How to Become a Pharmacy Technician in Iowa (2026)
Iowa employs about 4,630 pharmacy technicians earning a median $44,860 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Pharmacy Technician here means completing a short pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training, a national exam (PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT), and board of pharmacy registration where required, then applying through Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Pharmacy Examiners.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Iowa): $44,860/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Iowa: 4,630 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.98x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 6.4% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
- Licensing/credentialing body: Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Pharmacy Examiners (Source: State licensing agency, 2025)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Pharmacy Technician Schools in Iowa
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science | 82.8 | Contact school for pricing | $77,244 | Not reported | — | 118 mi |
| 2 | Northwest Iowa Community College | 72.4 | $7,350 - $20,414 | $60,885 | 57% | Yes* | 141 mi |
| 3 | Southwest Wisconsin Technical College | 65.2 | Contact school for pricing | $50,757 | 60% | Yes* | 139 mi |
| 4 | North Central Missouri College | 60.2 | Contact school for pricing | $52,845 | Not reported | Yes* | 162 mi |
| 5 | South Central College | 60.0 | Contact school for pricing | $52,003 | 34% | Yes* | 128 mi |
| 6 | Hennepin Technical College | 58.9 | $5,940 - $16,032 | $59,906 | 43% | Yes* | 186 mi |
| 7 | Western Iowa Tech Community College | 57.6 | Contact school for pricing | $47,713 | 44% | Yes* | 157 mi |
| 8 | Kirkwood Community College | 56.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,663 | Not reported | Yes* | 90 mi |
| 9 | Indian Hills Community College | 56.1 | Contact school for pricing | $50,322 | Not reported | Yes* | 105 mi |
| 10 | Saint Paul College | 48.2 | Contact school for pricing | $52,870 | 36% | Yes* | 175 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Iowa employs approximately 4,630 pharmacy technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $44,860 1. Nationally, pharmacy technician employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 49,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Pharmacy Technician in Iowa, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a short pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training, a national exam (PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT), and board of pharmacy registration where required
- Licensing authority: Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Pharmacy Examiners
- Exam: PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT
- Median wage (Iowa): $44,860 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Pharmacy Technician in Iowa
How to become a Pharmacy Technician in Iowa? Complete a short pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training, a national exam (PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT), and board of pharmacy registration where required. Apply through Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Pharmacy Examiners.
How long does it take? Most people finish a short pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training, a national exam (PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT), and board of pharmacy registration where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Pharmacy Examiners.
Do I need a license in Iowa? Yes. Iowa credentials this role through Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Pharmacy Examiners 3. See the licensing section below.
What do pharmacy technicians earn in Iowa? The median annual wage for pharmacy technicians in Iowa is $44,860 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $36,140 and experienced professionals can earn $52,150 or more 1.
How to Become a Pharmacy Technician in Iowa
- Meet basic requirements. Most Iowa pharmacy technician programs expect a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current age, background-check, and work-authorization rules with Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Pharmacy Examiners.
- Complete a pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training. Finish a certificate or associate program in Iowa, preferably ASHP-accredited, or employer training if the board allows it. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT. Many boards and employers require the PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT exam. Confirm which exam Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Pharmacy Examiners accepts.
- Register with the state board of pharmacy. Apply through Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Pharmacy Examiners before unsupervised work. Reciprocity, trainee cards, and fees vary; confirm with the board.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Pharmacy Technician License Requirements in Iowa
Pharmacy technicians in Iowa typically complete a short training program, pass PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT, and register with Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Pharmacy Examiners. See Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Pharmacy Examiners 3.
Typical path
Meet the board’s entry rules.
Complete a pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training.
Pass PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT if the board requires a national exam.
Register or license with Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Pharmacy Examiners before unsupervised work.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Pharmacy Examiners before you enroll.
Pharmacy Technician Wages by Metro Area in Iowa
Pharmacy Technicians Wages by Metro Area in Iowa
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), pharmacy technicians wages in Iowa vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omaha | 1,330 | $47,290 | $47,480 | $38,560 | $58,590 |
| Des Moines-West Des Moines | 1,160 | $46,620 | $45,530 | $36,580 | $54,770 |
| Davenport-Moline-Rock Island | 550 | $45,080 | $44,180 | $34,810 | $51,580 |
| Iowa City | 460 | $43,500 | $46,340 | $37,030 | $63,420 |
| Cedar Rapids | 390 | $43,930 | $43,780 | $36,510 | $52,150 |
| Waterloo-Cedar Falls | 270 | $40,950 | $43,550 | $35,810 | $50,450 |
| Dubuque | 250 | $45,100 | $44,630 | $36,640 | $54,320 |
| Sioux City | 210 | $43,820 | $43,480 | $36,040 | $50,650 |
| Ames | 140 | $39,310 | $42,750 | $33,510 | $49,980 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for pharmacy technicians in Iowa? Iowa currently employs approximately 4,630 pharmacy technicians 1. Nationally, pharmacy technician employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a pharmacy technician in Iowa with an out-of-state license? Contact the Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Pharmacy Examiners for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Iowa? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Iowa.
How much do pharmacy technicians earn in Iowa compared to the national average? The median annual wage for pharmacy technicians in Iowa is $44,860, which is $1,400 above the national median of $43,460 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Iowa
Top local programs
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Altoona, Iowa (2026)
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Ames, Iowa (2026)
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Ankeny, Iowa (2026)
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Bettendorf, Iowa (2026)
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Boone, Iowa (2026)
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Burlington, Iowa (2026)
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Cedar Falls, Iowa (2026)
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Cedar Rapids, Iowa (2026)
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Clinton, Iowa (2026)
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Clive, Iowa (2026)
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Coralville, Iowa (2026)
- Best Pharmacy Technician Programs in Council Bluffs, Iowa (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Iowa
- Best HVAC Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Iowa
- Best Plumbing Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Iowa
Explore More Trades in Iowa
- Electrician in Iowa
- Plumber in Iowa
- HVAC Technician in Iowa
- Welder in Iowa
- Carpenter in Iowa
- Solar Installation Technician in Iowa
- Auto Mechanic in Iowa
- CNC Machinist in Iowa
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Iowa
- Medical Assistant in Iowa
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Pharmacy Examiners - Licensing Information: https://pharmacy.iowa.gov/licensureregistration/pharmacy ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |