegal Association: https://www.nala.org/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |