How to Become a Personal Trainer in Louisiana (2026)
Louisiana employs about 2,290 personal trainers earning a median $44,410 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Personal Trainer here means completing an NCCA-accredited CPT credential (NASM, ACE, or ISSA) plus CPR/AED; most states do not license personal trainers.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Louisiana): $44,410/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Louisiana: 2,290 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.57x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 11.9% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Personal Trainer Schools in Louisiana
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Northwest Florida State College | 67.0 | Contact school for pricing | $52,556 | 41% | Yes* | 313 mi |
| 2 | Chipola College | 64.2 | $3,120 - $9,262 | $46,272 | 57% | Yes* | 387 mi |
| 3 | Pensacola State College | 61.5 | Contact school for pricing | $45,937 | Not reported | Yes* | 272 mi |
| 4 | Tallahassee State College | 58.9 | $2,026 - $13,378 | Not reported | 37% | Yes* | 442 mi |
| 5 | Lamson Institute | 52.2 | Contact school for pricing | $49,241 | 77% | — | 422 mi |
| 6 | Southern Union State Community College | 51.3 | Contact school for pricing | $50,973 | 32% | Yes* | 391 mi |
| 7 | Austin Community College District | 49.6 | $2,550 - $15,190 | $57,624 | 19% | Yes* | 357 mi |
| 8 | Columbus Technical College | 47.2 | Contact school for pricing | $43,818 | 24% | Yes* | 414 mi |
| 9 | Kiamichi Technology Center-McAlester | 42.2 | Contact school for pricing | $36,651 | 47% | — | 357 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Louisiana employs approximately 2,290 personal trainers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $44,410 1. Nationally, personal trainer employment is projected to grow 11.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 74,200 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Personal Trainer in Louisiana, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: NCCA-accredited personal trainer certification program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: an NCCA-accredited CPT credential (NASM, ACE, or ISSA) plus CPR/AED; most states do not license personal trainers
- Exam: NASM, ACE, or ISSA CPT
- Median wage (Louisiana): $44,410 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Personal Trainer in Louisiana
How to become a Personal Trainer in Louisiana? Complete an NCCA-accredited CPT credential (NASM, ACE, or ISSA) plus CPR/AED; most states do not license personal trainers. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish an NCCA-accredited CPT credential (NASM, ACE, or ISSA) plus CPR/AED; most states do not license personal trainers. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Louisiana? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect NASM, ACE, or ISSA CPT. See the licensing section below.
What do personal trainers earn in Louisiana? The median annual wage for personal trainers in Louisiana is $44,410 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $21,190 and experienced professionals can earn $60,180 or more 1.
How to Become a Personal Trainer in Louisiana
- Meet basic requirements. Certifying bodies typically expect a high school diploma or GED. This is not a state occupational license.
- Choose an NCCA-accredited CPT. Pick NASM, ACE, ISSA, ACSM, or NSCA. Do not treat horse-racing trainer or private-investigator trainer licenses as personal training credentials.
- Earn CPR/AED. Most certifying bodies and gyms require current CPR/AED before or with the exam.
- Pass the CPT exam and get floor hours. Pass the cert exam, then gain supervised gym or studio hours. This is not a registered apprenticeship and most states have no personal-trainer license board.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Personal Trainer License Requirements in Louisiana
Most states do not license personal trainers. Employers expect an NCCA-accredited CPT (NASM, ACE, ISSA, or similar) plus CPR/AED.
Typical path
Choose an NCCA-accredited CPT.
Earn CPR/AED.
Pass the cert exam.
Confirm any rare local registration with the city or gym, not a racing commission.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Personal Trainer Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana
Exercise Trainers and Group Fitness Instructors Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), exercise trainers and group fitness instructors wages in Louisiana vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Baton Rouge | 600 | $40,000 | $42,080 | $21,190 | $59,780 |
| New Orleans-Metairie | 550 | $48,630 | $44,710 | $21,600 | $62,940 |
| Slidell-Mandeville-Covington | 320 | $38,170 | $40,550 | $19,020 | $59,910 |
| Lafayette | 210 | $35,090 | $38,000 | $21,270 | $57,530 |
| Shreveport-Bossier City | 180 | $46,880 | $45,760 | $21,670 | $65,740 |
| Houma-Bayou Cane-Thibodaux | 100 | $52,350 | $47,180 | $21,370 | $58,170 |
| Lake Charles | 80 | $36,480 | $38,120 | $21,810 | $59,040 |
| Hammond | 70 | $40,900 | $41,570 | $18,380 | $60,240 |
| Monroe | 60 | $33,600 | $34,960 | $17,860 | $54,320 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for personal trainers in Louisiana? Louisiana currently employs approximately 2,290 personal trainers 1. Nationally, personal trainer employment is projected to grow 11.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Louisiana? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Louisiana.
How much do personal trainers earn in Louisiana compared to the national average? The median annual wage for personal trainers in Louisiana is $44,410, which is $1,770 below the national median of $46,180 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Louisiana
Top local programs
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Baker, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Baton Rouge Metro, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Baton Rouge North, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Baton Rouge, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Bogalusa, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Bossier City, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Central, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Covington, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Denham Springs, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Donaldsonville, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Gonzales, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Gramercy, Louisiana (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Louisiana
- Best HVAC Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Louisiana
- Best Plumbing Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Louisiana
Explore More Trades in Louisiana
- Electrician in Louisiana
- Plumber in Louisiana
- HVAC Technician in Louisiana
- Welder in Louisiana
- Carpenter in Louisiana
- Solar Installation Technician in Louisiana
- Auto Mechanic in Louisiana
- CNC Machinist in Louisiana
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Louisiana
- Medical Assistant in Louisiana
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |