How to Become a Patient Access Representative in South Carolina (2026)

South Carolina employs about 11,280 patient access representatives earning a median $35,510 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most patient access representatives train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in South Carolina.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (South Carolina): $35,510/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in South Carolina: 11,280 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 0.84x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 0.0% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Patient Access Representative Schools in South Carolina

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
155.0Contact school for pricing$50,46929%Yes*191 mi
254.3Contact school for pricing$47,00955%Yes*206 mi
351.3Contact school for pricing$44,75435%Yes*178 mi
450.1Contact school for pricing$40,635Not reportedYes*111 mi
549.8Contact school for pricing$47,265Not reportedYes*170 mi
648.8Contact school for pricing$44,293Not reportedYes*120 mi
746.8$3,380 - $24,902$37,26554%Yes*131 mi
846.5Contact school for pricing$42,97944%Yes*188 mi
945.7Contact school for pricing$44,62136%Yes*141 mi
1045.4Contact school for pricing$43,46931%Yes*78 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

South Carolina employs approximately 11,280 patient access representatives according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $35,510 1. Nationally, patient access representative employment is projected to grow 0.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 128,500 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a patient access representative in South Carolina, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

Patient Access Representative Wages by Metro Area in South Carolina

Receptionists and Information Clerks Wages by Metro Area in South Carolina

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), receptionists and information clerks wages in South Carolina vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia5,880$36,300$36,610$23,050$49,320
Charleston-North Charleston2,160$37,220$37,480$23,540$47,930
Greenville-Anderson-Greer2,030$35,490$35,000$22,680$45,590
Columbia1,880$35,530$35,210$22,540$46,820
Augusta-Richmond County1,190$32,690$33,260$22,750$44,260
Myrtle Beach-Conway-North Myrtle Beach890$34,130$33,820$23,500$44,270
Spartanburg690$34,920$35,370$23,130$46,050
Hilton Head Island-Bluffton-Port Royal650$35,510$36,680$23,460$47,900
Florence380$33,130$33,460$22,050$43,780
Sumter180$31,060$32,320$21,730$44,860

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
  • Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
  • Median wage (South Carolina): $35,510 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Patient Access Representative in South Carolina

How to become a patient access representative in South Carolina? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for patient access representatives in South Carolina.

How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.

What do patient access representatives earn in South Carolina? The median annual wage for patient access representatives in South Carolina is $35,510 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $22,710 and experienced professionals can earn $46,750 or more 1.

How to Become a Patient Access Representative in South Carolina

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most South Carolina training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in South Carolina that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to patient access representatives in South Carolina before you start working.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for patient access representatives in South Carolina? South Carolina currently employs approximately 11,280 patient access representatives 1. Nationally, patient access representative employment is projected to grow 0.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in South Carolina? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in South Carolina.

How much do patient access representatives earn in South Carolina compared to the national average? The median annual wage for patient access representatives in South Carolina is $35,510, which is $1,720 below the national median of $37,230 according to BLS data 1.

In South Carolina

Explore More Trades in South Carolina

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)