How to Become a Patient Care Technician in Louisiana (2026)
Louisiana employs about 20,690 patient care technicians earning a median $30,510 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Nursing Assistants”). Training as a Patient Care Technician here means completing CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Louisiana): $30,510/yr (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Nursing Assistants), 2025)
- Employed in Louisiana: 20,690 workers (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Nursing Assistants), 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.15x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 2.3% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Patient Care Technician Schools in Louisiana
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Infinity College | 86.3 | Contact school for pricing | $33,217 | 87% | Yes* | 52 mi |
| 2 | Petra College | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 82 mi |
| 3 | Central Louisiana Technical Community College | 57.4 | Contact school for pricing | $34,374 | 72% | Yes* | 47 mi |
| 4 | Hinds Community College | 53.6 | Contact school for pricing | $40,042 | Not reported | Yes* | 118 mi |
| 5 | Williams Technical College | 47.1 | Contact school for pricing | $31,030 | Not reported | — | 113 mi |
| 6 | River Parishes Community College | 46.0 | Contact school for pricing | $62,593 | Not reported | Yes* | 73 mi |
| 7 | Fletcher Technical Community College | 45.6 | Contact school for pricing | $53,749 | Not reported | Yes* | 102 mi |
| 8 | Northshore Technical Community College | 41.6 | Contact school for pricing | $37,814 | Not reported | Yes* | 117 mi |
| 9 | Louisiana Delta Community College | 41.3 | Contact school for pricing | $37,409 | 29% | Yes* | 106 mi |
| 10 | South Louisiana Community College | 40.6 | $4,210 - $19,044 | $45,336 | 30% | Yes* | 56 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Louisiana employs approximately 20,690 workers in the related “Nursing Assistants” category (SOC 31-1131), with a median annual wage of $30,510 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 204,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Patient Care Technician in Louisiana, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track patient care technician salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131). Actual patient care technician earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: PCT or CNA training (find programs)
- Typical timeline: CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing
- Exam: CPCT and/or state CNA exam
- Median wage (Louisiana): $30,510 per year (based on related “Nursing Assistants” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Patient Care Technician in Louisiana
How to become a Patient Care Technician in Louisiana? Complete CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Louisiana? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect CPCT and/or state CNA exam. See the licensing section below.
What do patient care technicians earn in Louisiana? The BLS does not track patient care technician wages separately. Based on the related “Nursing Assistants” category, the median annual wage in Louisiana is $30,510, with entry-level wages around $27,980 and experienced workers earning $37,390 or more 1.
How to Become a Patient Care Technician in Louisiana
- Complete CNA or PCT training. Many PCT jobs require a CNA listing plus extra modules (phlebotomy, EKG). This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CPCT if the employer requires it. Pass CPCT and keep any required nurse-aide registry listing current.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Patient Care Technician License Requirements in Louisiana
Patient care technicians often need a CNA listing plus CPCT. Confirm Louisiana nurse-aide rules rather than inventing a separate PCT license.
Typical path
Complete CNA or PCT training.
Earn CPCT if required.
Keep nurse-aide listing current if the state uses one.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Patient Care Technician Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana
Patient Care Technician Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana
Note: The BLS does not track patient care technician wages separately. The data below is based on the closest matching category: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131).
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), nursing assistants wages in Louisiana vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Orleans-Metairie | 3,660 | $34,320 | $34,280 | $28,690 | $38,220 |
| Baton Rouge | 3,500 | $31,220 | $32,830 | $29,070 | $37,270 |
| Shreveport-Bossier City | 2,330 | $32,160 | $33,590 | $28,960 | $40,760 |
| Lafayette | 1,990 | $29,960 | $30,850 | $27,260 | $36,630 |
| Monroe | 1,340 | $29,880 | $30,500 | $27,580 | $35,250 |
| Slidell-Mandeville-Covington | 1,030 | $34,050 | $33,770 | $29,300 | $37,890 |
| Alexandria | 910 | $30,650 | $32,640 | $27,730 | $37,390 |
| Lake Charles | 730 | $33,850 | $32,580 | $27,490 | $38,660 |
| Houma-Bayou Cane-Thibodaux | 630 | $30,140 | $30,720 | $26,710 | $35,510 |
| Hammond | 600 | $33,010 | $32,840 | $28,670 | $37,290 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for patient care technicians in Louisiana? Louisiana employs approximately 20,690 workers in the related “Nursing Assistants” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Louisiana? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Louisiana.
How much do patient care technicians earn in Louisiana compared to the national average? The median annual wage for patient care technicians in Louisiana is $30,510 (based on the related “Nursing Assistants” category), which is $9,020 below the national median of $39,530 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Louisiana
Top local programs
- Best Patient Care Technician Programs in Baton Rouge Metro, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Programs in Baton Rouge North, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Programs in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Abbeville, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Alexandria, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Baker, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Bastrop, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Baton Rouge, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Bogalusa, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Bossier City, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Breaux Bridge, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Broussard, Louisiana (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Louisiana
- Best HVAC Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Louisiana
- Best Plumbing Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Louisiana
Explore More Trades in Louisiana
- Electrician in Louisiana
- Plumber in Louisiana
- HVAC Technician in Louisiana
- Welder in Louisiana
- Carpenter in Louisiana
- Solar Installation Technician in Louisiana
- Auto Mechanic in Louisiana
- CNC Machinist in Louisiana
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Louisiana
- Medical Assistant in Louisiana
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |