How to Become a Pastry Chef in Nebraska (2026)

Nebraska employs about 1,030 pastry chefs earning a median $35,280 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Bakers”). Most pastry chefs train through an approved program before entering the field in Nebraska.

Key Facts

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Pastry Chef Schools in Nebraska

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
175.5Contact school for pricing$52,44268%Yes*185 mi
271.0Contact school for pricing$56,77466%Yes*152 mi
360.9Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported122 mi
457.6Contact school for pricing$47,71344%Yes*105 mi
555.6Contact school for pricing$54,27736%Yes*24 mi
655.0Contact school for pricing$52,95630%Yes*188 mi
754.0Contact school for pricing$46,682Not reportedYes*175 mi
850.0Contact school for pricing$51,81737%Yes*181 mi
948.3Contact school for pricing$51,139Not reportedYes*64 mi
1046.7Contact school for pricing$53,37627%Yes*56 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Nebraska employs approximately 1,030 workers in the related “Bakers” category (SOC 51-3011), with a median annual wage of $35,280 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 39,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Pastry Chef in Nebraska, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track pastry chef salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Bakers (SOC 51-3011). Actual pastry chef earnings may vary.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school or community college
  • Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
  • Median wage (Nebraska): $35,280 per year (based on related “Bakers” category) 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Pastry Chef in Nebraska

How to become a Pastry Chef in Nebraska? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for pastry chefs in Nebraska.

How long does it take? pastry chef training length in Nebraska varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.

What do pastry chefs earn in Nebraska? The BLS does not track pastry chef wages separately. Based on the related “Bakers” category, the median annual wage in Nebraska is $35,280, with entry-level wages around $28,970 and experienced workers earning $47,930 or more 1.

How to Become a Pastry Chef in Nebraska

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Nebraska training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved pastry chef program in Nebraska that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to pastry chefs in Nebraska before you start working.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Pastry Chef Wages by Metro Area in Nebraska

Chefs and Head Cooks Wages by Metro Area in Nebraska

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), chefs and head cooks wages in Nebraska vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Omaha3,750$39,773$40,913$30,872$50,619
Lincoln1,250$39,622$41,086$29,758$52,552
Sioux City760$36,503$37,327$28,841$48,242
Grand Island230$36,285$36,747$28,890$44,010

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for pastry chefs in Nebraska? Nebraska employs approximately 1,030 workers in the related “Bakers” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Nebraska? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Nebraska.

How much do pastry chefs earn in Nebraska compared to the national average? The median annual wage for pastry chefs in Nebraska is $35,280 (based on the related “Bakers” category), which is $1,370 below the national median of $36,650 according to BLS data 1.

In Nebraska

Explore More Trades in Nebraska

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)