How to Become a Patient Care Technician in North Carolina (2026)
North Carolina employs about 64,010 patient care technicians earning a median $38,460 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Nursing Assistants”). Training as a Patient Care Technician here means completing CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing.
Key Facts
- Median wage (North Carolina): $38,460/yr (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Nursing Assistants), 2025)
- Employed in North Carolina: 64,010 workers (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Nursing Assistants), 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.39x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 2.3% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Patient Care Technician Schools in North Carolina
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Central Carolina Community College | 60.6 | Contact school for pricing | $42,844 | Not reported | Yes* | 34 mi |
| 2 | Sandhills Community College | 58.9 | Contact school for pricing | $43,952 | 50% | Yes* | 25 mi |
| 3 | Wake Technical Community College | 55.3 | Contact school for pricing | $49,034 | Not reported | Yes* | 61 mi |
| 4 | Central Piedmont Community College | 52.6 | Contact school for pricing | $48,441 | Not reported | Yes* | 63 mi |
| 5 | Montgomery Community College | 52.6 | Contact school for pricing | $41,824 | 65% | Yes* | 9 mi |
| 6 | Davidson-Davie Community College | 51.6 | Contact school for pricing | $44,533 | 44% | Yes* | 37 mi |
| 7 | Alamance Community College | 50.9 | Contact school for pricing | $41,411 | Not reported | Yes* | 48 mi |
| 8 | Durham Technical Community College | 49.8 | Contact school for pricing | $57,868 | 40% | Yes* | 61 mi |
| 9 | Richmond Community College | 49.0 | Contact school for pricing | $42,771 | 43% | Yes* | 38 mi |
| 10 | Rowan-Cabarrus Community College | 47.2 | Contact school for pricing | $43,916 | 33% | Yes* | 43 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, North Carolina employs approximately 64,010 workers in the related “Nursing Assistants” category (SOC 31-1131), with a median annual wage of $38,460 1. The state’s concentration of jobs in this category is 1.39x the national average, indicating strong regional demand. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 204,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Patient Care Technician in North Carolina, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track patient care technician salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131). Actual patient care technician earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: PCT or CNA training (find programs)
- Typical timeline: CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing
- Exam: CPCT and/or state CNA exam
- Median wage (North Carolina): $38,460 per year (based on related “Nursing Assistants” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Patient Care Technician in North Carolina
How to become a Patient Care Technician in North Carolina? Complete CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in North Carolina? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect CPCT and/or state CNA exam. See the licensing section below.
What do patient care technicians earn in North Carolina? The BLS does not track patient care technician wages separately. Based on the related “Nursing Assistants” category, the median annual wage in North Carolina is $38,460, with entry-level wages around $30,260 and experienced workers earning $47,080 or more 1.
How to Become a Patient Care Technician in North Carolina
- Complete CNA or PCT training. Many PCT jobs require a CNA listing plus extra modules (phlebotomy, EKG). This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CPCT if the employer requires it. Pass CPCT and keep any required nurse-aide registry listing current.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Patient Care Technician License Requirements in North Carolina
Patient care technicians often need a CNA listing plus CPCT. Confirm North Carolina nurse-aide rules rather than inventing a separate PCT license.
Typical path
Complete CNA or PCT training.
Earn CPCT if required.
Keep nurse-aide listing current if the state uses one.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Patient Care Technician Wages by Metro Area in North Carolina
Patient Care Technician Wages by Metro Area in North Carolina
Note: The BLS does not track patient care technician wages separately. The data below is based on the closest matching category: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131).
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), nursing assistants wages in North Carolina vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia | 13,580 | $39,430 | $41,410 | $33,730 | $49,050 |
| Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk | 8,110 | $38,990 | $40,420 | $31,210 | $47,440 |
| Raleigh-Cary | 6,420 | $39,710 | $40,460 | $30,660 | $47,740 |
| Greensboro-High Point | 5,280 | $38,260 | $38,650 | $29,600 | $45,920 |
| Durham-Chapel Hill | 4,830 | $40,560 | $42,540 | $36,830 | $49,320 |
| Winston-Salem | 4,450 | $38,660 | $39,270 | $32,510 | $45,630 |
| Hickory-Lenoir-Morganton | 2,780 | $37,430 | $37,960 | $31,240 | $44,860 |
| Asheville | 2,590 | $40,170 | $41,500 | $33,670 | $49,030 |
| Wilmington | 2,390 | $37,710 | $38,100 | $29,710 | $47,100 |
| Fayetteville | 2,130 | $37,530 | $37,600 | $28,660 | $44,990 |
| Greenville | 1,730 | $39,480 | $38,270 | $29,290 | $43,060 |
| Burlington | 1,020 | $39,090 | $39,150 | $30,480 | $45,650 |
| Pinehurst-Southern Pines | 950 | $36,930 | $36,830 | $29,830 | $43,570 |
| Rocky Mount | 940 | $37,650 | $36,370 | $27,600 | $43,740 |
| Goldsboro | 600 | $38,540 | $37,860 | $29,920 | $46,580 |
| Jacksonville | 530 | $35,880 | $36,100 | $30,130 | $42,070 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for patient care technicians in North Carolina? North Carolina employs approximately 64,010 workers in the related “Nursing Assistants” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in North Carolina? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in North Carolina.
How much do patient care technicians earn in North Carolina compared to the national average? The median annual wage for patient care technicians in North Carolina is $38,460 (based on the related “Nursing Assistants” category), which is $1,070 below the national median of $39,530 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In North Carolina
Top local programs
- Best Patient Care Technician Programs in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Albemarle, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Apex, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Archdale, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Archer Lodge, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Asheboro, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Asheville, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Belmont, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Boone, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Brevard, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Burlington, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Butner, North Carolina (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in North Carolina
- Best HVAC Schools in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in North Carolina
- Best Plumbing Schools in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in North Carolina
Explore More Trades in North Carolina
- Electrician in North Carolina
- Plumber in North Carolina
- HVAC Technician in North Carolina
- Welder in North Carolina
- Carpenter in North Carolina
- Solar Installation Technician in North Carolina
- Auto Mechanic in North Carolina
- CNC Machinist in North Carolina
- Certified Nursing Assistant in North Carolina
- Medical Assistant in North Carolina
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |