How to Become a Pastry Chef in Mississippi (2026)

Mississippi employs about 1,300 pastry chefs earning a median $28,920 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Bakers”). Most pastry chefs train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Mississippi.

Key Facts

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Pastry Chef Schools in Mississippi

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
163.6Contact school for pricing$36,90251%Yes*92 mi
257.7Contact school for pricing$42,02244%Yes*58 mi
353.6Contact school for pricing$40,042Not reportedYes*65 mi
453.5Contact school for pricing$39,984Not reportedYes*28 mi
551.3Contact school for pricing$44,103Not reportedYes*139 mi
650.6Contact school for pricing$50,810Not reportedYes*52 mi
746.4Contact school for pricing$36,38938%32 mi
845.6Contact school for pricing$36,340Not reportedYes*83 mi
944.1Contact school for pricing$31,14039%Yes*120 mi
1041.8Contact school for pricing$37,960Not reportedYes*75 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Mississippi employs approximately 1,300 workers in the related “Bakers” category (SOC 51-3011), with a median annual wage of $28,920 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 39,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a pastry chef in Mississippi, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track pastry chef salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Bakers (SOC 51-3011). Actual pastry chef earnings may vary.

Pastry Chef Wages by Metro Area in Mississippi

Chefs and Head Cooks Wages by Metro Area in Mississippi

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), chefs and head cooks wages in Mississippi vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Memphis5,980$38,724$38,225$27,992$48,844
Gulfport-Biloxi2,940$32,140$32,900$23,658$40,686
Jackson2,750$30,867$30,713$22,425$39,829
Hattiesburg760$30,474$30,620$22,729$37,245

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
  • Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
  • Median wage (Mississippi): $28,920 per year (based on related “Bakers” category) 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Pastry Chef in Mississippi

How to become a pastry chef in Mississippi? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for pastry chefs in Mississippi.

How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.

What do pastry chefs earn in Mississippi? The BLS does not track pastry chef wages separately. Based on the related “Bakers” category, the median annual wage in Mississippi is $28,920, with entry-level wages around $20,910 and experienced workers earning $40,390 or more 1.

How to Become a Pastry Chef in Mississippi

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Mississippi training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Mississippi that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to pastry chefs in Mississippi before you start working.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for pastry chefs in Mississippi? Mississippi employs approximately 1,300 workers in the related “Bakers” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Mississippi? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Mississippi.

How much do pastry chefs earn in Mississippi compared to the national average? The median annual wage for pastry chefs in Mississippi is $28,920 (based on the related “Bakers” category), which is $7,730 below the national median of $36,650 according to BLS data 1.

In Mississippi

Explore More Trades in Mississippi

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)