How to Become a Personal Trainer in Florida (2026)

Florida employs about 18,070 personal trainers earning a median $38,800 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Personal Trainer here means completing an NCCA-accredited CPT credential (NASM, ACE, or ISSA) plus CPR/AED; most states do not license personal trainers.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (Florida): $38,800/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in Florida: 18,070 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 0.88x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 11.9% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Personal Trainer Schools in Florida

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
169.2Contact school for pricing$25,965Not reported49 mi
267.0Contact school for pricing$52,55641%Yes*350 mi
364.2$3,120 - $9,262$46,27257%Yes*299 mi
461.5Contact school for pricing$45,937Not reportedYes*385 mi
558.9$2,026 - $13,378Not reported37%Yes*245 mi
653.1$2,830 - $21,947$49,84338%Yes*149 mi
751.3Contact school for pricing$50,97332%Yes*435 mi
847.2Contact school for pricing$43,81824%Yes*379 mi
945.4Contact school for pricing$43,46931%Yes*385 mi
1040.4Contact school for pricing$47,738Not reported490 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Florida employs approximately 18,070 personal trainers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $38,800 1. Nationally, personal trainer employment is projected to grow 11.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 74,200 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Personal Trainer in Florida, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: NCCA-accredited personal trainer certification program (find programs)
  • Typical timeline: an NCCA-accredited CPT credential (NASM, ACE, or ISSA) plus CPR/AED; most states do not license personal trainers
  • Exam: NASM, ACE, or ISSA CPT
  • Median wage (Florida): $38,800 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Personal Trainer in Florida

How to become a Personal Trainer in Florida? Complete an NCCA-accredited CPT credential (NASM, ACE, or ISSA) plus CPR/AED; most states do not license personal trainers. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

How long does it take? Most people finish an NCCA-accredited CPT credential (NASM, ACE, or ISSA) plus CPR/AED; most states do not license personal trainers. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.

Do I need a license in Florida? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect NASM, ACE, or ISSA CPT. See the licensing section below.

What do personal trainers earn in Florida? The median annual wage for personal trainers in Florida is $38,800 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $27,450 and experienced professionals can earn $72,870 or more 1.

How to Become a Personal Trainer in Florida

  1. Meet basic requirements. Certifying bodies typically expect a high school diploma or GED. This is not a state occupational license.
  2. Choose an NCCA-accredited CPT. Pick NASM, ACE, ISSA, ACSM, or NSCA. Do not treat horse-racing trainer or private-investigator trainer licenses as personal training credentials.
  3. Earn CPR/AED. Most certifying bodies and gyms require current CPR/AED before or with the exam.
  4. Pass the CPT exam and get floor hours. Pass the cert exam, then gain supervised gym or studio hours. This is not a registered apprenticeship and most states have no personal-trainer license board.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.

Personal Trainer License Requirements in Florida

Most states do not license personal trainers. Employers expect an NCCA-accredited CPT (NASM, ACE, ISSA, or similar) plus CPR/AED.

Typical path

  1. Choose an NCCA-accredited CPT.

  2. Earn CPR/AED.

  3. Pass the cert exam.

  4. Confirm any rare local registration with the city or gym, not a racing commission.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.

Personal Trainer Wages by Metro Area in Florida

Exercise Trainers and Group Fitness Instructors Wages by Metro Area in Florida

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), exercise trainers and group fitness instructors wages in Florida vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach5,470$31,140$40,910$27,380$62,930
Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater2,600$45,490$46,960$27,920$70,770
Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford2,310$43,750$45,430$27,790$71,360
Jacksonville1,610$45,990$48,680$28,030$79,150
North Port-Bradenton-Sarasota850$39,660$45,900$28,580$76,550
Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormond Beach460$38,810$44,270$27,040$75,530
Port St. Lucie450$41,180$46,450$27,790$72,120
Cape Coral-Fort Myers430$42,210$48,420$27,810$78,460
Tallahassee400$28,180$40,110$27,040$72,460
Naples-Marco Island370$52,000$54,690$30,360$83,350
Gainesville340$34,930$42,160$27,680$63,430
Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent330$45,820$51,070$27,750$75,530
Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville320$42,570$47,050$27,890$77,250
Lakeland-Winter Haven240$37,980$43,090$27,040$75,900
Ocala200$37,930$44,260$27,040$73,760
Crestview-Fort Walton Beach-Destin140$43,880$49,640$28,430$78,150
Panama City-Panama City Beach100$53,610$51,340$28,210$81,880
Punta Gorda90$38,800$45,490$28,290$72,620
Sebring70$29,190$35,750$28,110$48,160
Sebastian-Vero Beach-West Vero CorridorN/A$43,750$50,940$28,010$85,740

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for personal trainers in Florida? Florida currently employs approximately 18,070 personal trainers 1. Nationally, personal trainer employment is projected to grow 11.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Florida? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Florida.

How much do personal trainers earn in Florida compared to the national average? The median annual wage for personal trainers in Florida is $38,800, which is $7,380 below the national median of $46,180 according to BLS data 1.

In Florida

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Florida

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)