How to Become a Pastry Chef in Idaho (2026)
Idaho employs about 2,230 pastry chefs earning a median $34,060 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Bakers”). Most pastry chefs train through an approved program before entering the field in Idaho.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Idaho): $34,060/yr (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Bakers), 2025)
- Employed in Idaho: 2,230 workers (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Bakers), 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.71x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 5.6% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Pastry Chef Schools in Idaho
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bridgerland Technical College | 73.8 | Contact school for pricing | $42,070 | Not reported | Yes* | 228 mi |
| 2 | Walla Walla Community College | 70.4 | Contact school for pricing | $56,719 | 43% | Yes* | 214 mi |
| 3 | Spokane Community College | 68.4 | Contact school for pricing | $52,567 | 35% | Yes* | 265 mi |
| 4 | College of Southern Idaho | 68.2 | Contact school for pricing | $46,129 | 34% | Yes* | 122 mi |
| 5 | Ogden-Weber Technical College | 63.7 | Contact school for pricing | $47,224 | 54% | Yes* | 252 mi |
| 6 | Mountainland Technical College | 59.3 | Contact school for pricing | $39,284 | 81% | — | 305 mi |
| 7 | Flathead Valley Community College | 54.5 | $4,912 - $14,882 | $47,642 | 28% | Yes* | 269 mi |
| 8 | Salt Lake Community College | 51.6 | Contact school for pricing | $55,279 | 29% | Yes* | 288 mi |
| 9 | Davis Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $47,706 | Not reported | — | 267 mi |
| 10 | North Idaho College | 46.4 | Contact school for pricing | $50,312 | 37% | Yes* | 253 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Idaho employs approximately 2,230 workers in the related “Bakers” category (SOC 51-3011), with a median annual wage of $34,060 1. The state’s concentration of jobs in this category is 1.71x the national average, indicating strong regional demand. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 39,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Pastry Chef in Idaho, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track pastry chef salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Bakers (SOC 51-3011). Actual pastry chef earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Idaho): $34,060 per year (based on related “Bakers” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Pastry Chef in Idaho
How to become a Pastry Chef in Idaho? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for pastry chefs in Idaho.
How long does it take? pastry chef training length in Idaho varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
What do pastry chefs earn in Idaho? The BLS does not track pastry chef wages separately. Based on the related “Bakers” category, the median annual wage in Idaho is $34,060, with entry-level wages around $21,100 and experienced workers earning $46,110 or more 1.
How to Become a Pastry Chef in Idaho
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Idaho training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved pastry chef program in Idaho that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to pastry chefs in Idaho before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Pastry Chef Wages by Metro Area in Idaho
Chefs and Head Cooks Wages by Metro Area in Idaho
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), chefs and head cooks wages in Idaho vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Boise City | 4,900 | $37,439 | $38,572 | $26,579 | $50,037 |
| Coeur d'Alene | 1,340 | $39,578 | $40,610 | $28,035 | $51,439 |
| Idaho Falls | 890 | $35,636 | $35,492 | $23,867 | $46,959 |
| Twin Falls | 650 | $33,838 | $34,300 | $24,102 | $44,712 |
| Logan | 610 | $34,198 | $34,866 | $26,172 | $45,081 |
| Pocatello | 400 | $34,334 | $34,248 | $24,594 | $44,502 |
| Lewiston | 270 | $36,084 | $36,839 | $27,118 | $45,600 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for pastry chefs in Idaho? Idaho employs approximately 2,230 workers in the related “Bakers” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Idaho? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Idaho.
How much do pastry chefs earn in Idaho compared to the national average? The median annual wage for pastry chefs in Idaho is $34,060 (based on the related “Bakers” category), which is $2,590 below the national median of $36,650 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Idaho
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Idaho (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Idaho
- Best HVAC Schools in Idaho (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Idaho
- Best Plumbing Schools in Idaho (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Idaho
Explore More Trades in Idaho
- Electrician in Idaho
- Plumber in Idaho
- HVAC Technician in Idaho
- Welder in Idaho
- Carpenter in Idaho
- Solar Installation Technician in Idaho
- Auto Mechanic in Idaho
- CNC Machinist in Idaho
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Idaho
- Medical Assistant in Idaho
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |