How to Become a Paralegal in Oklahoma (2026)
Oklahoma employs about 3,110 paralegals earning a median $53,170 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). No statewide license is required; most paralegals train through a certificate program and earn an industry certification before employers will hire them.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Oklahoma): $53,170/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Oklahoma: 3,110 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.72x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 0.2% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Paralegal Schools in Oklahoma
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Tulsa Technology Center | 68.6 | Contact school for pricing | $42,754 | 77% | — | 60 mi |
| 2 | Indian Capital Technology Center-Muskogee | 68.1 | Contact school for pricing | $36,725 | 98% | — | 92 mi |
| 3 | Moore Norman Technology Center | 65.2 | Contact school for pricing | $42,499 | 86% | — | 47 mi |
| 4 | University of Arkansas-Fort Smith | 63.8 | Contact school for pricing | $49,998 | 37% | Yes* | 148 mi |
| 5 | Northwest Technology Center-Alva | 59.4 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 81% | — | 117 mi |
| 6 | Community Care College | 52.8 | Contact school for pricing | $31,820 | 73% | Yes* | 62 mi |
| 7 | Tulsa Community College | 48.7 | Contact school for pricing | $50,755 | 28% | Yes* | 58 mi |
| 8 | Metro Technology Centers | 45.5 | Contact school for pricing | $47,829 | 36% | — | 37 mi |
| 9 | Oklahoma City Community College | 41.2 | $4,059 - $11,439 | $51,737 | 24% | Yes* | 46 mi |
| 10 | Francis Tuttle Technology Center | 39.8 | Contact school for pricing | $36,657 | Not reported | — | 41 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Oklahoma employs approximately 3,110 paralegals according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $53,170 1. Nationally, paralegal employment is projected to grow 0.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 39,300 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Paralegal in Oklahoma, including certification options, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Oklahoma): $53,170 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Paralegal in Oklahoma
How to become a Paralegal in Oklahoma? Oklahoma does not require a state license for paralegals, but employers typically expect industry certifications such as CP (Certified Paralegal) and AAfPE Certificate. Complete a training program to prepare.
How long does it take? paralegal training length in Oklahoma varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
Do I need a license in Oklahoma? No state license is required, but certifications such as CP (Certified Paralegal) and AAfPE Certificate are expected by most employers.
What do paralegals earn in Oklahoma? The median annual wage for paralegals in Oklahoma is $53,170 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $36,020 and experienced professionals can earn $82,060 or more 1.
How to Become a Paralegal in Oklahoma
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Oklahoma training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved paralegal program in Oklahoma that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Earn an industry certification. While Oklahoma does not require a statewide license, earn CP (Certified Paralegal) to meet employer expectations and improve hiring prospects.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Paralegal Certification Options in Oklahoma
Oklahoma does not require a state license to work as a paralegal. However, industry certifications can strengthen your resume and may be required by employers.
Common certifications for paralegals include:
- CP (Certified Paralegal)
- AAfPE Certificate
For more information, visit the NALA - Paralegal Association 3. Contact training programs in Oklahoma for details on certification preparation courses.
Paralegal Wages by Metro Area in Oklahoma
Paralegals and Legal Assistants Wages by Metro Area in Oklahoma
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), paralegals and legal assistants wages in Oklahoma vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oklahoma City | 1,650 | $57,550 | $57,450 | $37,340 | $83,590 |
| Tulsa | 980 | $50,740 | $54,320 | $36,020 | $79,440 |
| Fort Smith | 120 | $46,620 | $56,890 | $36,930 | $74,990 |
| Enid | 40 | $45,460 | $43,380 | $29,290 | $59,210 |
| Lawton | 40 | $49,940 | $55,840 | $35,390 | $79,010 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for paralegals in Oklahoma? Oklahoma currently employs approximately 3,110 paralegals 1. Nationally, paralegal employment is projected to grow 0.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Oklahoma? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Oklahoma.
How much do paralegals earn in Oklahoma compared to the national average? The median annual wage for paralegals in Oklahoma is $53,170, which is $7,840 below the national median of $61,010 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Oklahoma
Top local programs
- Best Paralegal Programs in Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Ada, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Altus, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Ardmore, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Bartlesville, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Bethany, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Bixby, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Broken Arrow, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Chickasha, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Choctaw, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Claremore, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Del City, Oklahoma (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Oklahoma
- Best HVAC Schools in Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Oklahoma
- Best Plumbing Schools in Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Oklahoma
Explore More Trades in Oklahoma
- Electrician in Oklahoma
- Plumber in Oklahoma
- HVAC Technician in Oklahoma
- Welder in Oklahoma
- Carpenter in Oklahoma
- Solar Installation Technician in Oklahoma
- Auto Mechanic in Oklahoma
- CNC Machinist in Oklahoma
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Oklahoma
- Medical Assistant in Oklahoma
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
NALA - Paralegal Association: https://www.nala.org/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |