How to Become a Patient Care Technician in Nebraska (2026)
Nebraska employs about 16,450 patient care technicians earning a median $40,000 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Nursing Assistants”). Training as a Patient Care Technician here means completing CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Nebraska): $40,000/yr (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Nursing Assistants), 2025)
- Employed in Nebraska: 16,450 workers (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Nursing Assistants), 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.72x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 2.3% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Patient Care Technician Schools in Nebraska
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Salina Area Technical College | 78.9 | Contact school for pricing | $45,249 | 70% | Yes* | 158 mi |
| 2 | Washburn Institute of Technology | 71.0 | Contact school for pricing | $56,774 | 66% | Yes* | 152 mi |
| 3 | Fort Hays Tech North Central | 60.9 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 122 mi |
| 4 | Cloud County Community College | 59.0 | Contact school for pricing | $45,359 | 51% | Yes* | 108 mi |
| 5 | Manhattan Area Technical College | 58.6 | Contact school for pricing | $57,918 | 70% | — | 128 mi |
| 6 | Western Iowa Tech Community College | 57.6 | Contact school for pricing | $47,713 | 44% | Yes* | 105 mi |
| 7 | Southwestern Community College | 57.2 | $8,064 - $16,951 | $51,650 | 56% | Yes* | 135 mi |
| 8 | Iowa Central Community College | 54.0 | Contact school for pricing | $46,682 | Not reported | Yes* | 175 mi |
| 9 | Iowa Western Community College | 48.3 | Contact school for pricing | $51,139 | Not reported | Yes* | 64 mi |
| 10 | Highland Community College | 48.1 | Contact school for pricing | $43,261 | 39% | Yes* | 121 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Nebraska employs approximately 16,450 workers in the related “Nursing Assistants” category (SOC 31-1131), with a median annual wage of $40,000 1. The state’s concentration of jobs in this category is 1.72x the national average, indicating strong regional demand. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 204,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Patient Care Technician in Nebraska, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track patient care technician salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131). Actual patient care technician earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: PCT or CNA training (find programs)
- Typical timeline: CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing
- Exam: CPCT and/or state CNA exam
- Median wage (Nebraska): $40,000 per year (based on related “Nursing Assistants” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Patient Care Technician in Nebraska
How to become a Patient Care Technician in Nebraska? Complete CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Nebraska? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect CPCT and/or state CNA exam. See the licensing section below.
What do patient care technicians earn in Nebraska? The BLS does not track patient care technician wages separately. Based on the related “Nursing Assistants” category, the median annual wage in Nebraska is $40,000, with entry-level wages around $37,090 and experienced workers earning $48,980 or more 1.
How to Become a Patient Care Technician in Nebraska
- Complete CNA or PCT training. Many PCT jobs require a CNA listing plus extra modules (phlebotomy, EKG). This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CPCT if the employer requires it. Pass CPCT and keep any required nurse-aide registry listing current.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Patient Care Technician License Requirements in Nebraska
Patient care technicians often need a CNA listing plus CPCT. Confirm Nebraska nurse-aide rules rather than inventing a separate PCT license.
Typical path
Complete CNA or PCT training.
Earn CPCT if required.
Keep nurse-aide listing current if the state uses one.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Patient Care Technician Wages by Metro Area in Nebraska
Patient Care Technician Wages by Metro Area in Nebraska
Note: The BLS does not track patient care technician wages separately. The data below is based on the closest matching category: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131).
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), nursing assistants wages in Nebraska vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omaha | 7,740 | $40,020 | $43,020 | $37,750 | $49,760 |
| Lincoln | 2,630 | $38,650 | $41,500 | $37,060 | $48,310 |
| Sioux City | 930 | $38,940 | $41,360 | $36,410 | $48,090 |
| Grand Island | 590 | $38,880 | $41,920 | $36,660 | $48,350 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for patient care technicians in Nebraska? Nebraska employs approximately 16,450 workers in the related “Nursing Assistants” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Nebraska? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Nebraska.
How much do patient care technicians earn in Nebraska compared to the national average? The median annual wage for patient care technicians in Nebraska is $40,000 (based on the related “Nursing Assistants” category), which is $470 above the national median of $39,530 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Nebraska
Top local programs
- Best Patient Care Technician Programs in Nebraska (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Beatrice, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Bellevue, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Columbus, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Fremont, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Grand Island, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Hastings, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Kearney, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in LA Vista, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Lexington, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Lincoln, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Norfolk, Nebraska (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Nebraska (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Nebraska
- Best HVAC Schools in Nebraska (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Nebraska
- Best Plumbing Schools in Nebraska (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Nebraska
Explore More Trades in Nebraska
- Electrician in Nebraska
- Plumber in Nebraska
- HVAC Technician in Nebraska
- Welder in Nebraska
- Carpenter in Nebraska
- Solar Installation Technician in Nebraska
- Auto Mechanic in Nebraska
- CNC Machinist in Nebraska
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Nebraska
- Medical Assistant in Nebraska
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |