How to Become a Patient Access Representative in New Mexico (2026)

New Mexico employs about 5,650 patient access representatives earning a median $35,140 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most patient access representatives train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in New Mexico.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (New Mexico): $35,140/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in New Mexico: 5,650 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 1.11x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 0.0% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Patient Access Representative Schools in New Mexico

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
157.3Contact school for pricing$57,589Not reportedYes*372 mi
254.1Contact school for pricing$49,75855%Yes*211 mi
352.6Contact school for pricing$34,25263%372 mi
452.2Contact school for pricing$70,264Not reported375 mi
551.8Contact school for pricing$48,65230%Yes*82 mi
648.7Contact school for pricing$54,87417%Yes*152 mi
744.5Contact school for pricing$47,262Not reportedYes*350 mi
844.1Contact school for pricing$39,15932%Yes*369 mi
938.2Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reportedYes*147 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

New Mexico employs approximately 5,650 patient access representatives according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $35,140 1. Nationally, patient access representative employment is projected to grow 0.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 128,500 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a patient access representative in New Mexico, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

Patient Access Representative Wages by Metro Area in New Mexico

Receptionists and Information Clerks Wages by Metro Area in New Mexico

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), receptionists and information clerks wages in New Mexico vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Albuquerque3,010$35,360$35,430$26,420$44,970
Las Cruces620$33,280$33,730$26,560$39,930
Santa Fe400$37,040$37,320$28,920$46,080
Farmington250$35,440$36,070$27,310$45,780

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
  • Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
  • Median wage (New Mexico): $35,140 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Patient Access Representative in New Mexico

How to become a patient access representative in New Mexico? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for patient access representatives in New Mexico.

How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.

What do patient access representatives earn in New Mexico? The median annual wage for patient access representatives in New Mexico is $35,140 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $26,970 and experienced professionals can earn $44,210 or more 1.

How to Become a Patient Access Representative in New Mexico

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most New Mexico training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in New Mexico that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to patient access representatives in New Mexico before you start working.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for patient access representatives in New Mexico? New Mexico currently employs approximately 5,650 patient access representatives 1. Nationally, patient access representative employment is projected to grow 0.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in New Mexico? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in New Mexico.

How much do patient access representatives earn in New Mexico compared to the national average? The median annual wage for patient access representatives in New Mexico is $35,140, which is $2,090 below the national median of $37,230 according to BLS data 1.

In New Mexico

Explore More Trades in New Mexico

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)