How to Become a Patient Care Technician in Connecticut (2026)
Connecticut employs about 21,380 patient care technicians earning a median $44,790 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Nursing Assistants”). Training as a Patient Care Technician here means completing CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing.
Compare Patient Care Technician Schools in Connecticut
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Access Careers | 70.9 | Contact school for pricing | $43,184 | 90% | — | 76 mi |
| 2 | Austin Medical Assistant Training | 66.7 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 100% | — | 83 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | American Institute of Healthcare & Technology | 58.3 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 100% | — | 36 mi |
| 4 | Quinsigamond Community College | 58.1 | $6,262 in-state / $11,206 out-of-state | $55,076 | 22% | Yes* | 70 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Eastwick College-Nutley | 57.9 | $15,848 | $46,087 | 57% | — | 90 mi |
| 6 | Best Care College | 52.2 | Contact school for pricing | $89,155 | 64% | — | 95 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Access Careers-Islandia | 49.7 | Contact school for pricing | $43,184 | 72% | — | 60 mi |
| 8 | New Age Training | 48.7 | Contact school for pricing | $37,928 | 75% | — | 89 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | American Institute-West Hartford | 33.2 | Contact school for pricing | $36,918 | 56% | — | 8 mi |
| 10 | Lincoln Technical Institute-Paramus | 29.0 | Contact school for pricing | $42,316 | 70% | — | 82 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Connecticut employs approximately 21,380 workers in the related “Nursing Assistants” category (SOC 31-1131), with a median annual wage of $44,790 1. The state’s concentration of jobs in this category is 1.35x the national average, indicating strong regional demand. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 204,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Patient Care Technician in Connecticut, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track patient care technician salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131). Actual patient care technician earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: PCT or CNA training (find programs)
- Typical timeline: CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing
- Exam: CPCT and/or state CNA exam
- Median wage (Connecticut): $44,790 per year (based on related “Nursing Assistants” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Patient Care Technician in Connecticut
How to become a Patient Care Technician in Connecticut? Complete CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Connecticut? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect CPCT and/or state CNA exam. See the licensing section below.
What do patient care technicians earn in Connecticut? The BLS does not track patient care technician wages separately. Based on the related “Nursing Assistants” category, the median annual wage in Connecticut is $44,790, with entry-level wages around $38,660 and experienced workers earning $53,870 or more 1.
How to Become a Patient Care Technician in Connecticut
- Complete CNA or PCT training. Many PCT jobs require a CNA listing plus extra modules (phlebotomy, EKG). This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CPCT if the employer requires it. Pass CPCT and keep any required nurse-aide registry listing current.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Patient Care Technician License Requirements in Connecticut
Patient care technicians often need a CNA listing plus CPCT. Confirm Connecticut nurse-aide rules rather than inventing a separate PCT license.
Typical path
Complete CNA or PCT training.
Earn CPCT if required.
Keep nurse-aide listing current if the state uses one.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Patient Care Technician Wages by Metro Area in Connecticut
Patient Care Technician Wages by Metro Area in Connecticut
Note: The BLS does not track patient care technician wages separately. The data below is based on the closest matching category: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131).
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), nursing assistants wages in Connecticut vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hartford-West Hartford-East Hartford | 7,990 | $44,340 | $44,740 | $38,490 | $52,350 |
| Bridgeport-Stamford-Danbury | 4,500 | $45,560 | $46,060 | $38,660 | $53,960 |
| New Haven | 3,840 | $45,030 | $46,790 | $39,520 | $59,770 |
| Waterbury-Shelton | 2,190 | $43,010 | $44,780 | $38,840 | $50,810 |
| Norwich-New London-Willimantic | 1,610 | $44,210 | $45,190 | $38,410 | $51,390 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for patient care technicians in Connecticut? Connecticut employs approximately 21,380 workers in the related “Nursing Assistants” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Connecticut? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Connecticut.
How much do patient care technicians earn in Connecticut compared to the national average? The median annual wage for patient care technicians in Connecticut is $44,790 (based on the related “Nursing Assistants” category), which is $5,260 above the national median of $39,530 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Connecticut
Top local programs
- Best Patient Care Technician Programs in Connecticut (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Programs in Greenwich, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Programs in West Hartford, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Ansonia, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Bridgeport, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Bristol, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in City Of Milford Balance, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Danbury, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Derby, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Hartford, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Meriden, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Middletown, Connecticut (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Connecticut (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Connecticut
- Best HVAC Schools in Connecticut (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Connecticut
- Best Plumbing Schools in Connecticut (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Connecticut
Explore More Trades in Connecticut
- Electrician in Connecticut
- Plumber in Connecticut
- HVAC Technician in Connecticut
- Welder in Connecticut
- Carpenter in Connecticut
- Solar Installation Technician in Connecticut
- Auto Mechanic in Connecticut
- CNC Machinist in Connecticut
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Connecticut
- Medical Assistant in Connecticut
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |