How to Become a Patient Access Representative in Texas (2026)
Texas employs about 78,330 patient access representatives earning a median $35,210 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most patient access representatives train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Texas.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Texas): $35,210/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Texas: 78,330 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.95x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 0.0% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Patient Access Representative Schools in Texas
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | CCI Training Center-Arlington | 75.7 | Contact school for pricing | $39,373 | 72% | Yes* | 114 mi |
| 2 | Great Plains Technology Center | 74.0 | Contact school for pricing | $44,322 | 94% | — | 234 mi |
| 3 | PCI Health Training Center | 63.4 | Contact school for pricing | $35,822 | 92% | — | 123 mi |
| 4 | Southern Oklahoma Technology Center | 54.5 | Contact school for pricing | $40,071 | 76% | — | 209 mi |
| 5 | The College of Health Care Professions-Northwest | 52.9 | Contact school for pricing | $35,515 | 46% | Yes* | 171 mi |
| 6 | Concorde Career College-San Antonio | 46.8 | Contact school for pricing | $38,757 | 67% | — | 128 mi |
| 7 | Remington College-Houston Southeast Campus | 32.2 | Contact school for pricing | $33,677 | 59% | — | 203 mi |
| 8 | Southwest School of Business and Technical Careers-San Antonio | 31.7 | Contact school for pricing | $22,737 | 63% | — | 136 mi |
| 9 | Southern Careers Institute-San Antonio | 30.9 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 131 mi |
| 10 | Remington College-Fort Worth Campus | 27.3 | Contact school for pricing | $33,677 | Not reported | — | 117 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Texas employs approximately 78,330 patient access representatives according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $35,210 1. Nationally, patient access representative employment is projected to grow 0.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 128,500 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a patient access representative in Texas, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
Patient Access Representative Wages by Metro Area in Texas
Receptionists and Information Clerks Wages by Metro Area in Texas
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), receptionists and information clerks wages in Texas vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington | 21,380 | $37,060 | $37,750 | $26,560 | $47,750 |
| Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands | 17,140 | $35,350 | $35,810 | $24,370 | $47,720 |
| San Antonio-New Braunfels | 7,950 | $36,550 | $37,740 | $27,160 | $52,480 |
| Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos | 7,480 | $36,690 | $37,720 | $26,190 | $49,280 |
| El Paso | 1,950 | $29,460 | $30,670 | $21,450 | $40,690 |
| McAllen-Edinburg-Mission | 1,780 | $28,530 | $29,570 | $21,690 | $37,960 |
| Corpus Christi | 1,270 | $31,810 | $33,150 | $22,370 | $44,530 |
| Lubbock | 1,130 | $31,550 | $32,550 | $23,920 | $42,820 |
| Brownsville-Harlingen | 1,070 | $28,720 | $29,670 | $22,240 | $37,170 |
| Amarillo | 900 | $33,900 | $33,850 | $24,870 | $44,560 |
| Beaumont-Port Arthur | 900 | $31,960 | $33,300 | $23,170 | $45,030 |
| Killeen-Temple | 890 | $34,510 | $34,200 | $23,600 | $44,010 |
| Tyler | 810 | $32,100 | $32,870 | $24,140 | $41,540 |
| College Station-Bryan | 790 | $31,100 | $32,710 | $22,510 | $45,670 |
| Waco | 730 | $32,810 | $33,630 | $23,710 | $45,030 |
| Laredo | 630 | $29,140 | $29,710 | $20,970 | $38,100 |
| Longview | 610 | $32,350 | $32,560 | $23,840 | $41,240 |
| Midland | 590 | $37,280 | $37,930 | $27,940 | $50,270 |
| Abilene | 450 | $30,690 | $32,220 | $23,990 | $41,430 |
| Wichita Falls | 420 | $32,940 | $32,720 | $23,480 | $42,000 |
| Odessa | 380 | $36,200 | $35,880 | $26,240 | $45,980 |
| Texarkana | 340 | $30,470 | $31,780 | $24,460 | $38,710 |
| Sherman-Denison | 320 | $34,270 | $34,890 | $24,250 | $46,700 |
| San Angelo | 300 | $31,200 | $32,290 | $23,470 | $43,060 |
| Victoria | 280 | $32,130 | $32,820 | $24,110 | $39,800 |
| Eagle Pass | 90 | $29,340 | $30,610 | $22,300 | $38,640 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Texas): $35,210 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Patient Access Representative in Texas
How to become a patient access representative in Texas? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for patient access representatives in Texas.
How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do patient access representatives earn in Texas? The median annual wage for patient access representatives in Texas is $35,210 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $24,700 and experienced professionals can earn $47,380 or more 1.
How to Become a Patient Access Representative in Texas
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Texas training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Texas that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to patient access representatives in Texas before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for patient access representatives in Texas? Texas currently employs approximately 78,330 patient access representatives 1. Nationally, patient access representative employment is projected to grow 0.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Texas? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Texas.
How much do patient access representatives earn in Texas compared to the national average? The median annual wage for patient access representatives in Texas is $35,210, which is $2,020 below the national median of $37,230 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Texas
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Texas (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Texas
- Best HVAC Schools in Texas (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Texas
- Best Plumbing Schools in Texas (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Texas
Explore More Trades in Texas
- Electrician in Texas
- Plumber in Texas
- HVAC Technician in Texas
- Welder in Texas
- Carpenter in Texas
- Solar Installation Technician in Texas
- Auto Mechanic in Texas
- CNC Machinist in Texas
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Texas
- Medical Assistant in Texas
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |