How to Become a Paralegal in Vermont (2026)
Vermont employs about 660 paralegals earning a median $67,160 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). No statewide license is required; most paralegals train through a certificate program and earn an industry certification before employers will hire them.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Vermont): $67,160/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Vermont: 660 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.86x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 0.2% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Paralegal Schools in Vermont
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Middlesex Community College | 62.1 | Contact school for pricing | $56,301 | 23% | Yes* | 142 mi |
| 2 | NHTI-Concord's Community College | 56.4 | Contact school for pricing | $55,056 | Not reported | Yes* | 95 mi |
| 3 | Mount Wachusett Community College | 53.3 | Contact school for pricing | $53,977 | 27% | Yes* | 122 mi |
| 4 | Northern Essex Community College | 52.4 | Contact school for pricing | $52,743 | 20% | Yes* | 133 mi |
| 5 | Nashua Community College | 49.0 | Contact school for pricing | $54,792 | Not reported | Yes* | 119 mi |
| 6 | Herkimer County Community College | 44.5 | Contact school for pricing | $40,716 | Not reported | Yes* | 140 mi |
| 7 | Holyoke Community College | 43.9 | Contact school for pricing | $46,724 | 31% | Yes* | 142 mi |
| 8 | Schenectady County Community College | 43.1 | Contact school for pricing | $44,040 | 31% | Yes* | 115 mi |
| 9 | Bryant & Stratton College-Albany | 42.7 | Contact school for pricing | $43,374 | 25% | — | 119 mi |
| 10 | Mildred Elley School-Albany Campus | 37.0 | Contact school for pricing | $44,844 | 32% | Yes* | 120 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Vermont employs approximately 660 paralegals according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $67,160 1. Nationally, paralegal employment is projected to grow 0.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 39,300 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Paralegal in Vermont, including certification options, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Vermont): $67,160 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Paralegal in Vermont
How to become a Paralegal in Vermont? Vermont does not require a state license for paralegals, but employers typically expect industry certifications such as CP (Certified Paralegal) and AAfPE Certificate. Complete a training program to prepare.
How long does it take? paralegal training length in Vermont varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
Do I need a license in Vermont? No state license is required, but certifications such as CP (Certified Paralegal) and AAfPE Certificate are expected by most employers.
What do paralegals earn in Vermont? The median annual wage for paralegals in Vermont is $67,160 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $48,650 and experienced professionals can earn $87,390 or more 1.
How to Become a Paralegal in Vermont
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Vermont training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved paralegal program in Vermont that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Earn an industry certification. While Vermont does not require a statewide license, earn CP (Certified Paralegal) to meet employer expectations and improve hiring prospects.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Paralegal Certification Options in Vermont
Vermont does not require a state license to work as a paralegal. However, industry certifications can strengthen your resume and may be required by employers.
Common certifications for paralegals include:
- CP (Certified Paralegal)
- AAfPE Certificate
For more information, visit the NALA - Paralegal Association 3. Contact training programs in Vermont for details on certification preparation courses.
Paralegal Wages by Metro Area in Vermont
Paralegals and Legal Assistants Wages by Metro Area in Vermont
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), paralegals and legal assistants wages in Vermont vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Burlington-South Burlington | 300 | $71,160 | $69,730 | $51,310 | $85,490 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for paralegals in Vermont? Vermont currently employs approximately 660 paralegals 1. Nationally, paralegal employment is projected to grow 0.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Vermont? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Vermont.
How much do paralegals earn in Vermont compared to the national average? The median annual wage for paralegals in Vermont is $67,160, which is $6,150 above the national median of $61,010 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Vermont
Top local programs
- Best Paralegal Programs in Rutland, Vermont (2026)
- Best Paralegal Programs in South Burlington, Vermont (2026)
- Best Paralegal Programs in Vermont (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Barre, Vermont (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Burlington, Vermont (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Essex Junction, Vermont (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Vermont (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Vermont
- Best HVAC Schools in Vermont (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Vermont
- Best Plumbing Schools in Vermont (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Vermont
Explore More Trades in Vermont
- Electrician in Vermont
- Plumber in Vermont
- HVAC Technician in Vermont
- Welder in Vermont
- Carpenter in Vermont
- Solar Installation Technician in Vermont
- Auto Mechanic in Vermont
- CNC Machinist in Vermont
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Vermont
- Medical Assistant in Vermont
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
NALA - Paralegal Association: https://www.nala.org/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |