How to Become a Patient Access Representative in Kentucky (2026)
Kentucky employs about 9,290 patient access representatives earning a median $32,940 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most patient access representatives train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Kentucky.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Kentucky): $32,940/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Kentucky: 9,290 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.79x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 0.0% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Patient Access Representative Schools in Kentucky
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Illinois Eastern Community Colleges | 57.4 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 165 mi |
| 2 | West Virginia Junior College-Charleston | 57.1 | Contact school for pricing | $33,018 | 69% | Yes* | 198 mi |
| 3 | Georgia Northwestern Technical College | 53.6 | Contact school for pricing | $44,490 | 38% | Yes* | 244 mi |
| 4 | Lanier Technical College | 51.3 | Contact school for pricing | $44,754 | 35% | Yes* | 251 mi |
| 5 | Cincinnati State Technical and Community College | 50.7 | Contact school for pricing | $59,235 | 18% | Yes* | 106 mi |
| 6 | North Georgia Technical College | 49.8 | Contact school for pricing | $47,265 | Not reported | Yes* | 239 mi |
| 7 | Southwestern Illinois College | 49.6 | Contact school for pricing | $51,516 | 37% | Yes* | 255 mi |
| 8 | Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Knoxville | 47.1 | Contact school for pricing | $42,517 | Not reported | — | 145 mi |
| 9 | Rend Lake College | 45.9 | Contact school for pricing | $46,506 | 62% | — | 198 mi |
| 10 | Danville Area Community College | 41.5 | Contact school for pricing | $47,299 | 41% | — | 205 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Kentucky employs approximately 9,290 patient access representatives according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $32,940 1. Nationally, patient access representative employment is projected to grow 0.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 128,500 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a patient access representative in Kentucky, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
Patient Access Representative Wages by Metro Area in Kentucky
Receptionists and Information Clerks Wages by Metro Area in Kentucky
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), receptionists and information clerks wages in Kentucky vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cincinnati | 5,560 | $35,250 | $35,510 | $24,750 | $46,640 |
| Louisville/Jefferson County | 3,330 | $34,520 | $35,370 | $26,330 | $46,040 |
| Lexington-Fayette | 1,410 | $33,970 | $33,940 | $23,920 | $44,600 |
| Huntington-Ashland | 1,050 | $31,890 | $32,560 | $23,560 | $39,230 |
| Clarksville | 450 | $30,960 | $32,320 | $22,640 | $42,060 |
| Bowling Green | 390 | $31,750 | $32,680 | $23,080 | $42,660 |
| Owensboro | 310 | $31,300 | $33,230 | $25,010 | $42,480 |
| Elizabethtown | 250 | $33,020 | $33,810 | $24,390 | $44,410 |
| Paducah | 240 | $32,130 | $33,290 | $26,340 | $42,330 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Kentucky): $32,940 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Patient Access Representative in Kentucky
How to become a patient access representative in Kentucky? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for patient access representatives in Kentucky.
How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do patient access representatives earn in Kentucky? The median annual wage for patient access representatives in Kentucky is $32,940 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $23,720 and experienced professionals can earn $44,270 or more 1.
How to Become a Patient Access Representative in Kentucky
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Kentucky training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Kentucky that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to patient access representatives in Kentucky before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for patient access representatives in Kentucky? Kentucky currently employs approximately 9,290 patient access representatives 1. Nationally, patient access representative employment is projected to grow 0.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Kentucky? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Kentucky.
How much do patient access representatives earn in Kentucky compared to the national average? The median annual wage for patient access representatives in Kentucky is $32,940, which is $4,290 below the national median of $37,230 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Kentucky
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Kentucky
- Best HVAC Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Kentucky
- Best Plumbing Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Kentucky
Explore More Trades in Kentucky
- Electrician in Kentucky
- Plumber in Kentucky
- HVAC Technician in Kentucky
- Welder in Kentucky
- Carpenter in Kentucky
- Solar Installation Technician in Kentucky
- Auto Mechanic in Kentucky
- CNC Machinist in Kentucky
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Kentucky
- Medical Assistant in Kentucky
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |