How to Become a Pastry Chef in West Virginia (2026)

West Virginia employs about 750 pastry chefs earning a median $28,480 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Bakers”). Most pastry chefs train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in West Virginia.

Key Facts

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Pastry Chef Schools in West Virginia

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
170.5Contact school for pricing$33,19088%29 mi
256.1Contact school for pricing$52,68128%Yes*129 mi
354.1Contact school for pricing$48,00440%Yes*120 mi
453.8Contact school for pricing$47,467Not reportedYes*75 mi
552.5Contact school for pricing$42,97054%Yes*137 mi
651.7$6,006 - $13,935$41,94949%Yes*99 mi
748.9Contact school for pricing$43,371Not reportedYes*112 mi
848.4Contact school for pricing$39,90131%Yes*101 mi
947.9Contact school for pricing$47,69340%Yes*79 mi
1044.3Contact school for pricing$44,764Not reportedYes*74 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, West Virginia employs approximately 750 workers in the related “Bakers” category (SOC 51-3011), with a median annual wage of $28,480 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 39,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a pastry chef in West Virginia, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track pastry chef salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Bakers (SOC 51-3011). Actual pastry chef earnings may vary.

Pastry Chef Wages by Metro Area in West Virginia

Chefs and Head Cooks Wages by Metro Area in West Virginia

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), chefs and head cooks wages in West Virginia vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Washington-Arlington-Alexandria40,090$46,042$46,054$35,818$55,863
Huntington-Ashland1,340$31,889$32,781$23,377$41,870
Morgantown920$33,723$33,644$23,545$41,683
Hagerstown-Martinsburg910$35,360$35,899$28,417$45,990
Charleston880$29,270$29,710$22,532$37,946
Winchester810$36,063$36,603$29,067$46,534
Wheeling700$30,573$32,124$23,434$38,616
Beckley480$28,604$29,565$21,966$36,701
Parkersburg-Vienna410$29,700$29,240$21,750$36,250
Weirton-Steubenville360$29,754$31,171$23,457$37,171

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
  • Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
  • Median wage (West Virginia): $28,480 per year (based on related “Bakers” category) 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Pastry Chef in West Virginia

How to become a pastry chef in West Virginia? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for pastry chefs in West Virginia.

How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.

What do pastry chefs earn in West Virginia? The BLS does not track pastry chef wages separately. Based on the related “Bakers” category, the median annual wage in West Virginia is $28,480, with entry-level wages around $22,170 and experienced workers earning $44,720 or more 1.

How to Become a Pastry Chef in West Virginia

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most West Virginia training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in West Virginia that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to pastry chefs in West Virginia before you start working.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for pastry chefs in West Virginia? West Virginia employs approximately 750 workers in the related “Bakers” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in West Virginia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in West Virginia.

How much do pastry chefs earn in West Virginia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for pastry chefs in West Virginia is $28,480 (based on the related “Bakers” category), which is $8,170 below the national median of $36,650 according to BLS data 1.

In West Virginia

Explore More Trades in West Virginia

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)