How to Become a Pastry Chef in Ohio (2026)
Ohio employs about 8,890 pastry chefs earning a median $34,560 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Bakers”). Most pastry chefs train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Ohio.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Ohio): $34,560/yr (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Bakers), 2025)
- Employed in Ohio: 8,890 workers (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Bakers), 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.05x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 5.6% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Pastry Chef Schools in Ohio
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Lorain County Community College | 58.2 | Contact school for pricing | $52,814 | 32% | Yes* | 41 mi |
| 2 | Columbus State Community College | 56.1 | Contact school for pricing | $52,681 | 28% | Yes* | 70 mi |
| 3 | Henry Ford College | 53.9 | Contact school for pricing | $54,466 | 14% | Yes* | 106 mi |
| 4 | Laurel Technical Institute | 53.5 | Contact school for pricing | $39,074 | Not reported | — | 106 mi |
| 5 | Zane State College | 51.7 | $6,006 - $13,935 | $41,949 | 49% | Yes* | 69 mi |
| 6 | Owens Community College | 49.9 | Contact school for pricing | $55,401 | 33% | Yes* | 76 mi |
| 7 | Cuyahoga Community College District | 47.6 | Contact school for pricing | $49,698 | 30% | Yes* | 57 mi |
| 8 | Stark State College | 46.3 | Contact school for pricing | $49,440 | 23% | Yes* | 53 mi |
| 9 | Hocking College | 44.3 | Contact school for pricing | $44,764 | Not reported | Yes* | 102 mi |
| 10 | Monroe County Community College | 42.8 | Contact school for pricing | $55,341 | 33% | — | 88 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Ohio employs approximately 8,890 workers in the related “Bakers” category (SOC 51-3011), with a median annual wage of $34,560 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 39,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a pastry chef in Ohio, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track pastry chef salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Bakers (SOC 51-3011). Actual pastry chef earnings may vary.
Pastry Chef Wages by Metro Area in Ohio
Chefs and Head Cooks Wages by Metro Area in Ohio
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), chefs and head cooks wages in Ohio vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cincinnati | 13,300 | $37,665 | $37,071 | $27,874 | $48,064 |
| Cleveland | 11,100 | $38,568 | $39,257 | $28,455 | $49,985 |
| Columbus | 10,880 | $38,170 | $38,626 | $28,913 | $49,582 |
| Dayton-Kettering-Beavercreek | 3,710 | $35,579 | $35,961 | $28,615 | $45,504 |
| Akron | 3,560 | $37,190 | $37,033 | $28,178 | $47,439 |
| Toledo | 3,450 | $36,071 | $36,209 | $28,361 | $46,604 |
| Canton-Massillon | 2,150 | $34,928 | $36,008 | $27,482 | $46,083 |
| Youngstown-Warren | 2,130 | $32,887 | $34,296 | $27,502 | $43,945 |
| Huntington-Ashland | 1,340 | $31,889 | $32,781 | $23,377 | $41,870 |
| Sandusky | 1,060 | $37,072 | $36,583 | $28,244 | $47,357 |
| Wheeling | 700 | $30,573 | $32,124 | $23,434 | $38,616 |
| Lima | 560 | $33,489 | $34,357 | $26,844 | $44,859 |
| Mansfield | 520 | $31,370 | $32,978 | $27,230 | $41,530 |
| Springfield | 430 | $33,648 | $33,932 | $26,625 | $42,100 |
| Weirton-Steubenville | 360 | $29,754 | $31,171 | $23,457 | $37,171 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Ohio): $34,560 per year (based on related “Bakers” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Pastry Chef in Ohio
How to become a pastry chef in Ohio? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for pastry chefs in Ohio.
How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do pastry chefs earn in Ohio? The BLS does not track pastry chef wages separately. Based on the related “Bakers” category, the median annual wage in Ohio is $34,560, with entry-level wages around $24,160 and experienced workers earning $46,320 or more 1.
How to Become a Pastry Chef in Ohio
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Ohio training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Ohio that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to pastry chefs in Ohio before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for pastry chefs in Ohio? Ohio employs approximately 8,890 workers in the related “Bakers” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Ohio? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Ohio.
How much do pastry chefs earn in Ohio compared to the national average? The median annual wage for pastry chefs in Ohio is $34,560 (based on the related “Bakers” category), which is $2,090 below the national median of $36,650 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Ohio
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Ohio (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Ohio
- Best HVAC Schools in Ohio (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Ohio
- Best Plumbing Schools in Ohio (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Ohio
Explore More Trades in Ohio
- Electrician in Ohio
- Plumber in Ohio
- HVAC Technician in Ohio
- Welder in Ohio
- Carpenter in Ohio
- Solar Installation Technician in Ohio
- Auto Mechanic in Ohio
- CNC Machinist in Ohio
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Ohio
- Medical Assistant in Ohio
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |