How to Become a Patient Access Representative in Mississippi (2026)
Mississippi employs about 6,920 patient access representatives earning a median $31,160 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most patient access representatives train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Mississippi.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Mississippi): $31,160/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Mississippi: 6,920 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.02x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 0.0% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Patient Access Representative Schools in Mississippi
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Concorde Career College-Southaven | 44.0 | Contact school for pricing | $34,501 | 66% | — | 155 mi |
| 2 | Delta College Inc | 37.4 | Contact school for pricing | $32,032 | Not reported | — | 163 mi |
| 3 | Delta College of Arts & Technology | 36.8 | Contact school for pricing | $35,243 | Not reported | — | 186 mi |
| 4 | Concorde Career College-Memphis | 36.0 | Contact school for pricing | $34,501 | 53% | — | 164 mi |
| 5 | Southeast Arkansas College | 35.4 | Contact school for pricing | $42,328 | 22% | Yes* | 177 mi |
| 6 | Medical Training College | 32.7 | Contact school for pricing | $29,675 | Not reported | — | 187 mi |
| 7 | Delta College-Slidell Campus | 31.6 | Contact school for pricing | $32,032 | 58% | — | 172 mi |
| 8 | Unitech Training Academy-Alexandria | 28.0 | Contact school for pricing | $27,850 | 61% | — | 202 mi |
| 9 | Unitech Training Academy-West Monroe | 27.8 | Contact school for pricing | $27,850 | 65% | — | 155 mi |
| 10 | Unitech Training Academy-Baton Rouge | 22.8 | Contact school for pricing | $27,850 | 53% | — | 187 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Mississippi employs approximately 6,920 patient access representatives according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $31,160 1. Nationally, patient access representative employment is projected to grow 0.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 128,500 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a patient access representative in Mississippi, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
Patient Access Representative Wages by Metro Area in Mississippi
Receptionists and Information Clerks Wages by Metro Area in Mississippi
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), receptionists and information clerks wages in Mississippi vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Memphis | 2,100 | $34,530 | $34,940 | $24,110 | $46,010 |
| Jackson | 1,770 | $34,350 | $34,860 | $24,030 | $48,870 |
| Gulfport-Biloxi | 950 | $32,220 | $32,180 | $22,530 | $40,320 |
| Hattiesburg | 480 | $29,850 | $30,460 | $21,960 | $38,480 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Mississippi): $31,160 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Patient Access Representative in Mississippi
How to become a patient access representative in Mississippi? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for patient access representatives in Mississippi.
How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do patient access representatives earn in Mississippi? The median annual wage for patient access representatives in Mississippi is $31,160 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $22,310 and experienced professionals can earn $42,990 or more 1.
How to Become a Patient Access Representative in Mississippi
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Mississippi training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Mississippi that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to patient access representatives in Mississippi before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for patient access representatives in Mississippi? Mississippi currently employs approximately 6,920 patient access representatives 1. Nationally, patient access representative employment is projected to grow 0.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Mississippi? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Mississippi.
How much do patient access representatives earn in Mississippi compared to the national average? The median annual wage for patient access representatives in Mississippi is $31,160, which is $6,070 below the national median of $37,230 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Mississippi
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Mississippi (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Mississippi
- Best HVAC Schools in Mississippi (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Mississippi
- Best Plumbing Schools in Mississippi (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Mississippi
Explore More Trades in Mississippi
- Electrician in Mississippi
- Plumber in Mississippi
- HVAC Technician in Mississippi
- Welder in Mississippi
- Carpenter in Mississippi
- Solar Installation Technician in Mississippi
- Auto Mechanic in Mississippi
- CNC Machinist in Mississippi
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Mississippi
- Medical Assistant in Mississippi
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |