How to Become a Phlebotomy Technician in Louisiana (2026)
Louisiana employs about 3,410 phlebotomy technicians earning a median $36,120 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Phlebotomy Technician here means completing an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Louisiana): $36,120/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Louisiana: 3,410 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.91x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 5.6% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Phlebotomy Technician Schools in Louisiana
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Infinity College | 86.3 | Contact school for pricing | $33,217 | 87% | Yes* | 52 mi |
| 2 | Petra College | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 82 mi |
| 3 | Central Louisiana Technical Community College | 57.4 | Contact school for pricing | $34,374 | 72% | Yes* | 47 mi |
| 4 | Texas Healthtech Institute | 49.4 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 70% | Yes* | 159 mi |
| 5 | Williams Technical College | 47.1 | Contact school for pricing | $31,030 | Not reported | — | 113 mi |
| 6 | Fletcher Technical Community College | 45.6 | Contact school for pricing | $53,749 | Not reported | Yes* | 102 mi |
| 7 | Nunez Community College | 44.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,555 | 23% | Yes* | 128 mi |
| 8 | Bossier Parish Community College | 42.3 | Contact school for pricing | $43,033 | 14% | Yes* | 155 mi |
| 9 | Delgado Community College | 41.7 | Contact school for pricing | $48,141 | 23% | Yes* | 120 mi |
| 10 | Louisiana Delta Community College | 41.3 | Contact school for pricing | $37,409 | 29% | Yes* | 106 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Louisiana employs approximately 3,410 phlebotomy technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $36,120 1. The state’s concentration of phlebotomy technician jobs is 1.91x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, phlebotomy technician employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 18,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Phlebotomy Technician in Louisiana, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: approved phlebotomy program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required
- Exam: NHA CPT, ASCP PBT, or the exam the state accepts
- Median wage (Louisiana): $36,120 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Phlebotomy Technician in Louisiana
How to become a Phlebotomy Technician in Louisiana? Complete an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Louisiana? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do phlebotomy technicians earn in Louisiana? The median annual wage for phlebotomy technicians in Louisiana is $36,120 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $29,770 and experienced professionals can earn $47,120 or more 1.
How to Become a Phlebotomy Technician in Louisiana
- Meet entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm rules with the program.
- Complete an approved phlebotomy program. Finish a phlebotomy program in Louisiana. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass a national exam the state accepts. Most states use NHA CPT, ASCP PBT, AMT RPT, or NCCT. Confirm which exam the employer accepts where the state certifies phlebotomists.
- Apply for state certification where required. Apply for state certification where required. Confirm with the employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Phlebotomy Technician License Requirements in Louisiana
Most states do not license phlebotomists separately; employers want a national exam. Some states certify this role; most do not. Confirm with the employer when a state credential exists.
Typical path
Complete an approved phlebotomy program.
Pass a national exam the state accepts.
Apply to the employer when the state certifies phlebotomists.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Phlebotomy Technician Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana
Phlebotomists Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), phlebotomists wages in Louisiana vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Orleans-Metairie | 730 | $37,710 | $39,220 | $30,900 | $47,620 |
| Baton Rouge | 540 | $36,120 | $37,220 | $30,290 | $48,220 |
| Shreveport-Bossier City | 490 | $40,300 | $39,760 | $30,800 | $45,760 |
| Lafayette | 330 | $34,460 | $35,890 | $29,770 | $44,920 |
| Slidell-Mandeville-Covington | 240 | $39,960 | $40,590 | $30,270 | $50,020 |
| Monroe | 210 | $35,600 | $35,150 | $29,570 | $43,860 |
| Houma-Bayou Cane-Thibodaux | 140 | $34,700 | $35,570 | $25,280 | $48,010 |
| Alexandria | 120 | $35,440 | $36,290 | $29,270 | $44,310 |
| Lake Charles | 120 | $35,210 | $35,410 | $30,280 | $44,850 |
| Hammond | 50 | $36,970 | $37,780 | $30,110 | $45,160 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for phlebotomy technicians in Louisiana? Louisiana currently employs approximately 3,410 phlebotomy technicians 1. Nationally, phlebotomy technician employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a phlebotomy technician in Louisiana with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Louisiana? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Louisiana.
How much do phlebotomy technicians earn in Louisiana compared to the national average? The median annual wage for phlebotomy technicians in Louisiana is $36,120, which is $7,540 below the national median of $43,660 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Louisiana
Top local programs
- Best Phlebotomy Programs in Baton Rouge Metro, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Programs in Baton Rouge North, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Programs in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Abbeville, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Alexandria, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Baker, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Bastrop, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Baton Rouge, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Bogalusa, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Bossier City, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Breaux Bridge, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Broussard, Louisiana (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Louisiana
- Best HVAC Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Louisiana
- Best Plumbing Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Louisiana
Explore More Trades in Louisiana
- Electrician in Louisiana
- Plumber in Louisiana
- HVAC Technician in Louisiana
- Welder in Louisiana
- Carpenter in Louisiana
- Solar Installation Technician in Louisiana
- Auto Mechanic in Louisiana
- CNC Machinist in Louisiana
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Louisiana
- Medical Assistant in Louisiana
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |