How to Become a Pharmacy Technician in North Dakota (2026)

North Dakota employs about 890 pharmacy technicians earning a median $47,560 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Pharmacy Technician here means completing a short pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training, a national exam (PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT), and board of pharmacy registration where required, then applying through ND State Board of Pharmacy.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (North Dakota): $47,560/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in North Dakota: 890 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 0.68x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 6.4% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
  • Licensing/credentialing body: ND State Board of Pharmacy (Source: State licensing agency, 2025)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Pharmacy Technician Schools in North Dakota

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
172.6Contact school for pricing$60,58752%Yes*171 mi
272.4$7,350 - $20,414$60,88557%Yes*349 mi
370.8Contact school for pricing$59,996Not reportedYes*147 mi
469.7$7,650 - $20,272$53,28956%Yes*302 mi
565.0$5,818 - $17,452$43,02255%Yes*291 mi
664.5$5,908 - $17,194$54,58147%Yes*192 mi
763.6Contact school for pricing$54,67152%Yes*177 mi
861.9$2,794 - $13,655Not reported49%Yes*100 mi
959.9Contact school for pricing$59,99653%Yes*296 mi
1058.9$5,940 - $16,032$59,90643%Yes*346 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

North Dakota employs approximately 890 pharmacy technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $47,560 1. Nationally, pharmacy technician employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 49,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Pharmacy Technician in North Dakota, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training (find programs)
  • Typical timeline: a short pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training, a national exam (PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT), and board of pharmacy registration where required
  • Licensing authority: ND State Board of Pharmacy
  • Exam: PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT
  • Median wage (North Dakota): $47,560 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Pharmacy Technician in North Dakota

How to become a Pharmacy Technician in North Dakota? Complete a short pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training, a national exam (PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT), and board of pharmacy registration where required. Apply through ND State Board of Pharmacy.

How long does it take? Most people finish a short pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training, a national exam (PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT), and board of pharmacy registration where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and ND State Board of Pharmacy.

Do I need a license in North Dakota? Yes. North Dakota credentials this role through ND State Board of Pharmacy 3. See the licensing section below.

What do pharmacy technicians earn in North Dakota? The median annual wage for pharmacy technicians in North Dakota is $47,560 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $38,370 and experienced professionals can earn $63,850 or more 1.

How to Become a Pharmacy Technician in North Dakota

  1. Meet basic requirements. Most North Dakota pharmacy technician programs expect a high school diploma or GED. Confirm current age, background-check, and work-authorization rules with ND State Board of Pharmacy.
  2. Complete a pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training. Finish a certificate or associate program in North Dakota, preferably ASHP-accredited, or employer training if the board allows it. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Pass PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT. Many boards and employers require the PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT exam. Confirm which exam ND State Board of Pharmacy accepts.
  4. Register with the state board of pharmacy. Apply through ND State Board of Pharmacy before unsupervised work. Reciprocity, trainee cards, and fees vary; confirm with the board.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Pharmacy Technician License Requirements in North Dakota

Pharmacy technicians in North Dakota typically complete a short training program, pass PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT, and register with ND State Board of Pharmacy. See ND State Board of Pharmacy 3.

Typical path

  1. Meet the board’s entry rules.

  2. Complete a pharmacy technician program or board-allowed employer training.

  3. Pass PTCB CPhT or NHA ExCPT if the board requires a national exam.

  4. Register or license with ND State Board of Pharmacy before unsupervised work.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with ND State Board of Pharmacy before you enroll.

Pharmacy Technician Wages by Metro Area in North Dakota

Pharmacy Technicians Wages by Metro Area in North Dakota

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), pharmacy technicians wages in North Dakota vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Fargo430$45,390$47,320$37,980$60,080
Bismarck160$49,490$50,500$38,370$62,330
Grand Forks90$47,110$47,710$37,830$58,760
Minot50$45,260$46,190$37,850$58,760

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for pharmacy technicians in North Dakota? North Dakota currently employs approximately 890 pharmacy technicians 1. Nationally, pharmacy technician employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a pharmacy technician in North Dakota with an out-of-state license? Contact the ND State Board of Pharmacy for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.

What training programs are available in North Dakota? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in North Dakota.

How much do pharmacy technicians earn in North Dakota compared to the national average? The median annual wage for pharmacy technicians in North Dakota is $47,560, which is $4,100 above the national median of $43,460 according to BLS data 1.

In North Dakota

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in North Dakota

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. ND State Board of Pharmacy - Licensing Information: http://www.nodakpharmacy.com/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)