How to Become a Paralegal in South Dakota (2026)
South Dakota employs about 600 paralegals earning a median $58,320 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). No statewide license is required; most paralegals train through a certificate program and earn an industry certification before employers will hire them.
Key Facts
- Median wage (South Dakota): $58,320/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in South Dakota: 600 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.52x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 0.2% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Paralegal Schools in South Dakota
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bismarck State College | 76.6 | Contact school for pricing | $65,276 | Not reported | Yes* | 203 mi |
| 2 | Alexandria Technical & Community College | 74.5 | Contact school for pricing | $59,377 | Not reported | Yes* | 229 mi |
| 3 | Rasmussen University-North Dakota | 70.8 | Contact school for pricing | $59,996 | Not reported | Yes* | 229 mi |
| 4 | Ridgewater College | 68.7 | Contact school for pricing | $49,859 | 48% | Yes* | 221 mi |
| 5 | Minnesota State Community and Technical College | 64.5 | $5,908 - $17,194 | $54,581 | 47% | Yes* | 219 mi |
| 6 | Iowa Lakes Community College | 59.8 | Contact school for pricing | $47,158 | Not reported | Yes* | 228 mi |
| 7 | Western Iowa Tech Community College | 57.6 | Contact school for pricing | $47,713 | 44% | Yes* | 186 mi |
| 8 | Metropolitan Community College Area | 46.7 | Contact school for pricing | $53,376 | 27% | Yes* | 260 mi |
| 9 | United Tribes Technical College | 45.6 | $4,632 - $14,309 | $34,923 | 28% | Yes* | 198 mi |
| 10 | Sinte Gleska University | 30.0 | Contact school for pricing | $51,797 | 6% | Yes* | 85 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
South Dakota employs approximately 600 paralegals according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $58,320 1. Nationally, paralegal employment is projected to grow 0.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 39,300 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Paralegal in South Dakota, including certification options, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (South Dakota): $58,320 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Paralegal in South Dakota
How to become a Paralegal in South Dakota? South Dakota does not require a state license for paralegals, but employers typically expect industry certifications such as CP (Certified Paralegal) and AAfPE Certificate. Complete a training program to prepare.
How long does it take? paralegal training length in South Dakota varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
Do I need a license in South Dakota? No state license is required, but certifications such as CP (Certified Paralegal) and AAfPE Certificate are expected by most employers.
What do paralegals earn in South Dakota? The median annual wage for paralegals in South Dakota is $58,320 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $48,890 and experienced professionals can earn $84,090 or more 1.
How to Become a Paralegal in South Dakota
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most South Dakota training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved paralegal program in South Dakota that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Earn an industry certification. While South Dakota does not require a statewide license, earn CP (Certified Paralegal) to meet employer expectations and improve hiring prospects.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Paralegal Certification Options in South Dakota
South Dakota does not require a state license to work as a paralegal. However, industry certifications can strengthen your resume and may be required by employers.
Common certifications for paralegals include:
- CP (Certified Paralegal)
- AAfPE Certificate
For more information, visit the NALA - Paralegal Association 3. Contact training programs in South Dakota for details on certification preparation courses.
Paralegal Wages by Metro Area in South Dakota
Paralegals and Legal Assistants Wages by Metro Area in South Dakota
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), paralegals and legal assistants wages in South Dakota vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sioux Falls | 260 | $60,060 | $64,370 | $48,890 | $87,460 |
| Rapid City | 150 | $56,720 | $58,380 | $48,040 | $73,320 |
| Sioux City | 80 | $56,100 | $57,120 | $37,740 | $77,110 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for paralegals in South Dakota? South Dakota currently employs approximately 600 paralegals 1. Nationally, paralegal employment is projected to grow 0.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in South Dakota? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in South Dakota.
How much do paralegals earn in South Dakota compared to the national average? The median annual wage for paralegals in South Dakota is $58,320, which is $2,690 below the national median of $61,010 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In South Dakota
Top local programs
- Best Paralegal Programs in South Dakota (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Aberdeen, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Brookings, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Huron, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Mitchell, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Pierre, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Rapid City, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Sioux Falls, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Spearfish, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Vermillion, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Watertown, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Yankton, South Dakota (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in South Dakota (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in South Dakota
- Best HVAC Schools in South Dakota (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in South Dakota
- Best Plumbing Schools in South Dakota (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in South Dakota
Explore More Trades in South Dakota
- Electrician in South Dakota
- Plumber in South Dakota
- HVAC Technician in South Dakota
- Welder in South Dakota
- Carpenter in South Dakota
- Solar Installation Technician in South Dakota
- Auto Mechanic in South Dakota
- CNC Machinist in South Dakota
- Certified Nursing Assistant in South Dakota
- Medical Assistant in South Dakota
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
NALA - Paralegal Association: https://www.nala.org/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |