How to Become a Patient Care Technician in Pennsylvania (2026)

Pennsylvania employs about 67,740 patient care technicians earning a median $44,590 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Nursing Assistants”). Training as a Patient Care Technician here means completing CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing.

Key Facts

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Patient Care Technician Schools in Pennsylvania

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
173.5Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported116 mi
272.0Contact school for pricing$56,76084%133 mi
363.3Contact school for pricing$55,88928%Yes*94 mi
461.2Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported115 mi
560.8Contact school for pricing$54,60774%117 mi
660.0$5,683 - $13,963$52,63730%Yes*105 mi
758.2Contact school for pricing$45,60937%Yes*99 mi
853.1Contact school for pricing$47,03142%Yes*106 mi
952.4Contact school for pricing$32,884Not reported80 mi
1050.2Contact school for pricing$25,16680%105 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Pennsylvania employs approximately 67,740 workers in the related “Nursing Assistants” category (SOC 31-1131), with a median annual wage of $44,590 1. The state’s concentration of jobs in this category is 1.20x the national average, indicating strong regional demand. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 204,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Patient Care Technician in Pennsylvania, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track patient care technician salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131). Actual patient care technician earnings may vary.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: PCT or CNA training (find programs)
  • Typical timeline: CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing
  • Exam: CPCT and/or state CNA exam
  • Median wage (Pennsylvania): $44,590 per year (based on related “Nursing Assistants” category) 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Patient Care Technician in Pennsylvania

How to become a Patient Care Technician in Pennsylvania? Complete CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

How long does it take? Most people finish CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.

Do I need a license in Pennsylvania? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect CPCT and/or state CNA exam. See the licensing section below.

What do patient care technicians earn in Pennsylvania? The BLS does not track patient care technician wages separately. Based on the related “Nursing Assistants” category, the median annual wage in Pennsylvania is $44,590, with entry-level wages around $37,760 and experienced workers earning $49,360 or more 1.

How to Become a Patient Care Technician in Pennsylvania

  1. Complete CNA or PCT training. Many PCT jobs require a CNA listing plus extra modules (phlebotomy, EKG). This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  2. Earn CPCT if the employer requires it. Pass CPCT and keep any required nurse-aide registry listing current.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.

Patient Care Technician License Requirements in Pennsylvania

Patient care technicians often need a CNA listing plus CPCT. Confirm Pennsylvania nurse-aide rules rather than inventing a separate PCT license.

Typical path

  1. Complete CNA or PCT training.

  2. Earn CPCT if required.

  3. Keep nurse-aide listing current if the state uses one.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.

Patient Care Technician Wages by Metro Area in Pennsylvania

Patient Care Technician Wages by Metro Area in Pennsylvania

Note: The BLS does not track patient care technician wages separately. The data below is based on the closest matching category: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131).

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), nursing assistants wages in Pennsylvania vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington30,680$46,220$45,820$38,600$49,860
Pittsburgh12,140$43,080$42,820$37,990$47,620
Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton4,970$44,360$43,640$38,020$48,080
Harrisburg-Carlisle4,490$43,940$42,280$37,610$46,540
Lancaster3,380$44,890$43,610$38,690$49,060
Scranton--Wilkes-Barre3,080$43,980$42,570$37,640$46,420
York-Hanover1,890$44,530$43,740$38,440$47,600
Reading1,830$45,530$44,220$38,560$51,680
Erie1,800$39,430$41,030$37,240$45,320
Altoona820$38,870$40,890$36,750$46,780
Lebanon730$45,340$45,200$37,850$53,350
Williamsport730$39,830$41,240$37,350$45,290
Chambersburg540$45,260$46,320$37,970$53,680
State College540$39,440$40,660$37,340$44,570
Johnstown440$38,760$38,960$34,550$42,820
Gettysburg370$42,520$42,460$37,900$48,300

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for patient care technicians in Pennsylvania? Pennsylvania employs approximately 67,740 workers in the related “Nursing Assistants” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Pennsylvania? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Pennsylvania.

How much do patient care technicians earn in Pennsylvania compared to the national average? The median annual wage for patient care technicians in Pennsylvania is $44,590 (based on the related “Nursing Assistants” category), which is $5,060 above the national median of $39,530 according to BLS data 1.

In Pennsylvania

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Pennsylvania

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)