How to Become a Patient Access Representative in Massachusetts (2026)
Massachusetts employs about 18,970 patient access representatives earning a median $43,870 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most patient access representatives train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Massachusetts.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Massachusetts): $43,870/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Massachusetts: 18,970 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.89x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 0.0% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Patient Access Representative Schools in Massachusetts
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | EDP School | 74.4 | Contact school for pricing | $30,267 | 97% | — | 169 mi |
| 2 | CUNY Kingsborough Community College | 68.0 | Contact school for pricing | $43,394 | 25% | Yes* | 172 mi |
| 3 | Austin Medical Assistant Training | 66.7 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 100% | — | 162 mi |
| 4 | Hunter Business School | 64.8 | Contact school for pricing | $44,594 | 84% | Yes* | 150 mi |
| 5 | Bergen Community College | 63.9 | Contact school for pricing | $51,761 | Not reported | Yes* | 161 mi |
| 6 | Career School of NY | 56.5 | Contact school for pricing | $21,415 | 77% | — | 174 mi |
| 7 | Greenfield Community College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $52,747 | 26% | Yes* | 55 mi |
| 8 | Northern Essex Community College | 52.4 | Contact school for pricing | $52,743 | 20% | Yes* | 42 mi |
| 9 | Connecticut State Community College | 47.6 | Contact school for pricing | $50,130 | 21% | Yes* | 68 mi |
| 10 | Bryant & Stratton College-Albany | 42.7 | Contact school for pricing | $43,374 | 25% | — | 115 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Massachusetts employs approximately 18,970 patient access representatives according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $43,870 1. Nationally, patient access representative employment is projected to grow 0.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 128,500 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a patient access representative in Massachusetts, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
Patient Access Representative Wages by Metro Area in Massachusetts
Receptionists and Information Clerks Wages by Metro Area in Massachusetts
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), receptionists and information clerks wages in Massachusetts vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Boston-Cambridge-Newton | 14,320 | $43,930 | $43,990 | $34,870 | $55,750 |
| Providence-Warwick | 5,550 | $41,720 | $41,970 | $33,850 | $49,680 |
| Worcester | 1,940 | $41,720 | $42,390 | $35,460 | $51,440 |
| Springfield | 1,240 | $40,770 | $42,070 | $35,190 | $50,450 |
| Barnstable Town | 670 | $45,820 | $45,350 | $36,610 | $54,620 |
| Amherst Town-Northampton | 410 | $41,770 | $42,730 | $35,460 | $51,860 |
| Pittsfield | 360 | $41,890 | $41,980 | $34,490 | $51,040 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Massachusetts): $43,870 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Patient Access Representative in Massachusetts
How to become a patient access representative in Massachusetts? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for patient access representatives in Massachusetts.
How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do patient access representatives earn in Massachusetts? The median annual wage for patient access representatives in Massachusetts is $43,870 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $35,790 and experienced professionals can earn $54,270 or more 1.
How to Become a Patient Access Representative in Massachusetts
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Massachusetts training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Massachusetts that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to patient access representatives in Massachusetts before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for patient access representatives in Massachusetts? Massachusetts currently employs approximately 18,970 patient access representatives 1. Nationally, patient access representative employment is projected to grow 0.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Massachusetts? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Massachusetts.
How much do patient access representatives earn in Massachusetts compared to the national average? The median annual wage for patient access representatives in Massachusetts is $43,870, which is $6,640 above the national median of $37,230 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Massachusetts
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Massachusetts
- Best HVAC Schools in Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Massachusetts
- Best Plumbing Schools in Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Massachusetts
Explore More Trades in Massachusetts
- Electrician in Massachusetts
- Plumber in Massachusetts
- HVAC Technician in Massachusetts
- Welder in Massachusetts
- Carpenter in Massachusetts
- Solar Installation Technician in Massachusetts
- Auto Mechanic in Massachusetts
- CNC Machinist in Massachusetts
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Massachusetts
- Medical Assistant in Massachusetts
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |