How to Become a Personal Trainer in Nebraska (2026)
Nebraska employs about 2,410 personal trainers earning a median $31,440 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Personal Trainer here means completing an NCCA-accredited CPT credential (NASM, ACE, or ISSA) plus CPR/AED; most states do not license personal trainers.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Nebraska): $31,440/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Nebraska: 2,410 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.13x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 11.9% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Personal Trainer Schools in Nebraska
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Dakota County Technical College | 72.2 | $6,679 - $18,552 | $59,518 | 52% | Yes* | 323 mi |
| 2 | North Iowa Area Community College | 57.1 | $6,653 - $17,040 | $47,068 | 58% | Yes* | 246 mi |
| 3 | Kirkwood Community College | 56.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,663 | Not reported | Yes* | 282 mi |
| 4 | Johnson County Community College | 55.0 | Contact school for pricing | $52,956 | 30% | Yes* | 188 mi |
| 5 | Rochester Community and Technical College | 50.7 | Contact school for pricing | $55,258 | 27% | Yes* | 310 mi |
| 6 | Anoka-Ramsey Community College | 46.3 | Contact school for pricing | $53,298 | Not reported | Yes* | 340 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Nebraska employs approximately 2,410 personal trainers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $31,440 1. Nationally, personal trainer employment is projected to grow 11.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 74,200 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Personal Trainer in Nebraska, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: NCCA-accredited personal trainer certification program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: an NCCA-accredited CPT credential (NASM, ACE, or ISSA) plus CPR/AED; most states do not license personal trainers
- Exam: NASM, ACE, or ISSA CPT
- Median wage (Nebraska): $31,440 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Personal Trainer in Nebraska
How to become a Personal Trainer in Nebraska? Complete an NCCA-accredited CPT credential (NASM, ACE, or ISSA) plus CPR/AED; most states do not license personal trainers. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish an NCCA-accredited CPT credential (NASM, ACE, or ISSA) plus CPR/AED; most states do not license personal trainers. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Nebraska? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect NASM, ACE, or ISSA CPT. See the licensing section below.
What do personal trainers earn in Nebraska? The median annual wage for personal trainers in Nebraska is $31,440 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $28,080 and experienced professionals can earn $53,480 or more 1.
How to Become a Personal Trainer in Nebraska
- Meet basic requirements. Certifying bodies typically expect a high school diploma or GED. This is not a state occupational license.
- Choose an NCCA-accredited CPT. Pick NASM, ACE, ISSA, ACSM, or NSCA. Do not treat horse-racing trainer or private-investigator trainer licenses as personal training credentials.
- Earn CPR/AED. Most certifying bodies and gyms require current CPR/AED before or with the exam.
- Pass the CPT exam and get floor hours. Pass the cert exam, then gain supervised gym or studio hours. This is not a registered apprenticeship and most states have no personal-trainer license board.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Personal Trainer License Requirements in Nebraska
Most states do not license personal trainers. Employers expect an NCCA-accredited CPT (NASM, ACE, ISSA, or similar) plus CPR/AED.
Typical path
Choose an NCCA-accredited CPT.
Earn CPR/AED.
Pass the cert exam.
Confirm any rare local registration with the city or gym, not a racing commission.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Personal Trainer Wages by Metro Area in Nebraska
Exercise Trainers and Group Fitness Instructors Wages by Metro Area in Nebraska
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), exercise trainers and group fitness instructors wages in Nebraska vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omaha | 1,340 | $32,910 | $39,320 | $28,990 | $55,850 |
| Lincoln | 700 | $36,990 | $38,970 | $28,560 | $51,850 |
| Sioux City | 70 | $35,130 | $39,700 | $28,420 | $58,730 |
| Grand Island | 50 | $28,320 | $30,990 | $28,080 | $36,440 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for personal trainers in Nebraska? Nebraska currently employs approximately 2,410 personal trainers 1. Nationally, personal trainer employment is projected to grow 11.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Nebraska? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Nebraska.
How much do personal trainers earn in Nebraska compared to the national average? The median annual wage for personal trainers in Nebraska is $31,440, which is $14,740 below the national median of $46,180 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Nebraska
Top local programs
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Beatrice, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Bellevue, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Columbus, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Fremont, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Grand Island, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Hastings, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Kearney, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in LA Vista, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Lexington, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Lincoln, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Nebraska (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Norfolk, Nebraska (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Nebraska (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Nebraska
- Best HVAC Schools in Nebraska (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Nebraska
- Best Plumbing Schools in Nebraska (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Nebraska
Explore More Trades in Nebraska
- Electrician in Nebraska
- Plumber in Nebraska
- HVAC Technician in Nebraska
- Welder in Nebraska
- Carpenter in Nebraska
- Solar Installation Technician in Nebraska
- Auto Mechanic in Nebraska
- CNC Machinist in Nebraska
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Nebraska
- Medical Assistant in Nebraska
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |