How to Become a Pharmacy Technician in Florida (2026)
Florida employs about 38,460 pharmacy technicians earning a median $43,590 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Pharmacy Technician here means completing a short pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training, a national exam (PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT), and board of pharmacy registration where required, then applying through FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Florida): $43,590/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Florida: 38,460 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.28x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 6.4% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
- Licensing/credentialing body: FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance (Source: State licensing agency, 2025)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Pharmacy Technician Schools in Florida
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Manatee Technical College | 62.2 | Contact school for pricing | $45,049 | 72% | — | 66 mi |
| 2 | Seminole State College of Florida | 61.8 | $3,122 - $14,281 | $52,407 | 42% | Yes* | 64 mi |
| 3 | Orange Technical College | 49.6 | Contact school for pricing | $34,945 | Not reported | — | 49 mi |
| 4 | Ridge Technical College | 47.7 | Contact school for pricing | $35,542 | Not reported | — | 16 mi |
| 5 | Concorde Career Institute-Orlando | 44.8 | Contact school for pricing | $40,001 | 66% | — | 51 mi |
| 6 | Osceola Technical College | 43.3 | Contact school for pricing | $37,201 | 50% | — | 36 mi |
| 7 | Orange Technical College-West Campus | 43.2 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 73% | — | 48 mi |
| 8 | Concorde Career Institute-Tampa | 41.8 | Contact school for pricing | $37,344 | 61% | — | 58 mi |
| 9 | H W Brewster Technical College | 30.6 | Contact school for pricing | $39,799 | 60% | — | 54 mi |
| 10 | Orange Technical College-East Campus | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 65% | — | 53 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Florida employs approximately 38,460 pharmacy technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $43,590 1. The state’s concentration of pharmacy technician jobs is 1.28x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, pharmacy technician employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 49,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Pharmacy Technician in Florida, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a short pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training, a national exam (PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT), and board of pharmacy registration where required
- Licensing authority: FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance
- Exam: PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT
- Median wage (Florida): $43,590 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Pharmacy Technician in Florida
How to become a Pharmacy Technician in Florida? Complete a short pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training, a national exam (PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT), and board of pharmacy registration where required. Apply through FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance.
How long does it take? Most people finish a short pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training, a national exam (PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT), and board of pharmacy registration where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance.
Do I need a license in Florida? Yes. Florida credentials this role through FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance 3. See the licensing section below.
What do pharmacy technicians earn in Florida? The median annual wage for pharmacy technicians in Florida is $43,590 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $35,760 and experienced professionals can earn $54,980 or more 1.
How to Become a Pharmacy Technician in Florida
- Meet basic requirements. Most Florida pharmacy technician programs expect a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current age, background-check, and work-authorization rules with FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance.
- Complete a pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training. Finish a certificate or associate program in Florida, preferably ASHP-accredited, or employer training if the board allows it. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT. Many boards and employers require the PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT exam. Confirm which exam FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance accepts.
- Register with the state board of pharmacy. Apply through FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance before unsupervised work. Reciprocity, trainee cards, and fees vary; confirm with the board.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Pharmacy Technician License Requirements in Florida
Pharmacy technicians in Florida typically complete a short training program, pass PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT, and register with FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance. See FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance 3.
Typical path
Meet the board’s entry rules.
Complete a pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training.
Pass PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT if the board requires a national exam.
Register or license with FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance before unsupervised work.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance before you enroll.
Pharmacy Technician Wages by Metro Area in Florida
Pharmacy Technicians Wages by Metro Area in Florida
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), pharmacy technicians wages in Florida vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach | 10,310 | $45,240 | $44,740 | $35,640 | $57,580 |
| Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater | 6,200 | $43,370 | $44,320 | $35,880 | $56,080 |
| Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford | 6,060 | $43,080 | $43,720 | $36,340 | $52,110 |
| Jacksonville | 2,480 | $45,180 | $44,290 | $36,670 | $53,290 |
| Cape Coral-Fort Myers | 1,170 | $44,490 | $44,650 | $36,060 | $57,270 |
| North Port-Bradenton-Sarasota | 1,170 | $45,530 | $44,730 | $34,880 | $55,190 |
| Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormond Beach | 1,050 | $38,700 | $42,470 | $35,980 | $50,380 |
| Lakeland-Winter Haven | 1,040 | $40,880 | $42,100 | $34,610 | $49,400 |
| Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville | 860 | $44,860 | $46,070 | $36,590 | $67,270 |
| Gainesville | 780 | $46,530 | $45,940 | $34,360 | $59,070 |
| Port St. Lucie | 730 | $45,560 | $44,520 | $35,460 | $54,860 |
| Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent | 710 | $41,490 | $42,680 | $35,100 | $53,900 |
| Naples-Marco Island | 580 | $43,890 | $44,400 | $36,420 | $53,300 |
| Tallahassee | 530 | $37,960 | $40,620 | $33,050 | $48,890 |
| Ocala | 500 | $40,500 | $42,530 | $34,510 | $49,300 |
| Crestview-Fort Walton Beach-Destin | 320 | $44,270 | $43,880 | $36,230 | $50,940 |
| Panama City-Panama City Beach | 260 | $40,490 | $41,110 | $34,450 | $49,660 |
| Sebastian-Vero Beach-West Vero Corridor | 260 | $44,070 | $43,570 | $34,290 | $49,570 |
| Punta Gorda | 210 | $43,950 | $42,790 | $34,660 | $50,340 |
| Wildwood-The Villages | 180 | $40,290 | $42,290 | $34,480 | $50,410 |
| Homosassa Springs | 170 | $39,070 | $41,230 | $32,720 | $51,180 |
| Sebring | 130 | $40,350 | $40,750 | $31,590 | $49,280 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for pharmacy technicians in Florida? Florida currently employs approximately 38,460 pharmacy technicians 1. Nationally, pharmacy technician employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a pharmacy technician in Florida with an out-of-state license? Contact the FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Florida? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Florida.
How much do pharmacy technicians earn in Florida compared to the national average? The median annual wage for pharmacy technicians in Florida is $43,590, which is $130 above the national median of $43,460 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Florida
Top local programs
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Alachua, Florida (2026)
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Altamonte Springs, Florida (2026)
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Anna Maria, Florida (2026)
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Apalachicola, Florida (2026)
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Apopka, Florida (2026)
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Arcadia, Florida (2026)
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Archer, Florida (2026)
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Astatula, Florida (2026)
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Atlantic Beach, Florida (2026)
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Atlantis, Florida (2026)
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Auburndale, Florida (2026)
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Aventura, Florida (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Florida
- Best HVAC Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Florida
- Best Plumbing Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Florida
Explore More Trades in Florida
- Electrician in Florida
- Plumber in Florida
- HVAC Technician in Florida
- Welder in Florida
- Carpenter in Florida
- Solar Installation Technician in Florida
- Auto Mechanic in Florida
- CNC Machinist in Florida
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Florida
- Medical Assistant in Florida
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance - Licensing Information: https://www.doh.state.fl.us/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |