How to Become a Patient Care Technician in New York (2026)
New York employs about 87,990 patient care technicians earning a median $48,590 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Nursing Assistants”). Training as a Patient Care Technician here means completing CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing.
Key Facts
- Median wage (New York): $48,590/yr (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Nursing Assistants), 2025)
- Employed in New York: 87,990 workers (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Nursing Assistants), 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.97x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 2.3% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Patient Care Technician Schools in New York
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Healthcare Training Institute | 75.6 | Contact school for pricing | $42,547 | 93% | — | 43 mi |
| 2 | American Institute of Medical Sciences & Education | 72.0 | Contact school for pricing | $56,760 | 84% | — | 54 mi |
| 3 | Access Careers | 70.9 | Contact school for pricing | $43,184 | Not reported | — | 50 mi |
| 4 | Austin Medical Assistant Training | 66.7 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 100% | — | 44 mi |
| 5 | American Institute of Healthcare & Technology | 58.3 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 100% | — | 53 mi |
| 6 | Eastwick College-Nutley | 57.9 | Contact school for pricing | $46,087 | 60% | — | 35 mi |
| 7 | Best Care College | 52.2 | Contact school for pricing | $89,155 | 60% | — | 38 mi |
| 8 | Access Careers-Islandia | 49.7 | Contact school for pricing | $43,184 | Not reported | — | 62 mi |
| 9 | New Age Training | 48.7 | Contact school for pricing | $37,928 | 75% | — | 42 mi |
| 10 | Lincoln Technical Institute-Paramus | 29.0 | Contact school for pricing | $42,316 | 62% | — | 28 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, New York employs approximately 87,990 workers in the related “Nursing Assistants” category (SOC 31-1131), with a median annual wage of $48,590 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 204,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Patient Care Technician in New York, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track patient care technician salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131). Actual patient care technician earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: PCT or CNA training (find programs)
- Typical timeline: CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing
- Exam: CPCT and/or state CNA exam
- Median wage (New York): $48,590 per year (based on related “Nursing Assistants” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Patient Care Technician in New York
How to become a Patient Care Technician in New York? Complete CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in New York? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect CPCT and/or state CNA exam. See the licensing section below.
What do patient care technicians earn in New York? The BLS does not track patient care technician wages separately. Based on the related “Nursing Assistants” category, the median annual wage in New York is $48,590, with entry-level wages around $38,450 and experienced workers earning $59,890 or more 1.
How to Become a Patient Care Technician in New York
- Complete CNA or PCT training. Many PCT jobs require a CNA listing plus extra modules (phlebotomy, EKG). This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CPCT if the employer requires it. Pass CPCT and keep any required nurse-aide registry listing current.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Patient Care Technician License Requirements in New York
Patient care technicians often need a CNA listing plus CPCT. Confirm New York nurse-aide rules rather than inventing a separate PCT license.
Typical path
Complete CNA or PCT training.
Earn CPCT if required.
Keep nurse-aide listing current if the state uses one.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Patient Care Technician Wages by Metro Area in New York
Patient Care Technician Wages by Metro Area in New York
Note: The BLS does not track patient care technician wages separately. The data below is based on the closest matching category: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131).
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), nursing assistants wages in New York vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New York-Newark-Jersey City | 79,480 | $49,270 | $50,810 | $43,240 | $60,530 |
| Buffalo-Cheektowaga | 5,230 | $39,790 | $41,710 | $37,150 | $48,120 |
| Rochester | 5,130 | $40,050 | $42,020 | $38,070 | $47,800 |
| Albany-Schenectady-Troy | 4,200 | $40,160 | $41,750 | $36,090 | $47,580 |
| Syracuse | 3,120 | $42,940 | $44,320 | $37,810 | $50,420 |
| Kiryas Joel-Poughkeepsie-Newburgh | 2,380 | $45,730 | $46,940 | $39,460 | $55,700 |
| Utica-Rome | 1,590 | $43,560 | $42,460 | $37,470 | $46,940 |
| Binghamton | 1,310 | $44,410 | $43,180 | $33,870 | $47,860 |
| Kingston | 540 | $44,710 | $45,830 | $37,630 | $56,510 |
| Ithaca | 470 | $45,640 | $45,170 | $38,580 | $50,630 |
| Watertown-Fort Drum | 470 | $38,320 | $39,620 | $36,470 | $43,870 |
| Elmira | 440 | $37,960 | $39,090 | $36,800 | $45,050 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for patient care technicians in New York? New York employs approximately 87,990 workers in the related “Nursing Assistants” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in New York? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in New York.
How much do patient care technicians earn in New York compared to the national average? The median annual wage for patient care technicians in New York is $48,590 (based on the related “Nursing Assistants” category), which is $9,060 above the national median of $39,530 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In New York
Top local programs
- Best Patient Care Technician Programs in New York (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Programs in New York City, New York (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Albany, New York (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Amsterdam, New York (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Auburn, New York (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Binghamton, New York (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Brockport, New York (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Bronx, New York (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Brooklyn, New York (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Buffalo, New York (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Cortland, New York (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Dunkirk, New York (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in New York (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in New York
- Best HVAC Schools in New York (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in New York
- Best Plumbing Schools in New York (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in New York
Explore More Trades in New York
- Electrician in New York
- Plumber in New York
- HVAC Technician in New York
- Welder in New York
- Carpenter in New York
- Solar Installation Technician in New York
- Auto Mechanic in New York
- CNC Machinist in New York
- Certified Nursing Assistant in New York
- Medical Assistant in New York
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |