How to Become a Pharmacy Technician in Louisiana (2026)

Louisiana employs about 6,700 pharmacy technicians earning a median $44,410 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Pharmacy Technician here means completing a short pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training, a national exam (PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT), and board of pharmacy registration where required, then applying through Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals - Louisiana Board of Pharmacy.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (Louisiana): $44,410/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in Louisiana: 6,700 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 1.14x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 6.4% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
  • Licensing/credentialing body: Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals - Louisiana Board of Pharmacy (Source: State licensing agency, 2025)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Pharmacy Technician Schools in Louisiana

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
186.3Contact school for pricing$33,21787%Yes*52 mi
257.4Contact school for pricing$34,37472%Yes*47 mi
343.7Contact school for pricing$45,313Not reportedYes*52 mi
441.3Contact school for pricing$37,40929%Yes*106 mi
537.4Contact school for pricing$32,032Not reported105 mi
635.5Contact school for pricing$27,85059%Yes*59 mi
729.1Contact school for pricing$39,55648%52 mi
828.0Contact school for pricing$27,85061%46 mi
927.8Contact school for pricing$27,85065%108 mi
1023.0Contact school for pricing$33,677Not reported59 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Louisiana employs approximately 6,700 pharmacy technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $44,410 1. Nationally, pharmacy technician employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 49,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Pharmacy Technician in Louisiana, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

Quick Answers About How to Become a Pharmacy Technician in Louisiana

How to become a Pharmacy Technician in Louisiana? Complete a short pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training, a national exam (PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT), and board of pharmacy registration where required. Apply through Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals - Louisiana Board of Pharmacy.

How long does it take? Most people finish a short pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training, a national exam (PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT), and board of pharmacy registration where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals - Louisiana Board of Pharmacy.

Do I need a license in Louisiana? Yes. Louisiana credentials this role through Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals - Louisiana Board of Pharmacy 3. See the licensing section below.

What do pharmacy technicians earn in Louisiana? The median annual wage for pharmacy technicians in Louisiana is $44,410 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $36,100 and experienced professionals can earn $52,920 or more 1.

How to Become a Pharmacy Technician in Louisiana

  1. Meet basic requirements. Most Louisiana pharmacy technician programs expect a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current age, background-check, and work-authorization rules with Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals - Louisiana Board of Pharmacy.
  2. Complete a pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training. Finish a certificate or associate program in Louisiana, preferably ASHP-accredited, or employer training if the board allows it. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Pass PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT. Many boards and employers require the PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT exam. Confirm which exam Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals - Louisiana Board of Pharmacy accepts.
  4. Register with the state board of pharmacy. Apply through Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals - Louisiana Board of Pharmacy before unsupervised work. Reciprocity, trainee cards, and fees vary; confirm with the board.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Pharmacy Technician License Requirements in Louisiana

Pharmacy technicians in Louisiana typically complete a short training program, pass PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT, and register with Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals - Louisiana Board of Pharmacy. See Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals - Louisiana Board of Pharmacy 3.

Typical path

  1. Meet the board’s entry rules.

  2. Complete a pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training.

  3. Pass PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT if the board requires a national exam.

  4. Register or license with Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals - Louisiana Board of Pharmacy before unsupervised work.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals - Louisiana Board of Pharmacy before you enroll.

Pharmacy Technician Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana

Pharmacy Technicians Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), pharmacy technicians wages in Louisiana vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
New Orleans-Metairie1,410$46,020$45,270$37,300$56,580
Baton Rouge1,160$45,550$45,000$36,270$55,150
Lafayette690$40,180$43,060$36,200$50,390
Shreveport-Bossier City640$44,890$44,950$37,130$56,420
Slidell-Mandeville-Covington450$45,700$44,500$37,160$50,170
Monroe380$39,160$40,790$30,640$48,270
Alexandria320$39,830$42,220$32,490$54,620
Lake Charles290$41,520$42,160$32,490$49,900
Houma-Bayou Cane-Thibodaux260$44,650$42,230$33,890$49,720
Hammond180$42,790$42,260$35,760$49,410

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for pharmacy technicians in Louisiana? Louisiana currently employs approximately 6,700 pharmacy technicians 1. Nationally, pharmacy technician employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a pharmacy technician in Louisiana with an out-of-state license? Contact the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals - Louisiana Board of Pharmacy for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.

What training programs are available in Louisiana? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Louisiana.

How much do pharmacy technicians earn in Louisiana compared to the national average? The median annual wage for pharmacy technicians in Louisiana is $44,410, which is $950 above the national median of $43,460 according to BLS data 1.

In Louisiana

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Louisiana

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals - Louisiana Board of Pharmacy - Licensing Information: https://www.pharmacy.la.gov ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)