How to Become a Paralegal in Wyoming (2026)
Wyoming employs about 600 paralegals earning a median $49,490 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). No statewide license is required; most paralegals train through a certificate program and earn an industry certification before employers will hire them.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Wyoming): $49,490/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Wyoming: 600 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.84x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 0.2% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Paralegal Schools in Wyoming
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Laramie County Community College | 67.1 | Contact school for pricing | $49,818 | Not reported | Yes* | 135 mi |
| 2 | Casper College | 62.5 | Contact school for pricing | $46,963 | Not reported | Yes* | 38 mi |
| 3 | Front Range Community College | 61.3 | Contact school for pricing | $50,353 | 32% | Yes* | 194 mi |
| 4 | Arapahoe Community College | 57.3 | Contact school for pricing | $57,589 | Not reported | Yes* | 212 mi |
| 5 | Ensign College | 52.6 | Contact school for pricing | $58,554 | 38% | Yes* | 288 mi |
| 6 | Colorado Mountain College | 52.3 | $2,616 - $14,799 | $55,406 | 27% | Yes* | 198 mi |
| 7 | Pikes Peak State College | 50.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,538 | 22% | Yes* | 271 mi |
| 8 | Community College of Aurora | 47.0 | $4,470 - $17,275 | $51,722 | 31% | Yes* | 211 mi |
| 9 | IBMC College | 37.9 | Contact school for pricing | $38,488 | 74% | — | 155 mi |
| 10 | Community College of Denver | 37.0 | $4,902 - $19,550 | $53,984 | 18% | Yes* | 204 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Wyoming employs approximately 600 paralegals according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $49,490 1. Nationally, paralegal employment is projected to grow 0.2% from 2024 to 2034, with about 39,300 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Paralegal in Wyoming, including certification options, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Wyoming): $49,490 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Paralegal in Wyoming
How to become a Paralegal in Wyoming? Wyoming does not require a state license for paralegals, but employers typically expect industry certifications such as CP (Certified Paralegal) and AAfPE Certificate. Complete a training program to prepare.
How long does it take? paralegal training length in Wyoming varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
Do I need a license in Wyoming? No state license is required, but certifications such as CP (Certified Paralegal) and AAfPE Certificate are expected by most employers.
What do paralegals earn in Wyoming? The median annual wage for paralegals in Wyoming is $49,490 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $35,890 and experienced professionals can earn $64,780 or more 1.
How to Become a Paralegal in Wyoming
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Wyoming training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved paralegal program in Wyoming that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Earn an industry certification. While Wyoming does not require a statewide license, earn CP (Certified Paralegal) to meet employer expectations and improve hiring prospects.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Paralegal Certification Options in Wyoming
Wyoming does not require a state license to work as a paralegal. However, industry certifications can strengthen your resume and may be required by employers.
Common certifications for paralegals include:
- CP (Certified Paralegal)
- AAfPE Certificate
For more information, visit the NALA - Paralegal Association 3. Contact training programs in Wyoming for details on certification preparation courses.
Paralegal Wages by Metro Area in Wyoming
Paralegals and Legal Assistants Wages by Metro Area in Wyoming
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), paralegals and legal assistants wages in Wyoming vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand Rapids-Wyoming-Kentwood | 870 | $62,370 | $68,090 | $46,800 | $94,570 |
| Cheyenne | 250 | $48,260 | $48,600 | $35,850 | $63,130 |
| Casper | 80 | $49,360 | $54,510 | $35,800 | $76,630 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for paralegals in Wyoming? Wyoming currently employs approximately 600 paralegals 1. Nationally, paralegal employment is projected to grow 0.2% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Wyoming? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Wyoming.
How much do paralegals earn in Wyoming compared to the national average? The median annual wage for paralegals in Wyoming is $49,490, which is $11,520 below the national median of $61,010 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Wyoming
Top local programs
- Best Paralegal Programs in Wyoming (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Casper, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Cheyenne, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Evanston, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Gillette, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Green River, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Jackson, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Laramie, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Riverton, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Rock Springs, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Paralegal Schools in Sheridan, Wyoming (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Wyoming (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Wyoming
- Best HVAC Schools in Wyoming (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Wyoming
- Best Plumbing Schools in Wyoming (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Wyoming
Explore More Trades in Wyoming
- Electrician in Wyoming
- Plumber in Wyoming
- HVAC Technician in Wyoming
- Welder in Wyoming
- Carpenter in Wyoming
- Solar Installation Technician in Wyoming
- Auto Mechanic in Wyoming
- CNC Machinist in Wyoming
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Wyoming
- Medical Assistant in Wyoming
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
NALA - Paralegal Association: https://www.nala.org/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |