How to Become a Patient Care Technician in West Virginia (2026)
West Virginia employs about 9,390 patient care technicians earning a median $36,720 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Nursing Assistants”). Training as a Patient Care Technician here means completing CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing.
Compare Patient Care Technician Schools in West Virginia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pickaway Ross Joint Vocational School District | 83.0 | Contact school for pricing | $52,422 | 100% | — | 105 mi |
| 2 | Career and Technology Education Centers of Licking County | 71.2 | Contact school for pricing | $46,534 | 79% | — | 117 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Buckeye Hills Career Center | 70.4 | Contact school for pricing | $42,114 | 90% | — | 62 mi |
| 4 | Washington County Career Center-Adult Technical Training | 68.4 | Contact school for pricing | $38,613 | 79% | — | 52 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | West Virginia University at Parkersburg | 64.5 | $4,612 in-state / $9,124 out-of-state | $47,106 | 9% | Yes* | 40 mi |
| 6 | Mid-EastCTC-Adult Education | 64.1 | Contact school for pricing | $53,648 | 72% | — | 96 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Collins Career Technical Center | 63.7 | Contact school for pricing | $51,897 | 55% | — | 66 mi |
| 8 | Pike County Joint Vocational School District | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 97 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Central Ohio Technical College | 56.8 | $5,256 in-state / $8,016 out-of-state | $59,751 | 30% | Yes* | 116 mi |
| 10 | Columbus State Community College | 56.1 | $5,488 in-state / $11,224 out-of-state | $52,681 | 28% | Yes* | 129 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, West Virginia employs approximately 9,390 workers in the related “Nursing Assistants” category (SOC 31-1131), with a median annual wage of $36,720 1. The state’s concentration of jobs in this category is 1.44x the national average, indicating strong regional demand. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 204,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Patient Care Technician in West Virginia, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track patient care technician salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131). Actual patient care technician earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: PCT or CNA training (find programs)
- Typical timeline: CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing
- Exam: CPCT and/or state CNA exam
- Median wage (West Virginia): $36,720 per year (based on related “Nursing Assistants” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Patient Care Technician in West Virginia
How to become a Patient Care Technician in West Virginia? Complete CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish CNA or PCT training plus CPCT; many PCT roles also require a nurse-aide listing. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in West Virginia? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect CPCT and/or state CNA exam. See the licensing section below.
What do patient care technicians earn in West Virginia? The BLS does not track patient care technician wages separately. Based on the related “Nursing Assistants” category, the median annual wage in West Virginia is $36,720, with entry-level wages around $31,060 and experienced workers earning $45,290 or more 1.
How to Become a Patient Care Technician in West Virginia
- Complete CNA or PCT training. Many PCT jobs require a CNA listing plus extra modules (phlebotomy, EKG). This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CPCT if the employer requires it. Pass CPCT and keep any required nurse-aide registry listing current.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Patient Care Technician License Requirements in West Virginia
Patient care technicians often need a CNA listing plus CPCT. Confirm West Virginia nurse-aide rules rather than inventing a separate PCT license.
Typical path
Complete CNA or PCT training.
Earn CPCT if required.
Keep nurse-aide listing current if the state uses one.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Patient Care Technician Wages by Metro Area in West Virginia
Patient Care Technician Wages by Metro Area in West Virginia
Note: The BLS does not track patient care technician wages separately. The data below is based on the closest matching category: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131).
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), nursing assistants wages in West Virginia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 25,520 | $45,730 | $45,130 | $36,060 | $55,390 |
| Huntington-Ashland | 1,950 | $37,140 | $36,890 | $29,600 | $45,400 |
| Charleston | 1,380 | $36,250 | $37,010 | $32,620 | $43,640 |
| Morgantown | 1,310 | $35,880 | $37,120 | $35,320 | $44,480 |
| Hagerstown-Martinsburg | 970 | $41,870 | $43,140 | $36,570 | $54,310 |
| Wheeling | 910 | $36,910 | $37,740 | $34,940 | $44,520 |
| Winchester | 810 | $39,970 | $39,970 | $30,070 | $50,420 |
| Weirton-Steubenville | 660 | $36,190 | $36,700 | $31,370 | $42,220 |
| Beckley | 590 | $35,810 | $36,210 | $30,950 | $41,590 |
| Parkersburg-Vienna | 400 | $36,220 | $36,660 | $31,060 | $43,160 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for patient care technicians in West Virginia? West Virginia employs approximately 9,390 workers in the related “Nursing Assistants” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 2.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in West Virginia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in West Virginia.
How much do patient care technicians earn in West Virginia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for patient care technicians in West Virginia is $36,720 (based on the related “Nursing Assistants” category), which is $2,810 below the national median of $39,530 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In West Virginia
Top local programs
- Best Patient Care Technician Programs in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Beckley, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Bluefield, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Charles Town, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Charleston, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Clarksburg, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Elkins, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Fairmont, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Huntington, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Martinsburg, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Morgantown, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Patient Care Technician Schools in Parkersburg, West Virginia (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in West Virginia
- Best HVAC Schools in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in West Virginia
- Best Plumbing Schools in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in West Virginia
Explore More Trades in West Virginia
- Electrician in West Virginia
- Plumber in West Virginia
- HVAC Technician in West Virginia
- Welder in West Virginia
- Carpenter in West Virginia
- Solar Installation Technician in West Virginia
- Auto Mechanic in West Virginia
- CNC Machinist in West Virginia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in West Virginia
- Medical Assistant in West Virginia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |