How to Become a Personal Trainer in West Virginia (2026)
West Virginia employs about 500 personal trainers earning a median $38,120 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Personal Trainer here means completing an NCCA-accredited CPT credential (NASM, ACE, or ISSA) plus CPR/AED; most states do not license personal trainers.
Compare Personal Trainer Schools in West Virginia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Frederick Community College | 71.1 | $3,849 in-state / $10,042 out-of-state | $54,058 | 37% | Yes* | 214 mi |
| 2 | James A. Rhodes State College | 60.9 | $4,560 in-state / $9,120 out-of-state | $57,771 | 47% | Yes* | 208 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Lorain County Community College | 58.2 | $4,265 in-state / $8,860 out-of-state | $52,814 | 31% | Yes* | 195 mi |
| 4 | Marion Technical College | 55.3 | $6,595 in-state / $11,225 out-of-state | $50,593 | 31% | Yes* | 166 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Butler County Community College | 54.4 | $5,910 in-state / $12,000 out-of-state | $45,728 | 37% | Yes* | 166 mi |
| 6 | Owens Community College | 49.9 | $5,870 in-state / $10,502 out-of-state | $55,401 | 35% | Yes* | 236 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Lakewood University | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 199 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
West Virginia employs approximately 500 personal trainers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $38,120 1. Nationally, personal trainer employment is projected to grow 11.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 74,200 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Personal Trainer in West Virginia, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: NCCA-accredited personal trainer certification program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: an NCCA-accredited CPT credential (NASM, ACE, or ISSA) plus CPR/AED; most states do not license personal trainers
- Exam: NASM, ACE, or ISSA CPT
- Median wage (West Virginia): $38,120 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Personal Trainer in West Virginia
How to become a Personal Trainer in West Virginia? Complete an NCCA-accredited CPT credential (NASM, ACE, or ISSA) plus CPR/AED; most states do not license personal trainers. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish an NCCA-accredited CPT credential (NASM, ACE, or ISSA) plus CPR/AED; most states do not license personal trainers. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in West Virginia? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect NASM, ACE, or ISSA CPT. See the licensing section below.
What do personal trainers earn in West Virginia? The median annual wage for personal trainers in West Virginia is $38,120 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $22,290 and experienced professionals can earn $55,180 or more 1.
How to Become a Personal Trainer in West Virginia
- Meet basic requirements. Certifying bodies typically expect a high school diploma or GED. This is not a state occupational license.
- Choose an NCCA-accredited CPT. Pick NASM, ACE, ISSA, ACSM, or NSCA. Do not treat horse-racing trainer or private-investigator trainer licenses as personal training credentials.
- Earn CPR/AED. Most certifying bodies and gyms require current CPR/AED before or with the exam.
- Pass the CPT exam and get floor hours. Pass the cert exam, then gain supervised gym or studio hours. This is not a registered apprenticeship and most states have no personal-trainer license board.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Personal Trainer License Requirements in West Virginia
Most states do not license personal trainers. Employers expect an NCCA-accredited CPT (NASM, ACE, ISSA, or similar) plus CPR/AED.
Typical path
Choose an NCCA-accredited CPT.
Earn CPR/AED.
Pass the cert exam.
Confirm any rare local registration with the city or gym, not a racing commission.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Personal Trainer Wages by Metro Area in West Virginia
Exercise Trainers and Group Fitness Instructors Wages by Metro Area in West Virginia
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), exercise trainers and group fitness instructors wages in West Virginia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 10,440 | $46,190 | $52,140 | $28,070 | $79,720 |
| Hagerstown-Martinsburg | 230 | $42,450 | $45,260 | $31,200 | $61,630 |
| Huntington-Ashland | 160 | $36,070 | $36,920 | $21,610 | $52,330 |
| Winchester | 110 | $40,590 | $45,510 | $25,810 | $71,850 |
| Charleston | 80 | $39,090 | $40,700 | $27,420 | $55,470 |
| Morgantown | 50 | $38,690 | $39,350 | $25,230 | $52,000 |
| Wheeling | 50 | $39,140 | $40,400 | $26,060 | $54,870 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for personal trainers in West Virginia? West Virginia currently employs approximately 500 personal trainers 1. Nationally, personal trainer employment is projected to grow 11.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in West Virginia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in West Virginia.
How much do personal trainers earn in West Virginia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for personal trainers in West Virginia is $38,120, which is $8,060 below the national median of $46,180 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In West Virginia
Top local programs
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Beckley, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Bluefield, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Charles Town, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Charleston, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Clarksburg, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Elkins, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Fairmont, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Huntington, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Martinsburg, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Morgantown, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Parkersburg, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Personal Trainer Programs in Point Pleasant, West Virginia (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in West Virginia
- Best HVAC Schools in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in West Virginia
- Best Plumbing Schools in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in West Virginia
Explore More Trades in West Virginia
- Electrician in West Virginia
- Plumber in West Virginia
- HVAC Technician in West Virginia
- Welder in West Virginia
- Carpenter in West Virginia
- Solar Installation Technician in West Virginia
- Auto Mechanic in West Virginia
- CNC Machinist in West Virginia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in West Virginia
- Medical Assistant in West Virginia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |