How to Become a Patient Care Technician in South Dakota (2026)
South Dakota employs about 6,860 patient care technicians earning a median $38,800 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Nursing Assistants”). Training as a Patient Care Technician here means completing CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing.
Key Facts
- Median wage (South Dakota): $38,800/yr (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Nursing Assistants), 2025)
- Employed in South Dakota: 6,860 workers (Source: BLS OEWS (proxy: Nursing Assistants), 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.61x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 2.3% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Patient Care Technician Schools in South Dakota
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Alexandria Technical & Community College | 74.5 | Contact school for pricing | $59,377 | Not reported | Yes* | 229 mi |
| 2 | Rasmussen University-North Dakota | 70.8 | Contact school for pricing | $59,996 | Not reported | Yes* | 229 mi |
| 3 | Central Lakes College-Brainerd | 60.4 | $6,249 - $19,543 | $50,357 | 51% | Yes* | 294 mi |
| 4 | South Central College | 60.0 | Contact school for pricing | $52,003 | 34% | Yes* | 261 mi |
| 5 | Rasmussen University-Minnesota | 59.9 | Contact school for pricing | $59,996 | 53% | Yes* | 270 mi |
| 6 | Hennepin Technical College | 58.9 | $5,940 - $16,032 | $59,906 | 43% | Yes* | 300 mi |
| 7 | Minnesota West Community and Technical College | 58.5 | $6,491 - $17,408 | $52,390 | 49% | Yes* | 192 mi |
| 8 | Western Iowa Tech Community College | 57.6 | Contact school for pricing | $47,713 | 44% | Yes* | 186 mi |
| 9 | Iowa Central Community College | 54.0 | Contact school for pricing | $46,682 | Not reported | Yes* | 280 mi |
| 10 | Normandale Community College | 48.8 | Contact school for pricing | $54,750 | 23% | Yes* | 300 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, South Dakota employs approximately 6,860 workers in the related “Nursing Assistants” category (SOC 31-1131), with a median annual wage of $38,800 1. The state’s concentration of jobs in this category is 1.61x the national average, indicating strong regional demand. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 204,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Patient Care Technician in South Dakota, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track patient care technician salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131). Actual patient care technician earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: PCT or CNA training (find programs)
- Typical timeline: CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing
- Exam: CPCT and/or state CNA exam
- Median wage (South Dakota): $38,800 per year (based on related “Nursing Assistants” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Patient Care Technician in South Dakota
How to become a Patient Care Technician in South Dakota? Complete CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in South Dakota? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect CPCT and/or state CNA exam. See the licensing section below.
What do patient care technicians earn in South Dakota? The BLS does not track patient care technician wages separately. Based on the related “Nursing Assistants” category, the median annual wage in South Dakota is $38,800, with entry-level wages around $31,110 and experienced workers earning $46,100 or more 1.
How to Become a Patient Care Technician in South Dakota
- Complete CNA or PCT training. Many PCT jobs require a CNA listing plus extra modules (phlebotomy, EKG). This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CPCT if the employer requires it. Pass CPCT and keep any required nurse-aide registry listing current.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Patient Care Technician License Requirements in South Dakota
Patient care technicians often need a CNA listing plus CPCT. Confirm South Dakota nurse-aide rules rather than inventing a separate PCT license.
Typical path
Complete CNA or PCT training.
Earn CPCT if required.
Keep nurse-aide listing current if the state uses one.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Patient Care Technician Wages by Metro Area in South Dakota
Patient Care Technician Wages by Metro Area in South Dakota
Note: The BLS does not track patient care technician wages separately. The data below is based on the closest matching category: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131).
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), nursing assistants wages in South Dakota vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sioux Falls | 2,930 | $39,190 | $39,260 | $31,110 | $45,850 |
| Rapid City | 1,280 | $38,500 | $40,150 | $36,290 | $46,100 |
| Sioux City | 930 | $38,940 | $41,360 | $36,410 | $48,090 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for patient care technicians in South Dakota? South Dakota employs approximately 6,860 workers in the related “Nursing Assistants” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in South Dakota? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in South Dakota.
How much do patient care technicians earn in South Dakota compared to the national average? The median annual wage for patient care technicians in South Dakota is $38,800 (based on the related “Nursing Assistants” category), which is $730 below the national median of $39,530 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In South Dakota
Top local programs
- Best Patient Care Technician Programs in South Dakota (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Aberdeen, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Brookings, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Huron, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Mitchell, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Pierre, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Rapid City, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Sioux Falls, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Spearfish, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Vermillion, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Watertown, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Yankton, South Dakota (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in South Dakota (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in South Dakota
- Best HVAC Schools in South Dakota (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in South Dakota
- Best Plumbing Schools in South Dakota (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in South Dakota
Explore More Trades in South Dakota
- Electrician in South Dakota
- Plumber in South Dakota
- HVAC Technician in South Dakota
- Welder in South Dakota
- Carpenter in South Dakota
- Solar Installation Technician in South Dakota
- Auto Mechanic in South Dakota
- CNC Machinist in South Dakota
- Certified Nursing Assistant in South Dakota
- Medical Assistant in South Dakota
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |