How to Become a Patient Care Technician in Illinois (2026)
Illinois employs about 68,640 patient care technicians earning a median $45,960 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Nursing Assistants”). Training as a Patient Care Technician here means completing CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Illinois): $45,960/yr (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Nursing Assistants), 2025)
- Employed in Illinois: 68,640 workers (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Nursing Assistants), 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.21x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 2.3% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Patient Care Technician Schools in Illinois
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Kishwaukee College | 66.2 | $4,560 - $13,901 | $49,273 | 42% | Yes* | 64 mi |
| 2 | Waubonsee Community College | 59.6 | Contact school for pricing | $51,678 | Not reported | Yes* | 60 mi |
| 3 | Sauk Valley Community College | 59.1 | Contact school for pricing | $54,209 | 50% | Yes* | 65 mi |
| 4 | Illinois Valley Community College | 58.3 | $4,200 - $16,385 | $48,989 | 43% | Yes* | 22 mi |
| 5 | Spoon River College | 56.1 | Contact school for pricing | $35,368 | 42% | Yes* | 68 mi |
| 6 | Joliet Junior College | 55.1 | $4,530 - $13,800 | $51,121 | 21% | Yes* | 52 mi |
| 7 | Kankakee Community College | 53.4 | $5,220 - $25,830 | $50,343 | 35% | Yes* | 57 mi |
| 8 | Heartland Community College | 51.7 | $5,550 - $16,727 | $48,942 | 53% | Yes* | 33 mi |
| 9 | Illinois Central College | 50.0 | Contact school for pricing | $55,058 | Not reported | Yes* | 36 mi |
| 10 | College of DuPage | 47.7 | Contact school for pricing | $55,984 | 25% | — | 73 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Illinois employs approximately 68,640 workers in the related “Nursing Assistants” category (SOC 31-1131), with a median annual wage of $45,960 1. The state’s concentration of jobs in this category is 1.21x the national average, indicating strong regional demand. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 204,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Patient Care Technician in Illinois, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track patient care technician salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131). Actual patient care technician earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: PCT or CNA training (find programs)
- Typical timeline: CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing
- Exam: CPCT and/or state CNA exam
- Median wage (Illinois): $45,960 per year (based on related “Nursing Assistants” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Patient Care Technician in Illinois
How to become a Patient Care Technician in Illinois? Complete CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Illinois? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect CPCT and/or state CNA exam. See the licensing section below.
What do patient care technicians earn in Illinois? The BLS does not track patient care technician wages separately. Based on the related “Nursing Assistants” category, the median annual wage in Illinois is $45,960, with entry-level wages around $37,590 and experienced workers earning $54,050 or more 1.
How to Become a Patient Care Technician in Illinois
- Complete CNA or PCT training. Many PCT jobs require a CNA listing plus extra modules (phlebotomy, EKG). This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CPCT if the employer requires it. Pass CPCT and keep any required nurse-aide registry listing current.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Patient Care Technician License Requirements in Illinois
Patient care technicians often need a CNA listing plus CPCT. Confirm Illinois nurse-aide rules rather than inventing a separate PCT license.
Typical path
Complete CNA or PCT training.
Earn CPCT if required.
Keep nurse-aide listing current if the state uses one.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Patient Care Technician Wages by Metro Area in Illinois
Patient Care Technician Wages by Metro Area in Illinois
Note: The BLS does not track patient care technician wages separately. The data below is based on the closest matching category: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131).
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), nursing assistants wages in Illinois vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chicago-Naperville-Elgin | 45,850 | $46,940 | $46,610 | $38,980 | $54,450 |
| St. Louis | 14,620 | $39,110 | $40,720 | $35,300 | $46,890 |
| Peoria | 2,740 | $43,040 | $42,580 | $37,110 | $48,960 |
| Davenport-Moline-Rock Island | 2,220 | $38,740 | $40,780 | $36,100 | $46,810 |
| Rockford | 2,120 | $40,140 | $42,320 | $37,440 | $48,810 |
| Champaign-Urbana | 1,560 | $39,890 | $42,860 | $37,820 | $48,790 |
| Springfield | 1,120 | $40,070 | $42,100 | $38,050 | $48,160 |
| Bloomington | 950 | $43,180 | $43,480 | $37,380 | $51,470 |
| Kankakee | 860 | $37,900 | $41,760 | $32,750 | $49,760 |
| Paducah | 710 | $37,860 | $38,080 | $30,210 | $44,240 |
| Cape Girardeau | 680 | $36,650 | $36,700 | $30,610 | $43,460 |
| Decatur | 600 | $41,990 | $44,060 | $36,390 | $51,290 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for patient care technicians in Illinois? Illinois employs approximately 68,640 workers in the related “Nursing Assistants” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Illinois? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Illinois.
How much do patient care technicians earn in Illinois compared to the national average? The median annual wage for patient care technicians in Illinois is $45,960 (based on the related “Nursing Assistants” category), which is $6,430 above the national median of $39,530 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Illinois
Top local programs
- Best Patient Care Technician Programs in Illinois (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Programs in Springfield IL, Illinois (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Addison, Illinois (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Algonquin, Illinois (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Alsip, Illinois (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Alton, Illinois (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Antioch, Illinois (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Arlington Heights, Illinois (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Aurora, Illinois (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Barrington, Illinois (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Bartlett, Illinois (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Batavia, Illinois (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Illinois (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Illinois
- Best HVAC Schools in Illinois (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Illinois
- Best Plumbing Schools in Illinois (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Illinois
Explore More Trades in Illinois
- Electrician in Illinois
- Plumber in Illinois
- HVAC Technician in Illinois
- Welder in Illinois
- Carpenter in Illinois
- Solar Installation Technician in Illinois
- Auto Mechanic in Illinois
- CNC Machinist in Illinois
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Illinois
- Medical Assistant in Illinois
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |