How to Become a Paralegal in South Carolina (2026)
South Carolina employs about 7,420 paralegals earning a median $53,880 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). No statewide license is required; most paralegals train through a certificate program and earn an industry certification before employers will hire them.
Key Facts
- Median wage (South Carolina): $53,880/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in South Carolina: 7,420 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.27x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 0.2% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Paralegal Schools in South Carolina
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Central Piedmont Community College | 52.6 | Contact school for pricing | $48,441 | Not reported | Yes* | 103 mi |
| 2 | Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College | 51.5 | Contact school for pricing | $53,084 | 37% | Yes* | 14 mi |
| 3 | Gaston College | 51.1 | $3,186 - $16,866 | Not reported | 59% | Yes* | 112 mi |
| 4 | Trident Technical College | 50.6 | Contact school for pricing | $58,783 | Not reported | Yes* | 69 mi |
| 5 | Horry-Georgetown Technical College | 50.3 | Contact school for pricing | $46,000 | 32% | Yes* | 100 mi |
| 6 | Augusta Technical College | 45.4 | Contact school for pricing | $43,469 | 31% | Yes* | 78 mi |
| 7 | South Piedmont Community College | 45.0 | Contact school for pricing | $46,657 | 37% | Yes* | 93 mi |
| 8 | Central Carolina Technical College | 43.9 | Contact school for pricing | $45,876 | Not reported | Yes* | 26 mi |
| 9 | Midlands Technical College | 41.9 | Contact school for pricing | $46,832 | 17% | Yes* | 26 mi |
| 10 | York Technical College | 40.4 | Contact school for pricing | $47,738 | Not reported | — | 84 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
South Carolina employs approximately 7,420 paralegals according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $53,880 1. The state’s concentration of paralegal jobs is 1.27x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, paralegal employment is projected to grow 0.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 39,300 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Paralegal in South Carolina, including certification options, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (South Carolina): $53,880 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Paralegal in South Carolina
How to become a Paralegal in South Carolina? South Carolina does not require a state license for paralegals, but employers typically expect industry certifications such as CP (Certified Paralegal) and AAfPE Certificate. Complete a training program to prepare.
How long does it take? paralegal training length in South Carolina varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
Do I need a license in South Carolina? No state license is required, but certifications such as CP (Certified Paralegal) and AAfPE Certificate are expected by most employers.
What do paralegals earn in South Carolina? The median annual wage for paralegals in South Carolina is $53,880 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $38,020 and experienced professionals can earn $75,640 or more 1.
How to Become a Paralegal in South Carolina
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most South Carolina training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved paralegal program in South Carolina that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Earn an industry certification. While South Carolina does not require a statewide license, earn CP (Certified Paralegal) to meet employer expectations and improve hiring prospects.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Paralegal Certification Options in South Carolina
South Carolina does not require a state license to work as a paralegal. However, industry certifications can strengthen your resume and may be required by employers.
Common certifications for paralegals include:
- CP (Certified Paralegal)
- AAfPE Certificate
For more information, visit the NALA - Paralegal Association 3. Contact training programs in South Carolina for details on certification preparation courses.
Paralegal Wages by Metro Area in South Carolina
Paralegals and Legal Assistants Wages by Metro Area in South Carolina
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), paralegals and legal assistants wages in South Carolina vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia | 4,140 | $59,870 | $66,200 | $43,160 | $99,530 |
| Columbia | 1,790 | $57,220 | $56,930 | $39,490 | $75,900 |
| Greenville-Anderson-Greer | 1,600 | $57,780 | $56,900 | $39,060 | $76,180 |
| Charleston-North Charleston | 1,490 | $57,030 | $58,570 | $40,330 | $79,920 |
| Myrtle Beach-Conway-North Myrtle Beach | 500 | $49,300 | $51,910 | $36,900 | $63,130 |
| Augusta-Richmond County | 420 | $51,560 | $58,900 | $40,130 | $81,330 |
| Hilton Head Island-Bluffton-Port Royal | 300 | $53,930 | $57,070 | $44,470 | $77,590 |
| Spartanburg | 280 | $55,000 | $55,890 | $38,980 | $74,890 |
| Florence | 210 | $48,230 | $51,340 | $36,260 | $71,560 |
| Sumter | 90 | $46,750 | $50,570 | $37,540 | $67,200 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for paralegals in South Carolina? South Carolina currently employs approximately 7,420 paralegals 1. Nationally, paralegal employment is projected to grow 0.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in South Carolina? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in South Carolina.
How much do paralegals earn in South Carolina compared to the national average? The median annual wage for paralegals in South Carolina is $53,880, which is $7,130 below the national median of $61,010 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In South Carolina
Top local programs
- Best Paralegal Programs in South Carolina (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Aiken, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Anderson, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Beaufort, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Bennettsville, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Bluffton, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Camden, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Cayce, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Charleston, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Clemson, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Clinton, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Columbia, South Carolina (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in South Carolina (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in South Carolina
- Best HVAC Schools in South Carolina (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in South Carolina
- Best Plumbing Schools in South Carolina (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in South Carolina
Explore More Trades in South Carolina
- Electrician in South Carolina
- Plumber in South Carolina
- HVAC Technician in South Carolina
- Welder in South Carolina
- Carpenter in South Carolina
- Solar Installation Technician in South Carolina
- Auto Mechanic in South Carolina
- CNC Machinist in South Carolina
- Certified Nursing Assistant in South Carolina
- Medical Assistant in South Carolina
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
NALA - Paralegal Association: https://www.nala.org/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |