How to Become a Pastry Chef in Pennsylvania (2026)
Pennsylvania employs about 10,380 pastry chefs earning a median $36,360 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Bakers”). Most pastry chefs train through an approved program before entering the field in Pennsylvania.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Pennsylvania): $36,360/yr (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Bakers), 2025)
- Employed in Pennsylvania: 10,380 workers (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Bakers), 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.13x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 5.6% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Pastry Chef Schools in Pennsylvania
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pennsylvania College of Technology | 71.8 | Contact school for pricing | $66,316 | Not reported | Yes* | 60 mi |
| 2 | Frederick Community College | 71.1 | Contact school for pricing | $54,058 | 36% | Yes* | 68 mi |
| 3 | Blue Ridge Community and Technical College | 71.1 | $4,752 - $11,522 | $45,612 | 37% | Yes* | 85 mi |
| 4 | YTI Career Institute-York | 66.8 | Contact school for pricing | $40,192 | 43% | Yes* | 30 mi |
| 5 | Greater Altoona Career & Technology Center | 55.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,527 | 72% | — | 76 mi |
| 6 | Delaware County Community College | 50.1 | $6,930 - $15,540 | $56,647 | 22% | Yes* | 87 mi |
| 7 | Lehigh Carbon Community College | 47.7 | Contact school for pricing | $50,125 | Not reported | Yes* | 73 mi |
| 8 | Berks Career & Technology Center | 44.8 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 70% | — | 52 mi |
| 9 | Luzerne County Community College | 43.0 | Contact school for pricing | $49,521 | Not reported | Yes* | 76 mi |
| 10 | Lincoln College of Technology-Columbia | 37.7 | Contact school for pricing | $47,136 | 66% | — | 83 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Pennsylvania employs approximately 10,380 workers in the related “Bakers” category (SOC 51-3011), with a median annual wage of $36,360 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 39,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Pastry Chef in Pennsylvania, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track pastry chef salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Bakers (SOC 51-3011). Actual pastry chef earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Pennsylvania): $36,360 per year (based on related “Bakers” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Pastry Chef in Pennsylvania
How to become a Pastry Chef in Pennsylvania? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for pastry chefs in Pennsylvania.
How long does it take? pastry chef training length in Pennsylvania varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
What do pastry chefs earn in Pennsylvania? The BLS does not track pastry chef wages separately. Based on the related “Bakers” category, the median annual wage in Pennsylvania is $36,360, with entry-level wages around $25,430 and experienced workers earning $50,470 or more 1.
How to Become a Pastry Chef in Pennsylvania
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Pennsylvania training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved pastry chef program in Pennsylvania that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to pastry chefs in Pennsylvania before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Pastry Chef Wages by Metro Area in Pennsylvania
Chefs and Head Cooks Wages by Metro Area in Pennsylvania
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), chefs and head cooks wages in Pennsylvania vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington | 34,330 | $42,757 | $44,373 | $31,888 | $57,143 |
| Pittsburgh | 16,600 | $38,472 | $37,208 | $23,907 | $48,316 |
| Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton | 4,390 | $40,548 | $41,423 | $29,326 | $53,425 |
| Lancaster | 3,420 | $38,173 | $38,497 | $25,864 | $50,712 |
| Harrisburg-Carlisle | 3,360 | $39,183 | $39,607 | $27,659 | $52,638 |
| Scranton--Wilkes-Barre | 3,260 | $38,715 | $38,316 | $24,205 | $53,016 |
| York-Hanover | 2,100 | $37,759 | $38,488 | $28,347 | $49,619 |
| Reading | 1,990 | $39,235 | $38,366 | $25,332 | $51,467 |
| Erie | 1,750 | $35,112 | $34,639 | $23,619 | $44,012 |
| State College | 940 | $38,598 | $38,426 | $25,576 | $49,808 |
| Chambersburg | 750 | $40,047 | $37,682 | $24,148 | $46,862 |
| Lebanon | 720 | $37,898 | $37,953 | $26,156 | $49,589 |
| Altoona | 690 | $35,158 | $34,296 | $23,080 | $43,034 |
| Williamsport | 670 | $34,641 | $35,817 | $23,999 | $46,206 |
| Johnstown | 600 | $33,002 | $34,564 | $23,140 | $43,848 |
| Gettysburg | 480 | $36,921 | $36,830 | $24,506 | $48,305 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for pastry chefs in Pennsylvania? Pennsylvania employs approximately 10,380 workers in the related “Bakers” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Pennsylvania? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Pennsylvania.
How much do pastry chefs earn in Pennsylvania compared to the national average? The median annual wage for pastry chefs in Pennsylvania is $36,360 (based on the related “Bakers” category), which is $290 below the national median of $36,650 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Pennsylvania
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Pennsylvania
- Best HVAC Schools in Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Pennsylvania
- Best Plumbing Schools in Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Pennsylvania
Explore More Trades in Pennsylvania
- Electrician in Pennsylvania
- Plumber in Pennsylvania
- HVAC Technician in Pennsylvania
- Welder in Pennsylvania
- Carpenter in Pennsylvania
- Solar Installation Technician in Pennsylvania
- Auto Mechanic in Pennsylvania
- CNC Machinist in Pennsylvania
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Pennsylvania
- Medical Assistant in Pennsylvania
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |