How to Become a Pastry Chef in Iowa (2026)
Iowa employs about 2,150 pastry chefs earning a median $37,210 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Bakers”). Most pastry chefs train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Iowa.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Iowa): $37,210/yr (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Bakers), 2025)
- Employed in Iowa: 2,150 workers (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Bakers), 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.91x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 5.6% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Pastry Chef Schools in Iowa
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Southwest Wisconsin Technical College | 65.2 | Contact school for pricing | $50,757 | 60% | Yes* | 139 mi |
| 2 | South Central College | 60.0 | Contact school for pricing | $52,003 | 34% | Yes* | 128 mi |
| 3 | Marshalltown Community College | 59.9 | Contact school for pricing | $52,110 | Not reported | Yes* | 34 mi |
| 4 | Western Iowa Tech Community College | 57.6 | Contact school for pricing | $47,713 | 44% | Yes* | 157 mi |
| 5 | Kirkwood Community College | 56.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,663 | Not reported | Yes* | 90 mi |
| 6 | Western Technical College | 56.2 | Contact school for pricing | $53,114 | 36% | Yes* | 141 mi |
| 7 | Indian Hills Community College | 56.1 | Contact school for pricing | $50,322 | Not reported | Yes* | 105 mi |
| 8 | Iowa Central Community College | 54.0 | Contact school for pricing | $46,682 | Not reported | Yes* | 48 mi |
| 9 | Des Moines Area Community College | 50.0 | Contact school for pricing | $51,817 | 37% | Yes* | 52 mi |
| 10 | Iowa Western Community College | 48.3 | Contact school for pricing | $51,139 | Not reported | Yes* | 152 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Iowa employs approximately 2,150 workers in the related “Bakers” category (SOC 51-3011), with a median annual wage of $37,210 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 39,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a pastry chef in Iowa, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track pastry chef salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Bakers (SOC 51-3011). Actual pastry chef earnings may vary.
Pastry Chef Wages by Metro Area in Iowa
Chefs and Head Cooks Wages by Metro Area in Iowa
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), chefs and head cooks wages in Iowa vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Des Moines-West Des Moines | 4,480 | $37,876 | $39,244 | $30,167 | $49,001 |
| Omaha | 3,750 | $39,773 | $40,913 | $30,872 | $50,619 |
| Davenport-Moline-Rock Island | 1,990 | $36,530 | $37,452 | $30,319 | $46,698 |
| Cedar Rapids | 1,410 | $36,930 | $37,604 | $29,211 | $48,603 |
| Iowa City | 1,370 | $37,545 | $38,188 | $29,458 | $47,863 |
| Waterloo-Cedar Falls | 850 | $35,285 | $36,152 | $28,316 | $46,173 |
| Sioux City | 760 | $36,503 | $37,327 | $28,841 | $48,242 |
| Ames | 720 | $37,670 | $38,663 | $29,072 | $51,627 |
| Dubuque | 620 | $37,959 | $38,477 | $28,649 | $48,444 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Iowa): $37,210 per year (based on related “Bakers” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Pastry Chef in Iowa
How to become a pastry chef in Iowa? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for pastry chefs in Iowa.
How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do pastry chefs earn in Iowa? The BLS does not track pastry chef wages separately. Based on the related “Bakers” category, the median annual wage in Iowa is $37,210, with entry-level wages around $22,920 and experienced workers earning $49,610 or more 1.
How to Become a Pastry Chef in Iowa
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Iowa training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Iowa that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to pastry chefs in Iowa before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for pastry chefs in Iowa? Iowa employs approximately 2,150 workers in the related “Bakers” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Iowa? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Iowa.
How much do pastry chefs earn in Iowa compared to the national average? The median annual wage for pastry chefs in Iowa is $37,210 (based on the related “Bakers” category), which is $560 above the national median of $36,650 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Iowa
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Iowa
- Best HVAC Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Iowa
- Best Plumbing Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Iowa
Explore More Trades in Iowa
- Electrician in Iowa
- Plumber in Iowa
- HVAC Technician in Iowa
- Welder in Iowa
- Carpenter in Iowa
- Solar Installation Technician in Iowa
- Auto Mechanic in Iowa
- CNC Machinist in Iowa
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Iowa
- Medical Assistant in Iowa
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |