How to Become a Patient Access Representative in Washington (2026)
Washington employs about 26,500 patient access representatives earning a median $44,710 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most patient access representatives train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Washington.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Washington): $44,710/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Washington: 26,500 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.28x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 0.0% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Patient Access Representative Schools in Washington
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Spokane Community College | 68.4 | Contact school for pricing | $52,567 | 35% | Yes* | 183 mi |
| 2 | Peninsula College | 58.8 | Contact school for pricing | $44,056 | 39% | Yes* | 127 mi |
| 3 | Yakima Valley College | 55.9 | Contact school for pricing | $51,006 | 31% | — | 45 mi |
| 4 | Salish Kootenai College | 53.5 | $4,311 - $13,047 | $52,164 | 32% | — | 332 mi |
| 5 | College of Western Idaho | 50.7 | Contact school for pricing | $47,903 | 29% | Yes* | 328 mi |
| 6 | South Seattle College | 47.7 | Contact school for pricing | $50,142 | 29% | — | 65 mi |
| 7 | North Idaho College | 46.4 | Contact school for pricing | $50,312 | 37% | Yes* | 208 mi |
| 8 | Blue Mountain Community College | 45.3 | Contact school for pricing | $49,347 | 27% | Yes* | 148 mi |
| 9 | Institute of Technology | 39.3 | Contact school for pricing | $45,997 | Not reported | — | 170 mi |
| 10 | Rogue Community College | 30.4 | Contact school for pricing | $46,107 | Not reported | Yes* | 340 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Washington employs approximately 26,500 patient access representatives according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $44,710 1. The state’s concentration of patient access representative jobs is 1.28x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, patient access representative employment is projected to grow 0.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 128,500 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a patient access representative in Washington, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
Patient Access Representative Wages by Metro Area in Washington
Receptionists and Information Clerks Wages by Metro Area in Washington
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), receptionists and information clerks wages in Washington vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 17,920 | $41,240 | $42,630 | $33,600 | $54,790 |
| Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue | 14,260 | $45,820 | $47,620 | $37,570 | $60,520 |
| Portland-Vancouver-Hillsboro | 8,340 | $43,630 | $43,590 | $35,570 | $51,410 |
| Spokane-Spokane Valley | 2,370 | $41,800 | $42,640 | $34,890 | $51,000 |
| Kennewick-Richland | 1,080 | $43,530 | $43,870 | $35,510 | $55,110 |
| Olympia-Lacey-Tumwater | 1,070 | $42,910 | $43,750 | $35,780 | $54,960 |
| Bremerton-Silverdale-Port Orchard | 920 | $44,130 | $44,300 | $36,670 | $54,180 |
| Yakima | 890 | $40,990 | $42,320 | $34,650 | $48,120 |
| Bellingham | 810 | $43,400 | $44,160 | $36,250 | $54,780 |
| Mount Vernon-Anacortes | 450 | $45,060 | $45,390 | $36,330 | $59,400 |
| Wenatchee-East Wenatchee | 440 | $41,410 | $43,070 | $35,270 | $52,040 |
| Longview-Kelso | 300 | $40,790 | $42,940 | $35,670 | $54,660 |
| Lewiston | 200 | $37,420 | $38,890 | $29,000 | $49,340 |
| Walla Walla | 170 | $39,630 | $42,340 | $34,650 | $54,710 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Washington): $44,710 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Patient Access Representative in Washington
How to become a patient access representative in Washington? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for patient access representatives in Washington.
How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do patient access representatives earn in Washington? The median annual wage for patient access representatives in Washington is $44,710 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $36,730 and experienced professionals can earn $57,840 or more 1.
How to Become a Patient Access Representative in Washington
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Washington training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Washington that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to patient access representatives in Washington before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for patient access representatives in Washington? Washington currently employs approximately 26,500 patient access representatives 1. Nationally, patient access representative employment is projected to grow 0.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Washington? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Washington.
How much do patient access representatives earn in Washington compared to the national average? The median annual wage for patient access representatives in Washington is $44,710, which is $7,480 above the national median of $37,230 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Washington
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Washington (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Washington
- Best HVAC Schools in Washington (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Washington
- Best Plumbing Schools in Washington (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Washington
Explore More Trades in Washington
- Electrician in Washington
- Plumber in Washington
- HVAC Technician in Washington
- Welder in Washington
- Carpenter in Washington
- Solar Installation Technician in Washington
- Auto Mechanic in Washington
- CNC Machinist in Washington
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Washington
- Medical Assistant in Washington
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |