How to Become a Phlebotomy Technician in Delaware (2026)

Delaware employs about 430 phlebotomy technicians earning a median $48,110 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Phlebotomy Technician here means completing an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (Delaware): $48,110/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in Delaware: 430 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 0.95x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 5.6% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Phlebotomy Technician Schools in Delaware

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
174.9Contact school for pricing$53,906Not reported128 mi
272.0Contact school for pricing$56,76084%100 mi
362.3Contact school for pricing$55,95773%127 mi
460.8Contact school for pricing$54,60774%22 mi
560.0$5,683 - $13,963$52,63730%Yes*66 mi
655.7Contact school for pricing$44,694Not reportedYes*183 mi
755.5Contact school for pricing$42,52772%169 mi
852.9Contact school for pricing$53,32426%Yes*56 mi
952.2Contact school for pricing$89,15560%118 mi
1047.9Contact school for pricing$48,96623%Yes*190 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Delaware employs approximately 430 phlebotomy technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $48,110 1. Nationally, phlebotomy technician employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 18,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Phlebotomy Technician in Delaware, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

Quick Answers About How to Become a Phlebotomy Technician in Delaware

How to become a Phlebotomy Technician in Delaware? Complete an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

How long does it take? Most people finish an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.

Do I need a license in Delaware? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.

What do phlebotomy technicians earn in Delaware? The median annual wage for phlebotomy technicians in Delaware is $48,110 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $38,720 and experienced professionals can earn $58,520 or more 1.

How to Become a Phlebotomy Technician in Delaware

  1. Meet entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm rules with the program.
  2. Complete an approved phlebotomy program. Finish a phlebotomy program in Delaware. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Pass a national exam the state accepts. Most states use NHA CPT, ASCP PBT, AMT RPT, or NCCT. Confirm which exam the employer accepts where the state certifies phlebotomists.
  4. Apply for state certification where required. Apply for state certification where required. Confirm with the employer.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Phlebotomy Technician License Requirements in Delaware

Most states do not license phlebotomists separately; employers want a national exam. Some states certify this role; most do not. Confirm with the employer when a state credential exists.

Typical path

  1. Complete an approved phlebotomy program.

  2. Pass a national exam the state accepts.

  3. Apply to the employer when the state certifies phlebotomists.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.

Phlebotomy Technician Wages by Metro Area in Delaware

Phlebotomists Wages by Metro Area in Delaware

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), phlebotomists wages in Delaware vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington2,880$47,370$47,040$38,720$55,250

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for phlebotomy technicians in Delaware? Delaware currently employs approximately 430 phlebotomy technicians 1. Nationally, phlebotomy technician employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a phlebotomy technician in Delaware with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.

What training programs are available in Delaware? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Delaware.

How much do phlebotomy technicians earn in Delaware compared to the national average? The median annual wage for phlebotomy technicians in Delaware is $48,110, which is $4,450 above the national median of $43,660 according to BLS data 1.

In Delaware

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Delaware

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)